We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome pool!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome pool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

The rooms were amazing, the bar was amazing, but we didn't spend much time in either. After seeing the the spectacular pool and hot tub (there aren't many hot tubs in Belize) that's where we spent our mornings and evenings! We had one really stormy day and had to cancel our snorkeling trip but we weren't upset, we just went swimming instead!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    220
    52
    18
    5
See reviews for
354
669
25
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

My family recently returned from a week in Ambergris Caye, Belize. We stayed at the Coco Beach Resort and it was THE best vacation we have had as a family. We have lived overseas in exotic places and travel a lot---this trip was hands down the BEST we have taken. Coco Beach Resort is beautiful and the customer service is tops. Everyone does their best to make sure you have a great time. Our room was sea view--pretty much on the water and the condo itself was beautiful. My husband and son did 2 days of diving including a 3 tank dive to The Blue Hole. That was awesome! Amigos del Mar is a very professional dive company with a large comfortable boat for the 2 1/2 hour boat ride to the Blue Hole. If you like to dive, you won't want to miss the Blue Hole! The Tuff-E-Nuff dive company at Coco Beach coordinate everything for you and their staff is the best. DIve Master Acey was great. We can't say enough good things about Acey and all the staff at Tuff Enuff. Excellent group of people. Be sure to enjoy the Coco Beach Pool Bar and let Mac and the other bartenders show you a fun time with their tricks and mind game puzzles. Roberto at the desk and Zoby of Guest Services are also 2 people I'd like to name as being helpful throughout our stay. You can rent a bicycle for $5 a day and ride on the beach into town to explore the quirky shops and nice boutiques. My son went fishing off the beach for bonefish every day---we kayaked and used the paddleboards (ALL FREE) ... there is so much to do. Be sure to check out the following restaurants: Capricorn, Mangos on the Beach and Caprice. If you want a week of relaxation in the tropics--this is the place.

Room Tip: We stayed in D2 and it was next to a construction site but the noise wasn't unbearable. Our unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kertehQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The property is absolutely 100 percent spectacular! Maybe because we had ultimate sun when we arrived and everything was beyond belief! Staff was always there and always smiled and spoke to us. We stayed in the 1 bedroom ground level that lead directly to the pool. It was just as pictured. Can't imagine how incredible the higher end rooms and bungalows look. We felt very comfortable and safe. You have to see it to believe it is real. I felt like I was in another realm!

Room Tip: I am sure the ocean view is the best if you can afford it. Even poolside was great! I thought being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I just got back from 7 days at Coco Beach Resort. This was our first time in Belize and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay to give us our first impression. Coco Beach is a beautiful, well manicured resort with world class staff. They met us on the dock the first day we arrived with cool towels and never stopped taking care of our needs. I was especially impressed with the bartenders and "Larry" the Pool guy who was always around when we needed something.

I could go on for a long time about Coco Beach but we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else the next time we visit Ambergris Caye which we will certainly do soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Amazing trip!! my husband and I travelled to Ambergris Caye, Belize, to celebrate our wedding anniversary in May. We really just went by tripadvisors reviews and we are so glad we chose Belize!!! From the General Manager who came to the dock to greet us as we first arrived, to the bartenders (Milton was fantastic!!) to the tour guides at Tuff E' Nuff (their office is right by the hotel - and they are incredible! Billy and James, our snorkeling guides, were just phenomenal and so knowledgeable) this whole trip was just amazing. I am so glad we chose to stay at Coco Beach!!
The resort is beautiful and with only 80 plus rooms it is the perfect size!!!! The 5 star feel is all around, the rooms are beautiful almost like staying at your own private apartment!!
All in all, Ambergris Caye is the perfect location to visit the ruins, do some snorkeling at the Holchan Marine Reserve, nature activities like Zip linning, Cave Tubbing, and historic site visits and if you want to relax, you can get a messeus to come to your room at really affordable prices (half what other hotels charge) This destination has it all.
The waters are pristine blue, its great for swimming and snorkeling although there is sea weed on the beach in front of the resort it really doesn't matter- you can still find great spots to swim in. 
Restaurants I would recommend ( we walked about 3 miles north and 4 miles south of the hotel in search of good spots): Aji has great sea food- Spanish style- they have an awesome paella; Capricorn has a great breakfast ( the local bread is delicious); for dinner I also recommend Mambo's at the Mata Chica resort, they will send a boat to come pick you up at your hotel free of charge! The Palapa Bar is great for burgers and beer while you relax on the water on a tube! (They'll bring down the beer with a fishing pole from the deck!) 
In San Pedro you should go to Fido's at night- it's a very good sports bar that has a live band at night- people dance to the music and its a great spot to have a drink! Just get there early because most places close by 10 pm and the last boats back to the resorts leave San Pedro at around 1030pm.
At Captain Morgans they have a Belizean Cultural Night with a live band (Belizean arts and crafts and a buffet) on Tuesday's at around 7pm.
You should definitely plan to visit the historical sites early in your stay- we did that and it worked out well because it rained badly toward the end and we would not have been able to go. Also, make sure that if you are traveling on an American holiday- that it is not also a Holiday in Belize- otherwise if you are interested in touring the city, most government buildings, and museums will be closed. 
( Memorial Day weekend is an example).
Don't buy excursions at the hotel- it is cheaper to get them directly at the Tuff E Nuff office right outside the resort on the dock, otherwise it will be more expensive.
It is totally worth it to rent a bike if you want to visit the other resorts in the area in Ambergris Caye. You can bike right on the beach and that is in fact how most resort employees get to work. If you choose to walk- be prepared for a long walk (and bring your bug spray) the resorts are quite a distance from each other.
Next time we visit we will rent a golf cart for a day, that way you don't have to depend on the taxi boat schedule- some times they leave every 2 hours- so we had to wait a while a couple of times and almost missed our afternoon tour from the hotel.
WiFi: most places have wifi (restaurants, resorts) so it's no problem to go online, but the reception is pretty weak in the rooms so you need to get closer to the lobby to get a good connection. There are no outlets outside the lobby area so charge your equipment well so they last through the day. Voltage is the same as in the US (110v).
Hope this helps! Its the best Caribbean destination we have been to so far (including Mexico, DR- Punta Cana, PR, Jamaica).

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Plobato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel is beautifully landscaped and the pool is amazing. We were picked up at the airport and taken by taxi to the dock. Then it was a short boat ride to the hotel. We were greeted at the hotel dock with towels, which was a nice touch.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo towards the back of the property. While the room was nicely furnished, there were several small problems. The water never seemed to get hot in the shower and there was always a slight smell to it. For 1 1/2 days the smell was pretty bad but that was because there was construction going on in the building next to ours. It was explained to us that the workers used the water from the well that our waters comes from so the well go low, which caused the smell. I never really felt clean after my showers. While the staff did respond to all of our concerns, there was nothing they could do about the water smell. They never offered to move us, which I think maybe they should have. But I never asked to be moved so maybe they would have moved us if asked.

They did have our bed nicely decorated for our anniversary which was really nice.

Overall, I would stay here again but I am wondering if the rooms towards the front would have been a better choice, even though they were a little more money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We have been to CoCo Beach Resort twice in 2013. We have had a great time on both occasions. From the operations manager, Nick, to the GM, Amy, the staff was always friendly and accommodating.
I have special praise for Larry "the pool guy". He would greet us every day by name with a smile and a handshake assuring us if we needed ANYTHING, he was there for us. I have a feeling that Larry will soon be Larry "the manager".
My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at CoCo Beach and the staff decorated our room with flowers and a left chilled bottle of wine for us to enjoy. We had in room massages and dinner at the onsite restaurant, CoCo Blanca. The food and service were outstanding.

Room Tip: For families, book the 2 bedroom units. For a couple wanting to splurge, book the Casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.9 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing