We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coco Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Secreto(San Pedro)
US$500
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$499
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$488
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caye Casa(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Phoenix Resort(San Pedro)
US$463
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramon's Village Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,452)
Filter reviews
1,452 results
Traveller rating
1,106
258
61
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,106
258
61
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuff e nuffswim up barwater taxiin townambergris cayesea view suitegolf cartbeach staffhot tubbelize cityfull kitchentuff enuff tourscool towelssandy pointcave tubingbelizean shoresrum punch
Filter
Updating list...
761 - 766 of 1,452 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went to Coco beach after staying at Cave Branch jungle lodge. It was a great way to end the vacation. After having a busy few days it was a great place to relax. We went fishing and my son caught a huge fish. They cleaned the fish for us so we could eat it in our kitchen that night. The pool bar is great but expensive. I would recommend getting some food on the main land before you get to Ambergris Caye. Stores there are very expensive. We went with our 20, 17 and 13 year old. They had a ball.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bedroom unit right on the water. It was beautiful!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I will start with the positives: Pool, slide, hot tub were superb! Grounds were kept clean and manicured. Teddy and Larry, the pool guys, were so wonderful to us and made each morning of our stay pleasant. They remembered our names and greeted us with a smile and always asked if we needed anything. They both deserve a raise and a pat in the back for great customer service.

We were in 105, a luxury hotel room on the first floor with easy access to the beautiful swimming pool. The size of the room was perfect for a couple. The king bed was comfortable, the fridge came in handy for the complimentary 2 bottles of water daily, the coffee maker was in good working condition. There was a safe in the bathroom and toiletries were ample. I wish the water pressure of the shower was better.

Breakfast was not included so we had to order from next door (Island Tavern) daily. It was rather expensive (steak quesadilla for US$19, fruit platter for US $10 and 2 eggs, 2 strips of bacon plus potatoes for US $12). However that is still cheaper than the other option which is Coco Blanca in the premises (overpriced, bad food ... See separate review).

Our biggest disappointment with this visit was how very late we were picked up from the San Pedro Dock for the transfer to the hotel. We did due diligence in letting Ivan Levi know about our arrival time and he assured us of a prompt and smooth transfer after a very long flight from Los Angeles. We had to wait 30 mins for the hotel taxi from San Pedro airport to drive us 5 minutes to the dock. When we got to the dock, we were nonchalantly informed that the water taxi that will pick us up is delayed "getting supplies". We sat there for 45 minutes starving and exhausted from the long flight. So they were "getting supplies" when they knew there were incoming passengers? Does Coco Beach only have 1 water taxi? It was a lot of time wasted for which they weren't sincerely apologetic for when they finally came ("it's island time, mon!"). 45 minute wait. Island time? When we arrived at the hotel dock, there were 3 other water taxis sitting pretty. It set us off in a bad mood towards the resort and its promised punctuality in handling transfers. Mind you, no manager offered any apologies to us about this late pick-up issue during the 6 days we were in the resort. Unacceptable.

Their front desk lady Robin Gillette could also use a refresher course in customer service. Someone please remind her to listen more to customers before unpleasantly reciting a memorized spiel regarding check out times. They are late picking you up (island time, remember?) but are anxious to kick you out at 11am sharp. My letter from Orbitz indicated a noon check out time and Julie (another front desk lady but night shift) informed us that check out was 1pm and luggage to be picked up by 12:30pm. Robin was unforgiving and rude about this conflicting check out time information and won't even let me finish my explanation before barking at me about "check out policy we left in your room". I challenged her to come to our room to show us the letter that was left the night before. There was none delivered. Robin, listen more to your customers who contribute in your paycheck. When I asked to speak to a manager, Robin informed me that they were in a meeting from 10 am and "we don't know what time it will finish". I said I will wait for a manager who I can talk to regarding my grievance but of course nobody came to see nor call us and who just conveniently showed up when it was time to ride the water taxi back to the airport. So the meeting was from 10 am to 1 pm? The manager didn't have time to talk to guests before departure? When is a good time to air grievances to the manager? Good thing there's Trip Advisor then!

We rented a golf cart for an hour, fortunately we look closely at what we're signing because we were almost charged 2 hours by this front desk man who couldn't add.

Restaurant tips: our worst meal was at Coco Blanca in the premises (avoid!) but good restaurants are nearby: O at Las Terrazas, Aji and Capricorn. Don't miss the Thursday night chicken drop at Wahoo's.

Make certain to include Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley to your itinerary. We also paid $300 per person for an all-day excursion to 3 must-do tourist stops: xunantunich Mayan ruin, cave tubing and zip lining at Chukka. The roads are rough but the experience is priceless.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank OC_M_Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I really enjoyed the Coco Beach Resort. The rooms were comfortable, the service was very good. It was a shame that breakfast was not included in the already quite pricey rooms. At 18USD a go, it was a bit more than we were ready to spend for a slice of toast and some fruit and since there are no shops around to buy fresh fruit, water and bread for a reasonable price, we ended up going hungry.

A particular highlight of the holiday was the bar staff, in particular McLeish was brilliant fun and made our stay at the Coco beach memorable. The coconut water was a particular treat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We arrived in San Pedro after spending a week on another island, as close to roughing it that I will ever get. We rented a golf cart right by the airport instead of taking a water taxi to the Coco Beach dock. We thought we would like to see the island from the road. You don't need to see Ambergris Caye from the "road". Because of the extra long rainy season, the roads have not yet been repaired. Very bumpy ride, we had to stop to be able to drink our beer! I would suggest taking the water taxi. The resort managers and staff meet you on the dock to retrieve luggage and give you the lowdown on the resort. They have an extremely efficient system to get you to your room and relaxed asap. Actually, the whole resort is extremely well planned. We had a room by the pool with the giant rock/slide/platform. Around the edges of the pool are crescents about a foot deep, with lounge chairs in them. As you head out towards the pool bar/restraunt and beach, the path is lined with one of my favorite plants, crotons, in groupings with palms. The landscaping just flows through the grounds and along the pool. Some decks of the pool are arranged to provide privacy, with other areas for gatherings. We sat by the pool and watched all the going-ons in the ocean. We were there during a full moon which provided plenty of light for a late night stroll. The beach is used as a trail (instead of the road), for people going to and from work, so you do need to be aware of your surroundings. We loved our stay at Coco Beach, and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaJ913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Lovely resort with everything we needed to feel comfortable. Larry the pool guy is the best! He was friendly, helpful and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He got us fresh coconuts every day and always asked if we needed anything. Our only complaint is the internet service. We were never able to get a signal from our room and it was a weak connection even when right next to the reception area. (But could be a positive if you want want to "unplug") We rented bikes and enjoyed riding them on the beach. Kayaks and paddle boards were a huge plus. We were able to snorkel from the buoy and saw a nice variety of sea life. We did take a golf cart into town one day and it is was fun for the kids, they felt like they were on a long amusement ride. From reading other reviews, we had groceries delivered prior to our arrival from Mata Grande and that worked out great. We also got burritos from the local guy on the bike who came by every morning at 7:30 and fresh fish from "fisherman Johnson". Was a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews