We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

It is one of the best resorts in San Pedro area. We had three bedroom penthouse with a beautiful pool and sea view. It was great to have a living room and kitchen that we could use everyday since all the restaurants in San Pedro are overpriced. Things that should be better at Coco Beach are (especially since it's so expensive): water pressure, it's just terrible, key cards not old school keys. Beach is public so you will see many native people biking to San Pedro so walking during rush hours is not easy. It isn't the best beach for swimming either. I like Coco Beach but I expected something better for the amount of money they are charging.

Room Tip: Do not bring nice shoes, there are no real pathways at Coco Beach. Also bring a flashlight so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voyage_GalD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous resort! Amazing pools and pool bar staff. The snorkeling and swimming with sharks was amazing! Definitely want to return to this resort. I just wish they would pave the road to town and clean up garbage!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank bscott1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We just returned from 5 days at this resort, paid for by my husband's company. We stayed in the Villas (6A) towards the back of the property and found it lovely with two exceptions-don't count on wifi as it is intermittent AND the bathroom was pitiful! While the villa was spacious and well-appointed, the bathroom was crammed, as in two people could not be in there easily. There was no space around the sink to put anything! I would gladly have swapped a bit of room space to make the bathroom easier to deal with. The bed was extra comfortable( I am picky!). There is no fitness center and worse-NO GIFT SHOP! The restaurant was very expensive, but pretty much in line with most resorts. I can't remember the omelet chef's name, but he was great and very friendly. Marcy in the wait staff was very sweet and attentive. The pool staff was good as well. I will say we did not really have great experience with the pool food except ceviche. The ceviche could definitely done with out a basketful of artificially dyed chips though!! We ate in town twice because the resort food did just not measure up to its price. Carumbas has great fish tacos! I would not return here unless paid for by someone, but they do seem to be improved over the past reviews. NOTE: if you book a massage-you may or may not get it! We waited over 30 minutes for our gals to show up and we finally got the GM to call for us. Amy handled it well and even provided free transportation to town as the water taxis schedule did not meet our needs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myomyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Clean and neat with every amenity. Swimming pools were excellent and staff was exceptional. The resort was far from town and traveling by golf cart was done over a severely pot holed road. The water taxis did not have frequent schedules so once you were in town you were there for a couple of hours. You could bike into to town but it was hard to bring much goods back.

Room Tip: The Casitas were great for two people with a full kitchen. Traveling for food and finding food was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went to Coco beach after staying at Cave Branch jungle lodge. It was a great way to end the vacation. After having a busy few days it was a great place to relax. We went fishing and my son caught a huge fish. They cleaned the fish for us so we could eat it in our kitchen that night. The pool bar is great but expensive. I would recommend getting some food on the main land before you get to Ambergris Caye. Stores there are very expensive. We went with our 20, 17 and 13 year old. They had a ball.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bedroom unit right on the water. It was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I will start with the positives: Pool, slide, hot tub were superb! Grounds were kept clean and manicured. Teddy and Larry, the pool guys, were so wonderful to us and made each morning of our stay pleasant. They remembered our names and greeted us with a smile and always asked if we needed anything. They both deserve a raise and a pat in the back for great customer service.

We were in 105, a luxury hotel room on the first floor with easy access to the beautiful swimming pool. The size of the room was perfect for a couple. The king bed was comfortable, the fridge came in handy for the complimentary 2 bottles of water daily, the coffee maker was in good working condition. There was a safe in the bathroom and toiletries were ample. I wish the water pressure of the shower was better.

Breakfast was not included so we had to order from next door (Island Tavern) daily. It was rather expensive (steak quesadilla for US$19, fruit platter for US $10 and 2 eggs, 2 strips of bacon plus potatoes for US $12). However that is still cheaper than the other option which is Coco Blanca in the premises (overpriced, bad food ... See separate review).

Our biggest disappointment with this visit was how very late we were picked up from the San Pedro Dock for the transfer to the hotel. We did due diligence in letting Ivan Levi know about our arrival time and he assured us of a prompt and smooth transfer after a very long flight from Los Angeles. We had to wait 30 mins for the hotel taxi from San Pedro airport to drive us 5 minutes to the dock. When we got to the dock, we were nonchalantly informed that the water taxi that will pick us up is delayed "getting supplies". We sat there for 45 minutes starving and exhausted from the long flight. So they were "getting supplies" when they knew there were incoming passengers? Does Coco Beach only have 1 water taxi? It was a lot of time wasted for which they weren't sincerely apologetic for when they finally came ("it's island time, mon!"). 45 minute wait. Island time? When we arrived at the hotel dock, there were 3 other water taxis sitting pretty. It set us off in a bad mood towards the resort and its promised punctuality in handling transfers. Mind you, no manager offered any apologies to us about this late pick-up issue during the 6 days we were in the resort. Unacceptable.

Their front desk lady Robin Gillette could also use a refresher course in customer service. Someone please remind her to listen more to customers before unpleasantly reciting a memorized spiel regarding check out times. They are late picking you up (island time, remember?) but are anxious to kick you out at 11am sharp. My letter from Orbitz indicated a noon check out time and Julie (another front desk lady but night shift) informed us that check out was 1pm and luggage to be picked up by 12:30pm. Robin was unforgiving and rude about this conflicting check out time information and won't even let me finish my explanation before barking at me about "check out policy we left in your room". I challenged her to come to our room to show us the letter that was left the night before. There was none delivered. Robin, listen more to your customers who contribute in your paycheck. When I asked to speak to a manager, Robin informed me that they were in a meeting from 10 am and "we don't know what time it will finish". I said I will wait for a manager who I can talk to regarding my grievance but of course nobody came to see nor call us and who just conveniently showed up when it was time to ride the water taxi back to the airport. So the meeting was from 10 am to 1 pm? The manager didn't have time to talk to guests before departure? When is a good time to air grievances to the manager? Good thing there's Trip Advisor then!

We rented a golf cart for an hour, fortunately we look closely at what we're signing because we were almost charged 2 hours by this front desk man who couldn't add.

Restaurant tips: our worst meal was at Coco Blanca in the premises (avoid!) but good restaurants are nearby: O at Las Terrazas, Aji and Capricorn. Don't miss the Thursday night chicken drop at Wahoo's.

Make certain to include Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley to your itinerary. We also paid $300 per person for an all-day excursion to 3 must-do tourist stops: xunantunich Mayan ruin, cave tubing and zip lining at Chukka. The roads are rough but the experience is priceless.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank OC_M_Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I really enjoyed the Coco Beach Resort. The rooms were comfortable, the service was very good. It was a shame that breakfast was not included in the already quite pricey rooms. At 18USD a go, it was a bit more than we were ready to spend for a slice of toast and some fruit and since there are no shops around to buy fresh fruit, water and bread for a reasonable price, we ended up going hungry.

A particular highlight of the holiday was the bar staff, in particular McLeish was brilliant fun and made our stay at the Coco beach memorable. The coconut water was a particular treat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.2 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 55 in San Pedro
1,001 reviews
5.8 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 55 in San Pedro
895 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 55 in San Pedro
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £211 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing