We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Resort was amazing. We were a little hesitant to book so "far" from San Pedro but never felt it was an issue being away from town. Tuff E Nuff is an excursion agency located on the property that also runs the water taxi service from the resort to town and back at various times throughout the day, and we found that to be sufficient to get us into town twice during our 6 day stay. Otherwise we strolled the beach and found places both north and south of Coco for food (10-20 minute walks on the beach-ideal after lounging in the sun all day!). I did think the food on the property was overpriced (spaghetti for $30?!) so we always went elsewhere (would rather spend $30 for fresh fish, authentic cuisine, etc).

A few things that may our stay especially wonderful:

-Coco Beach took care of arranging our flight from Belize City to San Pedro, then the water taxi was waiting for us. Upon arrival in San Pedro and prior to getting into the water taxi, we were shown a grocery and stocked up on breakfast basics for the week. Other reviewers complained about food prices...we bought a dozen eggs, several bags of chips, fresh tortillas, cheese, salsa, cereal and milk for $40 USD...didnt think it was bad at all. Also awesome that we didnt make a separate trip to find this-it was immediately offered up as an option and couldnt have been simpler.

-Larry the pool guy. This guy rules. He gave us a heads up of places he loved to eat in town, told us about the Chicken Drop (hilarious gambling event in town where money is bet on numbers 1-100 and a chicken, after being fed coconut milk, is shaken and whatever number it poos on, that person wins $100). He got us fresh coconuts almost daily at the pool and threw down some rap at our request. Just a cool, charming guy that really stood out.

-Zoby and Marcie were also especially hospitable, helping to arrange tours, recommending places in town, and just generally being extra friendly, remembering our names, etc.

-Tuff E Nuff excursions were great. We did the Mexico rock snorkeling, Hol Chan, and a Xunantunich tour and all were smooth, the guides were EXTREMELY informative, and just all in all memorable trips that were well worth the price tags.

-Food-belizean cuisine is to die for. Again, we read countless reviews of crazy prices, but people, get off the resorts to get more authentic and affordable food!!! We actually had a night where we ate from street vendors only, off carts in town, spent $10 USD total, and it was some of our favorites (tacos, tamales, pupusas, fresh papaya, etc). Elvis is not to be missed in town-have the grouper with black bean sauce-best bite of Belizean food hands down. Ahi, about a 20 min walk towards town from coco beach, was great with a spectacular atmosphere/setting (xmas lights strung from tree canopies on the beach!). We thought Capricorn was good, but the above were far superior.

-Casita #1-gave us privacy, was amazingly soundproof, and allowed for cooking breakfast, stashing snacks, etc. Also had filtered water from the fridge so would fill up waterbottles throughout the day.

-Weather was perfect-mid 80's, no humidity, breeze. Never had an issue with bugs (we would spray just in case at night).

My only other gripe about the resort (other than the mildly offensive price tags of Cocoblanca, the onsite restaurant) is no gym/treadmill, anything. We are a family of runners/marathoners and while we made the pot holed road work for running purposes, the heat was brutal. For all of the amenities, a small gym seems like an obvious addition to an otherwise really exceptional resort.

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We are big international travellers and never think about going back to a place twice, but found Belize and the island of San Pedro to be an exception to our otherwise fairly tight rule.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 774emilya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    235
    55
    19
    7
See reviews for
375
693
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Painesville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Beautiful property - just like pictures on site and just as big. We stayed in a 3BR penthouse. I read a lot of reviews and have a few comments: the bugs weren't bad at all since we went not during the rainy season and had a breeze the whole week. Yes, showers had horrible water pressure (could only use one shower at a time) and it was COLD water... but we knew it was an issue and accepted it ahead of time. The property mgr said the units were originally planned as residential and not as a resort so the wrong size of pipe was installed? How they kept building units with the same problem, I don't know.

Staff there and anywhere we went were always friendly. Ordered our groceries and they were in our unit upon arrival.

We got there by water taxi (which I did not read anyone reviewing - seems like most fly). The trip there and back was not bad - hot on the way there, but much less expensive if you are traveling in a bigger group - which we were. 1.5 hour trip - on a "city bus" on the water is a good way to think of it. Only stops at one other caye before Arbergris caye - but it's a quick stop.

Pool is awesome - bar food is fine, drinks are very weak. Buy your own rum and juice to make your own in your room if that bothers you.

Very quiet at night, construction next door - but that didn't bother us. Beds very comfortable. Resort very clean.

Our boys rented bikes and rode to San Pedro many days (they are 17/18) and had no trouble. They also rented a golf cart - were stopped once to have their license checked in San Pedro. Back rode is very potholed 1/2 the way to town and then was a smooth ride - but it didn't rain once when we were there.

You will not be lounging on the beach - which I wondered about before going - but since the pool was so nice, it didn't matter. Looked at other resorts and none had a better pool, for sure. Even the sister resort next door. If you do go to eat at Belize Shores next door, be prepared for the manager to intrude on your conversation and just feel very uncomfortable there. He probably thinks he is being welcoming, but it's just awkward. Food was fine though.

Ajis was the best meal, "The Bar" was dirty and overrated unless you are looking for a place to get smashed. NOT the "best burger" ever as some are advertising - burger at Coco Beach was better. Winery/bar down the beach had very friendly bartender (and dogs).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband, six year-old daughter and I stayed at Coco Beach Resort over Spring Break. We rented the two bedroom room with a kitchen and found the room to be better than pictured on the website. We were offered fruity drinks upon arrival and escorted to our room, where we found everything to be clean and stocked with plenty of towels, kitchen supplies, etc. We had ordered groceries prior to our arrival and they were neatly put away, too. We were thrilled by how nice everything was! Larry the pool guy was GREAT, he greeted us on the first day and made sure that we had everything that we needed through our entire stay. In fact, the entire staff was great but Larry seemed to know every guest and made our stay exceptionally nice.

On the first day, we took advantage of the free kayaks and paddled out for snorkeling. It takes about 15 minutes to get out to the buoys and the water is clear and calm. However, the snorkeling doesn't compare to what you'll see on one of the escorted trips at the marine preserve, it's well worth the money to book one of these outings because you'll have the opportunity to see turtles, manta rays, barracudas and nurse sharks! We booked our trip through Tuff Enough at the hotel and paid $80/person for the experience. It was well worth it.

We rented a golf cart and went into town on the second day. San Pedro is a cute little town and we had the opportunity to try Elvi's Kitchen and El Fogon during our stay. Elvi's Kitchen has a great atmosphere and wonderful food, it lives up to all of the positive reviews - as did El Fogon. El Fogon was more traditional Belizean but they both had lots of native offerings on the menu. Food is expensive on the island, We spent $70 for lunch for the three of us both times that we ate out.

If you have the opportunity, I would also recommend booking a trip to Lamanai using LamanaiBelizeTours.com. We tried to book this at the hotel but the cost was going to be $220/person. Instead, we found Lamanai Belize Tours through Trip Advisor and had a wonderful trip for $80/person. In fairness, we had to pay for a water taxi from Ambergris Caye to Belize City in addition to the cost of the tour but we spent about $300 for the day rather than over $600. It was a highlight of the trip, we saw crocodiles, spider monkeys and breath-taking Mayan temples. Even our six-year old loved the adventure!

From what we could tell, Coco Beach is the nicest hotel on the island and we'll definitely choose to stay there again if we go back.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue for you, choose an ocean view room or a room on the south side, further away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JC_TravelExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Perfect spot for couples. We stayed with several and enjoyed the pool and bar area. Beautiful hotel and access to water sports and activities. Services on site were a plus. Went into town on golf carts and bikes several days and was a great trip!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RiniSimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This place is great! We're on our 3rd day..very beautiful resort. .great staff.from the second we got off the boat we were treated very well..The resort is absolutely gorgeous. .very well maintained and does not feel crowded even though I was told it's at about full capacity. We have a luxury hotel room..comes with a fridge microwave beautiful bathroom with a shower for 2. Comfortable king size bed..View of the pool..I have zero complaints. Just far enough from town..tuff enuff tours top notch..do rent the golf carts to go to town at least once..it's an experience not to miss..do go to hol chan reserve and shark ray alley..do it all if you can or just relax. .perfect place to do both!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

If you are looking to really relax in a beautiful and extremely comfortable environment, then Coco Beach is for you. Exceptional service with incredibly friendly staff. The pools offer something for everyone - daring leaps, super slide, sandy shores, lux lounges, hot, warm, cold water and delicious drinks served up the moment you want them!
We stayed in a casita and it was fabulous! Super comfortable bed plus full kitchen and living area, meticulously clean, although we didn't spend much time inside because we were there to enjoy outside. The grounds are carefully maintained and very lovely. Don't be surprised to spot an iguana catching some sun nearby.
We walked along the beach into town the first day and enjoyed stopping at fun spots along the way. The water taxis are convenient both ways as well, so getting to and from town is easy. There is so much to do at Coco Beach - kayaking, snorkeling, and they are so helpful in arranging activities and services for you - that you need not even go anywhere. Several great restaurants within walking distance and the food they serve at the pool is very good too.
I really can't say enough great stuff about the staff of Coco Beach. They treat you like royalty! A special thanks to Stacey, who skillfully helped us arrange our return travel - although we really didn't want to leave! We plan to return as soon as we can. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go for the Casita!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Shout out to "Larry the Pool Guy", he is the most energetic and helpful person I have ever met. The food is tasty, the bar here is one of the best "chill spots" on the island. There are two pools; the back one is for the kids (or the hole family) which is essentially a pool with a huge rock fort in the middle. The front pool runs around the bar and out toward the beach. That is maybe the best place to be for the adults as it is cherished for its awe inspiring view and it's close vicinity to the bar.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestreviewer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
970 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
793 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing