We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You better belize it!”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You better belize it!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

#1 resort on the island. Staff are friendly, helpful, & fun. Food and drinks are good. So much to do on this island… I recommend going crocodile hunting at CSI. Booze cruise, snorkelling/scuba diving are a MUST. The blue hole is awesome! Also, venturing into the local areas was fun- just gotta be careful and travel in groups. Must try "ceviche" - its an island version of bruschetta and its to die for. There are many good restaurants nearby - ask front desk. The captain morgans casino is in walking distance. Overall an amazing experience! Only complaint is the mosquitos get really bad around 5-7pm. So don't forget bugspray!

Room Tip: Cant go wrong, all rooms are well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lady_mel111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    233
    54
    19
    7
See reviews for
370
690
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just returned from a week at Coco Beach. I cannot think of one negative thing to say about the resort or Ambergris Cay/San Pedro. What a wonderful vacation we had. From what I saw Coco Beach is one of the nicest resorts on the island (if not THE nicest). It's in a great location. Close to town but far enough to be in a more luxurious area. We noticed that the further south from town you went the less the hotels/resorts kept up with the beach areas and there tended to be a bit of trash along the beach. North of town was much better, especially once you got to Coco Beach.

Every single person we encountered whether at the resort, in town, on the water taxis, etc. was so very nice. There wasn't one person that we encountered ANYWHERE that wasn't friendly.

The first few days we were disappointed to learn that Larry the pool guy wasn't there. He had injured his foot; but, thankfully, he was there our last couple of days. What a special employee he is. SOOOO Happy and kind and couldn't do enough for us! He got us coconuts both days and they were fabulous. After you drink the water he cuts them open for you to eat the coconut meat. AMAZING!!!!

The bartenders were a lot of fun. They all had great personalities as did the desk staff. We ate lunch a few times at the resort (Cococabana) and the food was exellent. We didn't try dinner there as we saw the prices and had read the poor reviews but the same restaurant prepares the lunch and everything we had was very good and plentiful.

We rented golf carts twice. You definitely need to do it for the experience. Yes, the roads are bumpy but that was part of the fun!!! We laughed a lot bouncing around.

We ate at Caprice (in Holiday hotel, right near tuff e nuff dock in town). Food was very good! We also got some appetizers at Hurricanes one night. Again, very good. Went to Crazy Cunuks (long walk from town) to try to watch a Bruins game (we were told the owners would definitely have it on). No such luck. The bartender didn't even seem to know what hockey was. LOL So back to Caprice we went and watched it there.

We went to Palapas. GREAT place! Food and drinks were exellent. No one was in the tubes (water was pretty rough) so we just sat inside and ate and drank. Great service as well.

Tuff e nuff water taxi had a few incidents while we were there. First night (total darkness with no lights) our boat died (not sure if it ran out of gas or what). Another boat towed us to Coco Beach dock (and we slammed into dock and then the other boats motor!!!) but we made it! Someone the next day told us they took a trip to Hole Chan and their tuff e nuff boat ran out of gas on the way back (far from dock) so they were stranded for a while until another boat rescued them. The next night on the way back from town our boat died a couple times but he managed to get it started each time. LOL

We were really looking forward to snorkeling at Hole Chan but the day before we planned to go a woman was stung 4 times by a jelly fish and her daughter was stung once. The daughter ended up being allergic and started swelling up so they had to be taken by another boat to medic. Then after that we learned two more people were stung so we opted not to go.

Food in the stores there is definitely expensive!!! Definitely get your liquor and wine at the airport at duty free. It's MUCH MUCH cheaper then anywhere on the island. I suggest you bring snacks from home as well. (A bag of tostitos was $8 in the store at Captain Morgans).

When we go to islands, we always bring a rolling cooler with frozen meat. This time we had a bit of difficulty at customs when we arrived. They said we should have gotten a permit (which we have never had to do and we have traveled extensively). He did let us go eventually but it's good to know that for the future.

We stayed in a luxury hotel room. It was perfect. Not too small. Very comfortable bed. We had not issues with water pressure or anything like that. The bathrooms as really nice as well. The staff do an EXELLENT job cleaning. They move all the furniture around and get behind things, etc. In fact the whole resort is immaculate.

We cannot wait to go back and bring our young adult kids. We will rent a one or two bedroom next time if we bring them. Wouldn't stay anywhere else but Coco Beach!!!

PS. If you encounter Joe (bartender) call him Chi Chi Man! ;-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is the first review I've ever written and felt compelled to after the wonderful stay as well as all the helpful information gained from other reviews.

Property
The property is absolutely beautiful. It's situated right on the beach and it is maintained very well by the staff. The pools are fantastic. The pool closer to the beach is set up with a volleyball net, jacuzzi and the swim up bar. The pool further back is deeper and has a water slide in the center. The slide is built into a rock structure that many people (myself included) used as a jumping platform. Very fun!

We had a sea view suite with an amazing view. The room was clean with more than enough room. The balcony was spacious with a table and four chairs as well as two lawn chairs. The staff cleaned daily (replenished towels, soap, etc.) and also made decorations out of kitchen towels, paper towels, bathroom towels, etc. Creative touches like that made the stay that much nicer.

People
The staff at Coco Beach is top notch. Amy met us upon arrival at the pier and was very welcoming as rum punch awaited us at the front desk. Our room wasn't ready but that was because they were putting the finishing touches on a nice surprise. I was there to celebrate my 40th birthday and they had decorated the bed with flowers and formed a towel into a multi-layer birthday cake. A bottle of wine was also chilling, which was a great gesture. All of the staff was extremely friendly and ready to assist you however necessary. Many of the reviews mention Larry aka The Pool Guy. You have to meet Larry. He provides fresh coconut drinks daily (that's a real coconut with a straw). I renamed him the Coconut King for his efforts. He's very helpful and genuine. My girlfriend and I felt like we made a friend in our one week there. Teddy is also out covering the pool and does a great job making sure you have what you need as well. The bar staff was also very attentive and entertaining. Deon and Lester were covering the bar most of the time we were there. Again, very accommodating people. The front desk staff was also great when it came to renting golf carts, etc.

The people at Tuff E Nuff tours were also outstanding. We did a 3 adventure tour one day (Mayan ruin, zip lining and cave tubing) and our guide was Flacco (I'm sure I spelled that incorrectly). The zip lining crew was very professional with a safety first mindset. Wilfred was our guide for snorkeling and was also professional, helpful and safety focused.

Food
This is the only area that I think the resort should work on improving. In general, the food is ok but overpriced. I thought the breakfast buffet at Cocoblanca was reasonable and the food was good. I think it was $18 per person, which isn't bad considering the quality and the prices of other items. The dinner items are a bit pricey.

Other
Bugs were not an issue during this time.

We took the water taxi from Belize City. I'd recommend taking the flight. The water taxi is fine but if you add in the cab fare needed to get to and from the airport, you"re not saving as much as you think. Plus it's 20 minutes compared to 90 minutes.

We had groceries delivered prior to our arrival which was helpful. I had mostly breakfast items on hand to save some time and money.

Overall it was great trip and I'd definitely go back to Coco Beach!

Room Tip: The sea view suites are great if it fits your budget. They're a must if you want a great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oelwein, Iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Amy the manager will meet you at the dock with nice cool towels! Its like arriving at fantasies Island when you get their, the say their was GREAT, WE will be going back! The weather is beautiful and the people are friendly, But it is cheaper to book your stuff in town, like snorkeling and going to the ruins, for that I would differently go to Hurricane's, their awesome people and make your adventure great! You can rent a golf cart to get you to town or walk the beach, it is 3.5miles to walk but I do enjoy walking and you can always take the boat! Just can't say enough about the place and the people at Coco Beach Resort!

Room Tip: Our room was Great! Don't think their is a bad one in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glockm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Coco Beach is DEFINITELY the NICEST place to stay in Ambergris Caye! We LOVED our villa (ALL rooms are GREAT though) and the service was PERFECT from EVERYBODY! The pools are FANTASTIC and the property is kept IMMACULATE! We were HAPPY to call Coco Beach 'HOME' for our week stay ...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rykel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I traveled to Belize with two of my good friends and we stayed at Coco Beach. Originally we booked the hotel room with king bed as there were just two of us... then a third friend hopped on the trip last minute. We were charged $25 more per day for the extra person for resort fees. At first I was a bit worried the room would be cramped with an extra person on the pullout couch, but the room was huge! plenty of space for three ladies. The whole resort was very clean and well-appointed, the pools were beautiful just like the pictures, staff was friendly and helpful. Food at the resort is definitely a flaw. I don't mind spending money on good food (living in NYC, dining out isn't cheap!)- but the food here was mediocre at best for lunch/dinner options and also very expensive for what it is. I have to say, the breakfast was very good. They had an omelette station which was delicious and fresh watermelon juice. The omelette chef also made fantastic pancakes. We didn't end up eating at the resort much.. better options down the beach: I would recommend Capricorn for dinner, Ak'bol yoga retreat place for brunch (they serve breakfast all day for you late risers!), Palapa bar for drinking- you can sit in inner tubes and they drop beer down to you in ice buckets! San Pedro: dinner- Elvie's Kitchen, Caliente; Bars- Hurricanes, Crazy Canuk. You really don't need reservations for dinner, but the Coco Beach reception staff is happy to help if you want one. Don't miss out on the ATM cave tour- it's not a day at the beach but its one of the coolest things I have ever done. We also did a fantastic Catamaran snorkel and Caye Cauker tour booked through Searious- Captain Frank and James were awesome and Searious will pick you up at the Coco Beach dock so it's just as easy as Tuff Enough Tours (which is the resort partner- and also great, we did a couple tours through Tuff as well).

Con besides the food- the curtains fully cover the large windows, but they aren't fully light blocking, so we ended up waking with the sunrise, which might not be a con for some.

All in all, this was a great experience and a beautiful resort. We always felt comfortable and safe, I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lastmintraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Coco Beach is probably the nicest resort on Ambergris Caye. The rooms are stunning and the pool area is beautiful. We kayaked out from directly in front of resort and found fabulous snorkeling. The food on the resort is above average for the most part - the restaurant is a little pricey but the poolside pub fare is well priced. It takes about 20 minutes by golf cart to drive all the way into town over a road that is one step above a goat path, several unique pubs and restaurants can be found along your way into town. Make sure to stop in at a place called Kama on your way into town, Al and Pam will hook you up with amazing drinks, food and great times. We tried to hunt down a good grocery store with normal prices but none really exist on the island...most food that you buy has to be boated or flown in so its on the pricey side.
The front desk staff at Coco Beach were not overly helpful and less then friendly on multiple occasions. Our golf cart which we rented from the resort one evening ran out of gas about 15 minutes after we left, leaving us to walk back through the pitch dark, an apology wasn't even offered. Most advice they provided turned out to be incorrect so do your own research.That said even their less then pleasant demeanor could not tarnish this fantastic resort. The cleaning staff goes above and beyond Anna our cleaner was perfect.
Make sure you ask for a room that is not located above the pool bar as these get quite noisy in the morning with patrons attending the early morning brunch while you try to sleep off the last of your rum punch. Check out the ATM cave trip its amazing and not difficult.

Room Tip: All rooms are great except those above the pool bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing