We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds!!!”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Coco Beach Resort is a very beautiful Resort!!! My biggest let down was my arrival on Saturday, June 14th. My family went ahead on the 3PM Express Ferry and were picked up on time by the taxi. But when I arrived an hour later, I literally sat at the water taxi for a whopping 1.5 hours. As soon as I reached San Pedro at 5:30PM, I alerted Belize Express to contact Coco Beach Resort that I was ready to be picked up. They were told it would take 10 mins. for the captain to retrieve me After 20 mins., I went back to the ticket desk and their response was they called. So one of the workers was kind enough to call on his cel phone as I had no service on the island. He was told by the hotel that they were waiting to pick other travelers that left on the 4:30 boat. Needless to say that boat came and went with no Cocobeach travelers. Meanwhile I'm seeing everyone being picked up by their respective hotels, Captain Morgan, etc... and it's getting dark and chilly. Mind you I literally traveled all day and was exhausted. Finally I went to the office of Belize Express since I became worried that they were closing soon since the snack shop locked up. They exchanged emails with the hotel front desk. Finally a taxi arrived to pick me up and the boat captain heard it from me. When i arrived on dock 7 minutes ride later and was greeted there, the gentleman said that the Belize Express never called. By the time I was escorted to the front desk and I was greeted with a drink, but no hot towel. And to top that off the young lady at the desk said that my sister alerted the front desk about my 5:30PM pick up. As we all looked at the clock on the wall, I asked and what time is it now..? 7:00 PM. The next day, I expressed my disatisfaction with management and by day 2 (Monday, June 16), of my stay I received a bottle of champagne and a large wine glass of sliced strawberries and whipped cream. The highlight of the trip was the 2 bedroom and the service of the staff. The cleaning lady made beautiful towel arts that I took pics of and Larry the pool guy, whom I knew was very accomodating. Amy the manager was nice and a few others. My only caution is the pool. There is a cliff drop at the bottom of the pool midway with no indicators of when it goes from shallow to deep! so if you see people standing on the edges of the deep pool and inside the rock mass don't be fooled. The food was cool. I've had better fish sandwiches at Big Mommas in ladyville. The calamari is good and my family loved the fettucini. The fryjacks are descent at the top floor cafe. But the best was the lobster in town and the various restaurants and food stands.
On my departure which was before my family, I received a special note as well as my flight was booked and an escort to the dock for my departing taxi. Overall i would stay here again, but just need beginning to end great service. The last downside was the scorpion that made it's way into our bathroom, but it was promptly removed by security.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom with the full kitchen, dining and living room is very nice!!!!! You feel like you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    236
    56
    19
    7
See reviews for
378
698
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anniston, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Wow! This resort is top notch. When we arrived they met us at the dock with cool towels and rum punch. We were early and the room wasn't quite ready - we were told they would attempt to expedite it and 45 mins later, we had a room. We had just a standard room but it was far from "standard". The rooms are spacious, a mini fridge, coffee maker, and microwave are provided. The bed in the room is like a cloud of pillows - heavenly!Our room had a balcony which opened to the pool - literally 2 steps from the pool.

The bar staff at the pool is second to none. The drinks are incredible - their dirty banana and coconut Mojito are NOT to be missed. The food at the pool is great for a quick lunch and reasonably priced. The resort breakfast is not worth the money ($18 each for a small selection of food) - go next door to Belizean Shores - traditional bfast and reasonable prices. We did not eat at the resort restaurant as we found the prices to be way overpriced. We rented a golf cart and went to town every day.

My only complaint would be the air in the room. Even on full blast it never really cooled off. This is really on par with other Caribbean resorts so it wasn't a huge surprise. It's almost like they use swamp coolers instead of traditional air conditioning. It didn't bother me enough to leave less than a 5 star review!

I cannot say enough wonderful words about this resort or Ambergris in general. I never go to the same destination twice but this place makes me reconsider. Don't hesitate to book - it's truly the best resort on the island!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilytravels1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marana, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Coco Beach Resort was a pleasure from beginning to end. Their website is easy to use and gives a great description of the different rooms. Booking was easy, and they contacted us immediately and made all of the transfer arrangements from Belize City, to San Pedro, and thence to the Hotel. Arrival was easy and well orchestrated. The Staff was simply amazing, especially when my son injured himself, calling a doctor and providing first aid. The facilities and rooms were immaculate. The location is isolated enough to unplug entirely, yet a convenient boat taxi to all that San Pedro offers. I highly recommend Coco Beach Resort!

Room Tip: 2 BR Sea View Villa is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Even though this resort is beach front, don't plan on swimming in the Caribbean, because it's filled with seaweed. But that's the only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating. The pools are absolutely beautiful as are the grounds. The service from every employee is outstanding and everyone is friendly. All of the pool decks are sand, and entry into the pools are designed like a shore line. There are two large pools, plus a swim up bar pool.

You can stay in a hotel room, a detached single story Casita, or a 2-3 bedroom condo style accommodation. We stayed in a Casita, and it was perfect for a couple, or 3 people. It had a full kitchen, dining area, and living room--plus a separate bedroom and bath. It had tons of closet space, an extremely comfortable bed, high vaulted ceilings, and a roof top deck as well as the main floor veranda. Really nice and comfy. The living area sofa opens up to a bed, so if you are traveling with a child or third person, it works.

There is a restaurant on the property, however you can find a grocery store just down the beach about a half mile away. Since we had a kitchen, we bought breakfast and lunch food at the grocery. For dinner you can take a boat from the resort to the town of San Pedro where there are many restaurants. Our favorites were Elvi's Kitchen and Blue Water Grill. There's also a beach front restaurant called Capricorn's a short walk from the resort, which also had very good food.

The drinks at the resort were watered down and expensive, so we bought rum at the grocery store and made our own drinks.

The weather is hot and muggy. The sun scorches, so bring sun screen and be sure to stay under the umbrellas when you're not in the pools. And it's very casual there so you only need to bring swim suits, shorts, and tops. Pack light.

We had a very relaxing week there, and would recommend this resort to anyone who needs a week to just chill and surround yourself with tropical beauty!!

Room Tip: Casitas are a good value for the amenities you get, and we loved the private veranda and roof top de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our first trip to Belize. We wanted a place where we could relax, have fun, and enjoy the beautiful water surrounding Ambergris Caye, and we found it. We were greeted by Zoby on the dock with a wonderful fragrant towel that refreshed us after a long day of travel and a quick boat ride from the airport. The check in process was quick and easy. Zoby also gave us a quick tour of the grounds. We rented a two bedroom suite with ocean view, and it was immaculate. Very nicely adorned with stainless appliances, ceiling fans in every room, and great bathrooms. I've read in the past where some guests complained about the water pressure in the showers, and my feedback to them is they must be wound too tightly...you're on vacation...the beauty of the resort shouldn't be downgraded due to "low water pressure". The entire staff is incredibly friendly...they will remember your name after one encounter, and will call you by name every time they see you. Deon the main bartender at the pool is outstanding, as are all of the staff at the resort. You would never know that units at the resort are for sale, as there is no pushiness and solicitation like many other resorts in the Caribbean or Mexico which is very refreshing. We only at at Cocoblanca restaurant once, but it was pretty good. We ordered lunch one day at the pool, and the food was great. All in all, Coco Beach is fantastic, and I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Ambergris Caye!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with 2 couples, the 2 bedroom suites are amazing and have two very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benque
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Really loved this place, the pools were just amazing and coco beach did not disappoint.
Ambiance and atmosphere was great, along with friendliness of staff make this a location worth staying at. The realtor on staff Daniel Hartin was very friendly professional and informative. He took us for a tour of the site and next door which is being built. Truly magnificent project.
We look forward to owning a condo in this well managed and well laid out complex , that has a great lifestyle, and superb ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BENQUE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Pretty bad considering you are abroad, in front of a wonderful beach and you can hardly see the beach from the pools it feels like you are in vegas but trashier. Nachos with velvetta style cheese. Still vegas pricing without the amenities. super expensive. I found a huge cockroach in the bathroom in the middle of the night 2 days later the cockroach was inside of one of the bags! We were paying almost $400.00/night with taxes. Pretty bad!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank eatanddrink2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
7.2 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
459 reviews
3.9 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing