We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
DFW
1 review
“Awesome Resort”
Reviewed 21 September 2009

This is one of the nicest resorts I have ever stayed at!!! Extremely friendly, professional and nice service/staff! Highly recommend. In my opinion this resort is a 5 star property!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    236
    56
    19
    7
See reviews for
378
698
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We were a little skeptical at first of Coco Beach, based on the limited photos available. But after staying here a week, we would go back in a heartbeat. The room was HUGE and very clean. It had all the amenities of home and the bed and furniture were very comfortable. The shower could have used a bit more pressure, but that would be the only complaint.

The pool was AMAZING. In my travels around the globe, I have yet to see a better pool. The staff was super friendly and helpful with any/all requests. We didn't expect to get a personal tour of the property, but it was a nicely added touch.

The pool bar was great and Tonya was an excellent bartender. The lack of a restaurant didn't bother us as you get get anything delivered to the pool bar. It could have stayed open a little bit later, say 8-9pm, but it isn't a complaint.

I can only imagine how much better this resort will become when they finish it. It will be really hard to improve on the experience my wife and i had, but I bet they can do it.

I can wait to go back and lounge in the pool at Coco Beach and soak up some rays while drinking delicious cocktails

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Let me start out by saying that I am not "bashing" this resort in any way...These are simply observations during our stay. My wife and I decided to stay at Coco Beach on our first trip to Belize largely on the recommendations posted on this site. We contacted the front desk to inquire about ongoing construction we had read about. We were told they were building a restaurant in the back and that it would not be a problem during our stay. This was true but it was still an eye sore. We had a beach front room (more on that in a moment) that overlooked ongoing construction on their new pier/dock ...something they failed to tell us about. We saw workers and loaders working through the day. It detracted from our ocean view and the beauty of the place itself. Aside from this, the resort is aesthetically beautiful. Now the room...When we first walked into it we were blown away as to how big it was. Apparently we were upgraded to a 2-bedroom unbeknownst to us. It was a fully functioning apartment!...huge patio...2 bathrooms...great showers....(except my wife cut her foot on the protruding metal shower drain.) For some reason though they did not stock the 2nd bathroom with anything...towels, toilet tissue, soap, etc....and the second bedroom was left without bedding. As for the room itself, it was great but it felt as though they did not give it any finishing touches...nothing on the shelves...it felt "empty" and unfinished. The bedroom closet door leading the the in-room safe was difficult to open and my wife called on me to open in every time. One night we attempted to order a pizza and found a hotel-supplied brochure in the room for Pirate Pizza. When we called to order we were told that we had to order a minimum of 2 large (or $50 US minimum!) because they were out of our delivery area (?!) Then we couldn't find any numbers for the hotel, anywhere...aarrgh! The pool bar was cool, Tanya the bartender was a sweet girl...very friendly and cordial. The only complaint here was that it closed at 7:00pm. The morning we were to check out the power suddenly went out and we were left to shower in the dark for roughly 15 minutes. Fortunately for us we did not come to Belize to stay in our room. The Tuff E Nuff staff was very helpful with tours. It was a shame though that they couldn't find the minimum number of people to justify some of the tours they offer. LeRoy was a character and a good guy. The resort does provide access to bicycles and golf carts for a reasonable rental rate. We ended up renting the latter ($53 US for 8-hours) and had an absolute blast discovering the island from north to south. Only one word of caution, the "road" behind the resort on the north end of the island is a rollercoaster ride of dodging muddy potholes, but once you get past that it's smooth sailing. Bottom line is, the resort gave me the feeling as though it was almost done and that a year from now when all the contstruction is done and they've ironed out their kinks, this place will be great. It's beautiful and the staff is friendly and helpful but I couldn't help but feel that it didn't have that lived-in appeal. It's a great resort that almost is.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rddr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We are a family of four (2 daughters (8 and 6) and have traveled to approximately 8 islands in the Caribbean. We've mainly stayed at Marriott resorts on all of our previous trips.
HOTEL-Absolutely beautiful rooms. Probably the nicest accomodations we have ever stayed on one of our vacations. The pictures are more than accurate in the quality of room...granite, tile, etc. We stayed in the 2 bedroom penthouse. We were told that was the only room we could book However, we saw most rooms dark each night. Wonder if they upsold us. BEAUTIFUL pool and bar area. One of the most unique pools we have ever seen. BEACH-there isn't much of a beach. They are building the restaurant and front desk area now. Therefore, you are unable to buy any last minute items or snacks. The best thing to do is have your groceries delivered. We didn't and wish we would have!! Be FOREWARNED, there is absolutely zero literature in the rooms regarding any island info, i.e, excursions, water taxi, restaurants. You are left to talk with the staff or the activity center.
HOTEL STAFF-Very polite, but not knowledgeable. We asked about transportation to town, restaurants, etc. They told us we could rent a bike and the ride would be 20 minutes to town. It's closer to one hour. We asked about restaurants close to Coco. We were told of two only to find out on our last day, there were another 2 about 20 minutes south. Positively, the staff scheduled each of arrival/departure planes/taxis/boats very well. We didn't wait one minute for a pickup.
LOGISTICS-Due to Coco located approx 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, your trips/excursions/dinners/lunches have to be planned. There are 3 ways into town. 1)Rent the bikes from the hotel for $10 each per day. (They have not been maintained well, BTW). 2)Rent a golf cart and drive the road, which has numerous potholes larger than the golf cart itself, be bitten by LOTS of mosquitos, and takes 45 mins to one hour (depending on the amount of rain), and 3) ride the island ferry for $6.5 each per adult each way (they didn't charge for the kids!). The ferry is on an every other hourly schedule. If you ride the bike or drive the golfcart into town and stay past dark, then you have to ride home in the dark. Hence, my comment about the planning of trips.

Recommended restaurants-Capricorn's and Mango's near Coco. In town, Elvi's and Mango. We also ate at the Lazy Croc BBQ, which was good and cheap. It's a 30 minute walk.

Excursions-Highly recommend Ecological Divers for snorkeling Trips. They can hook you up with Steve, Ernest, and Keith for a catamaran sailing trip. For a trip to the Mayan ruins, we highly recommend Geo at Extreme Adventures.

Overall-If you are planning a trip to San Pedro, Coco is a great facility with a GREAT pool. A great pool is very important as the beaches are less than ideal. Due to the lack of restaurant and front desk, you have to trek to find whatever it is you may need. Again, pay to have the groceries delivered. As I stated before the rooms are very well appointed. Take advantage of them to have your morning coffee and happy hour!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmmk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Our vacations are always at the beach, and most are absolutely fantastic. Until we stayed at CocoBeach on Ambergris Caye. This trip reset our standard of excellence and can only be described as unforgettable! Every aspect of our trip was awesome: the friendly locals, the amazing scenery, the perfect weather, the incredible food, the exciting activities, the beauty of the resort and the hospitality of the staff, plus the ease of the ability to relax and unwind held us spellbound for the entire 7 days that we were there. We fell in love with Ambegris Caye and when we left, we left a little part of ourselves there. We hated to leave and will absolutely, positively return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sule26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, FL
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I am in the hotel industry (not affiliated with this property) My Company
Manages 80 hotels in the USA and over 10,000 rooms. I can say that this
Property is FIRST CLASS! The room and appointments are great. The location
Provides a barrier from the hustle of the Towne of San Pedro. The pool is
Refreshing and relaxing. Our room was as nice as my home. Large, open and had a great view. The Staff was great and friendly and I had no issues. When you travel outside of the US you never know what to expect. I can tell you that you could not find a better place in the US. The room had a dining room, full kitchen with Granite counters, Stainless appliances and all the needs to cook a gourmet dinner. Great Master Suite with double shower and more. The living room, Dining room and patio had great furniture and two plasma TVs with 80 channels. Everyone was like a family at the hotel sitting around the pool area. My wife and 11 year old son would have stayed another week if we could. It was my second trip to Belize and by far the best. I have traveled to 5 Central American countries and far and away the best accommodations. I do not think that a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton could have had
Better accommodations. If you are looking for a secluded First class resort this
Is the place. We live in a great dive spot in FL and we think it is like paradise at home, however this was even better.

With the above being said there are some warnings. If you want night life this
Is not the place for you. You have to go into Town (easy to get to by water taxi) to have night life. There is no shortage in town. Food service is available at the sister resort next store and they will deliver, however they do not have food at the resort. The food was good but not gourmet. There were some restaurants nearby but not at the Resort. The hours for the pool bar are limited and it closes at 7:00. There was also no coffee available for early risers? That is the down side however small for Coco Beach.

We went diving for three days and Billy, Leroy and Felicito were great at the
Tuff n uff dock. We also took an inland trip to cave tube and see the Mayan
ruins. The dive master was great and the trips wonderful. They were very
Accommodating to all.

In conclusion, if you are looking for a top notch resort, you cannot go wrong.
If you add coffee in the morning and a restaurant this place would be unbeatable. You can buy coffee (there is a coffee maker) and food in town and bring to the resort and all would be
perfect! I would come back again next week if I could.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSWCONSULT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed in 2 different hotels on the island before we settled here at Coco Beach. My wife and I explored the entire island and looked at all the different options before deciding stay here. By far the best pool with and excellent bar and a very accommodating staff. Thank you Sandra and Fernando . We were lucky enough to get a casita to stay in which absolute paradise. Really well done construction with beautiful combination of granite and wood. Very romantic will all the amenities close by. You will not be disappointed. I have my company annual sales trip down there in January and I will look into booking my staff at coco beach resort.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick-Doherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
7.2 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
870 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
460 reviews
3.9 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing