We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Terrazas Resort
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I traveled to Belize for an anniversary vacation. We stayed one week and got a honeymoon package. We flew to Belize City, took a local flight to San Pedro and then a water taxi to Las Terrazas. There were few guests when we arrived but the resort filled as we got closer to the weekend. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo with a sun deck and a cold plunge pool. The rooms were clean and well appointed. A full kitchen was available but we ate most of our meals at the restaurant on-site.

The staff was very friendly and attentive. We ate most of our dinners outside at tables arranged around the pool. The food was excellent. On our anniversary, a special dinner was prepared on the roof of the restaurant as the sun set. A highlight of the trip was a sunset sail on a 48' catamaran (which was included in our package). The beaches were clean and the water warm. The barrier reef blocks almost all wave action - so there's no sound of surf - and lots of seaweed growing in the shallow waters.

All in all, a nice location to get away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2011

Just got back from a weeks stay at Las Terrazas and we are already missing it. This was our first time in Belize and we stayed at Las Terrazas because of a Skyauction deal we won. The thing that most impressed us was just how friendly and helpful every single staff member was. From the resort boat that picked you up to the front desk to the restaurant every staff member made a point to introduce themselves,get our name and shake hands. We are fortunate enough to enjoy a fly away vacation about 3-4 times a year to some very nice locations and it is very seldom we encounter this type of welcome from resort staff.
Going on to the resort itself, it looks just like the pictures on the website. We stayed in a one bedroom garden unit that was well equipped and in excellant condition which provided plenty of room for the two of us. There are no tubs in these units but the showers were fine. The deck outside your door was a great place to enjoy your morning breakfast. There is a small exercise room with well maintained equipment which we used everyday having to wait on someone else was never an issue. the swimming pool is also well maintained and for our week never crowded at all.
The beach is a beautiful white sand with plenty of palms throughout once again the beach was never crowded and the lounge chairs included shade also well maintained. The only downside is that this is not a walk into the ocean beach. The turtle grass extends from the waters edge out about to the end of the 300 foot dock where even with water shoes this is not a pleasant experience. Now at the end of the dock in about 4-6 feet of water the bottom is clear and a great place to float around on a raft or life jacket but you need to use the dock stairs to get in and out. This is the case on just about the whole island of Ambergris Caye so if a walk in beach is a deal breaker for someone you will be disappointed if you come.
For activities you must be a snorkler or diver to appreciate Ambergris Caye. The marine life is spectacular. We used White Sands dive shop next to the resort for our snorkle trips and they were some of the best we ever took. Our guide was a young man named Pedro who did a great job if he is your guide be sure to tip him well, he works hard to show you as much as possible as he swims with you on your snorkle. We also used the resort provided kayaks and Hobie cat to cruise the water and it was a relaxing experience. There is no night life unless you go to San Pedro which we never did.
We brought a lot of our own dry foods to eat in the condo and picked up some fresh fruit and bread when we arrived in San Pedro so we only ate at the O restaurant twice both times the meals were good and service excellant. It is a bit on the pricey side but considering the location it is to be expected. Dinner for two without alcohol ran about $60 US for us.
All in all it was a great trip if you enjoy a quiet relaxing location. To give a perspective on our demograhic we are a married couple 62 and 59 years old. If you have children who need a lot of activity or if you need a Cancun like experience this is not your place. But if you enjoy a nature based relaxed experience in a first class resort with a friendly staff that truly cares. This is your place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmbg73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I traveled here with my boyfriend and his family. #1 thing I liked about it, the staff and EVERYONE on the island were soooooo nice and well-mannered. Over our stay we got to know the staff very well and they knew us by names. His family is big into scuba diving, but I'm not able to due to health problems. However, I was happily surprised to find that there were so many more things to do. We kayaked every day out to the barrier reef. We would just hop off the kayak, dive into the crystal clear water, and immediately be greeted by tropical fishes, rays, and other sealife. It was phenomenal. It's a great family resort, theres not many club or hangout places, except the "Jaguar," which you have to go to by boat taxi. The ONLY thing I can complain about it how the only way to get around the island is by water taxi. But it's not a real problem.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keljones91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I had a wonderful stay at Las Terrazas. The room was incredible, the pool was amazing and the staff was extremely friendly. My sister held her wedding at the resort and it was the most beautiful scenes I have ever seen. Lorraine Smiley was easy to work with and took care of all of our arrangements

Room Tip: I recomend using Lorraine Smiley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iris730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I just returned from my son's wedding at Las Terrazas Resort and I loved it. The staff was just gracious, customer service was excellent and I loved the Accommodations. I highly recommend this resort and I will return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaB102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I was at Las Terrazas for a wedding. From the moment we boarded the boat in San Pedro we were treated like royality. I was very impressed as our boat was docking at Las Terrazas, we were greeted with drinks and wet hand towels. The entire staff was very professional, friendly and available for assistance. The accomodations were excellent. I plan to return.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I went to Las Terrazas with my husband and another couple. Lorraine, the resort's reservation manager helped us plan the most perfect trip. She answered all of our questions in a timely fashion, arranged the taxis from the international airport and set us up in the best unit, # 36 (a 3 bedroom corner condo with amazing ocean views). The staff was so friendly and knowledgeable. I loved that when we sat by the pool, the staff didn't annoy us every second asking us to buy drinks. Coming from NYC, it's nice to be at a quiet and laid back resort. Things we loved and highly recommend:
1. Renting golf carts at the resort to go to San Pedro town and Mata Grande grocery store. We got all our essentials at Mata Grande
2. Walking the beach to Capricorn's (take a right on the beach and walk for 15 minutes) for lunch on the beach. The fish tacos and crab cakes are not to be missed.
3. HIGHLIGHT Activity on the mainland Actun Tunichil Muknal (ATM) cave - A MUST for adventurous travelers (hiking, swimming and climbing in a cave to get to the famous Mayan site where they did ceremonies. The artifacts, still intact from 1000s of years ago tell their many stories....BREATH TAKING!!!! Maurice at reception booked our trip. We chartered a private tour. If you love history, hiking, flora & fauna, swimming and beautiful sights this is the most thrilling trip to go on.
4. Snorkeling at Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray alley - Go to the dive shop on the beach. AMAZING
5. Dinner at Las Terrazas O restaurant was OK. The service was great but coming from NYC the food was just OK. What we did LOVE about O restaurant was the journey cakes they serve at breakfast. We loved it so much that we ordered fresh journey cakes daily to our room. However, for dinner I would recco exploring the town for other options. The wine bar next door was delicious. When you get to the beach take a left and you can't miss it. The decor inside is so cozy and the food was delicious.
6. Kayaking out to the Barrier Reef in the morning. Bring your snorkel gear or you can just enjoy a nice swim

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NikkiAllisonNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.8 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
238 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
1.4 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £296 - £696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is the only member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts in Belize and part of the LVX Collection. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. Take advantage of our FREE Amenities including Paddle Boards, Kayaks, Hobie Cats, an Aqua Bike, Bicycles and Yoga Mats. Golf Cart Rental is available to explore the island and town of San Pedro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing