We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Terrazas Resort
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Upton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My company selected Ambergris Caye and Las Terrazas for our Sales Achievement Club destination - a 5 day event to recognize our top sales performers and their guests. As an event planner, I know the devil lives in the details and this event demands excellence from start to finish. It was a flawless execution and an amazing experience for guests who described it as "#AWESOME". The resort managers and staff rolled out the red carpet and graciously accommodated all requests and last minute changes. Their commitment to above the bar customer satisfaction made my job easier and it was a delight to work with them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze_Skinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    131
    33
    4
    6
See reviews for
269
348
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a romantic getaway to Belize for our first Valentine’s Day and our first trip as a couple. Upon first arrival I was highly impressed as we were greeted with drinks as the staff gave us a personal tour of the resort and escorted us to our room. We stayed in a 3 bedroom pent house suite with what appeared to be a Jacuzzi on the balcony but later I was sadly mistaken as the water temperature is not controlled and was cold most of the time so we only used it on the last day.

The first day we hung out by the pool and enjoyed drinks all day. Unfortunately, we had to purchase a ton of these overpriced watered down drinks in order to feel a buzz. The food was just okay for the price you pay and the stuffed are hot as hell so beware. The restaurant next door had great food but was still a little pricey. The internet in our room NEVER worked and even after we complained it still was not fixed. So in order to use the internet at night we had to go to the front area to gain access and were severely bitten by mosquitoes. The front desk completely shuts down at 9pm, so good luck with getting any issues resolved after hours, because they are just going to tell you “we will fix it tomorrow”. The DVD player which came without a remote also only worked on a select few movies and the movies were boot leg (literally). You had to go to the front desk to check out movies. The satellite dish also only worked half the time. The water in the master bedroom never got hot, and the $4 bottle water which was filtered, was HORRIBLE. We ended up going to the grocery store to stock up on water and groceries. We rented a golf cart to do some site seeing and were not made aware of any traffic laws or parking requirements. Things shut down pretty early and you have to pay a fair to cross the bridge both ways. The trip into town was EXTREMELY bumpy but we still managed to enjoy ourselves until we received a parking citation with 2 violations costing us an additional $45 U.S. dollars.

Now for the worst part of the whole trip: On the morning of Valentines my boyfriend ordered a dozen roses to be delivered to me but I never received them. We also paid $165 for a couples massage on the beach with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The massage was nice but the strawberries they gave us after the massage were old and soft. Upon arrival to the hotel we made reservations well in advance for Valentine’s dinner. On the evening of Valentine’s Day the restaurant was fully booked. We were seated at a table for four away from the pool, which was the main attraction along with a live band. We did not have a torch or lantern at our table to keep the mosquitoes away so we politely asked them to sit us at another table. We ended up waiting an additional 45 minutes while they sat all the other guests. The hostess tried to make it up to me by giving me a few long stem roses, however all the other ladies received roses upon sitting. The dinner ended up taking over 2 hours and the tall male hostess/manager argued with me and made me feel like I was wrong. Prior to leaving I requested a meeting with the general manager to express my concerns and I was given nothing but excuses as to the way things are done in what he referred to as “a third world country”.

This resort is definitely not worth the price and the customer service from the hotel staff is mediocre and there is no sense of urgency to accommodate the guests. For the price we paid for the trip we could have taken 2 amazing vacations to an all-inclusive resort or stayed at a local vacation and received much better customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laylee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasTerrazasTeam, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and apologize for the inconveniences that you suffered during your stay. We will not attempt to make any excuses for our shortcomings in meeting your expectations, however we would like you to address some of your comments.
•The soaker tubs are never referred to as Jacuzzi’s on making your reservation. These are designed for cooling off from a hot day’s sun.
•The logistics of ordering supplies to our island paradise is reflected in our food and beverage prices which are standard for resorts in Belize. Our beverages are never watered down however ice does melt quickly in our hot climate.
•Internet issues are promptly remedied by our in house technician if we know about them. We have no record of you notifying our Front Desk.
•Expectations of 24 hour desk service is taken as a constructive recommendation; although not common for this destination. Guests are provided with an after hour service phone number as well as a direct contact number for the on site manager in the event of an emergency.
•The cable company that provides our service does loose satellite connectivity at times on a few stations. Generally the signal is restored in a few minutes.
•Guests do have to go to the front desk to select a movie from our library of titles. We do apologize for your inconvenience.
•Bottled water is not free nor has it ever been referred to as horrible. We do provide an endless supply of cold water and ice from our reverse osmosis plant in every unit refrigerator.
•The road is an adventure and very bumpy in spots which is pointed out on renting a golf cart. Traffic citations for speeding or illegal parking should be expected anywhere in the world.
•Ordering roses on Valentine’s Day morning on an island in Central America is just not going to happen again due to supply and logistics. We preordered roses for our Valentines special dinner weeks before the date and we are happy that our server was able to provide you with a bouquet after dinner service ended.
•We ordered strawberries from the mainland for a Valentines treat and although a little overripe when dipped in our local dark chocolate they were extremely tasty. We understand your dissatisfaction however, yours was the only complaint.
•We set extra tables in our poolside courtyard for our Valentines special dinner which was totally sold out. We dressed the extra tables with lanterns and our regular tables located under the lit up canopied pergolas were dressed with candles. We do apologize that your reserved table location was not to your liking. I am happy that your server was able to have a table from inside the restaurant moved outside to the location of your choice and a lantern was located, filled and brought to your table. This did take some time to set up and we apologize for the time delay in service that you mention. I am also pleased that after all ladies had received a rose marking the special Valentines occasion that we had some extras that were brought to your table at the request of your boyfriend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

All I can say is wow! The service, amenities, cleanliness, all were unparalleled. I've traveled to many beachfront resorts and Las Terrazas is top notch. The staff went out of their way to make sure our week went perfectly. The facilities were immaculate, and our three bedroom rental was always clean and comfortable. Every meal Nolvin, the chef at O, prepared was delicious and he made special preparations for our group. The entire staff was always on point, but Nigel and Manuel shined in their attention to making our trip wonderful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I was on a family vacation here a couple weeks ago -- feels like a lifetime ago now -- and just want to confirm what everyone else is saying: this place is gorgeous and very relaxing.

It is far enough removed from San Pedro that you don't have a lot of foot traffic coming through, although you'll see locals glide by on their bikes every day before and after work. The snorkeling trips are a must, the massages are pretty good and the rooftop bar is a fantastic way to end the night. If you don't feel like moving for a day just kick back on the hotel's beach with a cold drink in your hand. I could stare at the stunningly blue water for hours!

A big shout out to Leron, who helped gather bikes for our group of 7 every morning. He really made Las Terrazas stand out and will be a great memory for our family. Albert at the rooftop bar was also the man, keeping the bar open a bit later than normal for us to enjoy a few more delicious cocktails and Belikins.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkDiGi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We recently took a family vacation to Belize and spent four nights in the rainforest and four nights here, at Las Terrazas. There were seven of us, and we stayed in a 3 bedroom beachfront condo -- it was absolutely gorgeous. We were steps from the beach AND from the gorgeous food.

While the location was paradise, it was the people that made this a memorable trip. A few shout-outs are in order, as their service was exceptional:

1) First and foremost, Leron. He seemed to be everywhere and helped us with bikes, restaurant recommendations, advice on trips and generally made us feel incredibly welcome. He has a great demeanor and was always a smiling face -- and more importantly someone that delivered exceptional customer service.

2) Kahrim, Bernie and Lucely at the O Restaurant all stood out in terms of making us feel like family at the restaurant.

3) Albert, showed us two incredible nights at the rooftop bar above the O Restaurant. He went above and beyond to make our group of 7 comfortable, recommending drinks and also chatting with us.

It was a dream vacation and these folks made it a real dream. Can't wait to go back some day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ninjapirate83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

came here for a wedding. we were greeted with refreshments (with optional rum infusion), massages, and a tour of the resort. the staff were, and continued to be, some of the nicest people we came across. the rooms were beautiful, the pool was amazing and the breakfast burrito...holy smokes. the wedding ceremony was amazing, the food was equally so. would recommend to anyone willing to spring for the extra luxury.

Room Tip: get a room with a kitchenette. make your own food and save some cash!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The resort itself was great. The room was large (we had a 2 bedroom). We didn't have a real ocean view, but we didn't mind. There was always plenty of room at the pool and the beach. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed happy hours by the pool. The drive to the resort via golf cart was a little daunting, but we made it safely and were able to enjoy our stay by driving around to see the sights and try restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
5.5 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Property: Las Terrazas Resort
Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing