We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Terrazas is definitely a "Gem" in Ambergris Caye”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Terrazas Resort
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Las Terrazas is definitely a "Gem" in Ambergris Caye”
Reviewed 16 June 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at Las Terrazas and had a fantastic vacation! Upon arriving to the resort via their own water taxi service, we were totally captivated by the beautiful architecture and the perfect blend of palapas and Belizean wood throughout the resort. We stayed in a Garden Terrace Suite, which was beautifully appointed with a residential appeal. Our 2-bedroom suite conveniently overlooked the pool area and had a spacious second-floor balcony, where we enjoyed our daily sunrise and sunset. The Suites were well-accommodating as well with a full-size kitchen which the staff can stock with your list of "groceries", which I highly recommend. It was nice relaxing with a few comfort snacks throughout our stay. We were also surprised to learn of the complimentary continental breakfast, hi-speed internet and use of water equipment. My husband truly enjoyed using the kayak and catamaran in the shallow water, only steps away from our door. The Staff members were very gracious and accommodated all our requests to assist with excursions (Hol Chan Marina and Parasailing are a must!) and dinner reservations. Overall, I highly recommend staying at Las Terrazas as you will experience it is truly a home away from home (with added benefits of a great staff, location and views). We look forward to returning later this summer to experience "O" restaurant and their spa, which was under construction during the time of our visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope4LuxuryTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    132
    33
    4
    6
See reviews for
269
351
11
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penn Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2009

My husband and I enjoyed every minute of our time at Las Terrazas and exploring Belize, from shopping in San Pedro, kayaking to the reef and snorkeling and experiencing Lamanai Mayan ruins. But the highlight of our vacation was the candlelight dinner on the beach and the amazing 4-course dinner prepared by chef Giovanni. It was truly an incredible evening. Our accommodations were spacious, elegant and well-appointed and the staff very accommodating and knowledgeable. Thank you! We would definitely recommend Las Terrazas!
The only negative regarding the island - the water and water life is valued and protected, but the land along the dirt road by the lagoon is disgusting with lots of debris. So for a pristine view, stay on the beach side of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPTraveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

A wonderful new hotel on the north side of the island. The rooms are beautiful, the grounds are nice. They are new and still under construction so they are working some things out. The staff was very friendly, although sometimes it was hard to get what you asked for. The restaurant is not open yet, but it was hardly a problem with places all near that you can walk to. One think I was surprised by is that they do not refill your small shampoo when you are finished. You have to pay for it... I would not find this a problem in a condo -- but in a hotel it is not acceptable. Once they work out all of their kinks this place will be great.

If you like taking cooking classes-- ask them to contact Sherlette at the Upper Deck and she will be happy to teach you Belizean food. I would not miss this!

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SSemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynStone, Manager at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2009
We sincerely appreciate the comments provided by this recent guest and had the opportunity to "dicuss" this further by e-mail. While her comments were mostly positive, we did want to clarify that it is not the policy of Las Terrazas Resort to charge for additional amenities. Additionally, the resort opened in the fall of 2007. There is no construction on site, with the exception of finalizing the interior of O Restaurant, which is expected to open later this summer. We are happy to report that as this is interior work there are no construction issues to detract from an enjoyable stay at Las Terrazas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We originally booked the Journey's End Resort through Luxury Link (note to fellow travelers - worst booking agency I've ever used!). The Journey's End was closing in 3 weeks, and the rooms showed lack of attention. One comment to the staff and they moved us to Las Terrazas. What a FABULOUS resort. The staff is amazing. Our room was in perfect condition. This place is really is secluded. Don't expect a night life. Don't expect a "beach scene". If you want complete relaxation and great service, book Las Terrazas. But don't book through LuxuryLink!!!! It was my daughter's birthday trip. We loved every minute!!!! One other note, the resort has internet access, but the TV reception was spotty. Not that it mattered to us - we spent every moment at the beach or pool.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmm_mim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange county, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We just got back from a wonderful trip to Belize and stayed a few nights at Las Terrazas Resort. Like the other users said, the restaurant is not open yet and Phase 2 of the resort construction has stalled. The rooms are very good for the price you pay. We had a 3-bedroom 2-bath condo over 2-stories with a roof top balcony view of the lagoon, ocean and pool. The condo does have 2 large plasma tvs with full lineup of cable tv channels (no HD). The beds and linen are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are modern looking and large elegant showers. The kitchen have modern stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. There are some cups and plates in the cabinets but the cookware was old and rusty (maybe just for that particular unit). There is a washer/dryer unit in the condo so that was very convenient. The pool area was very nice and clean. There's a bar right next to the pool for drinks. Service was good and staff was very friendly and willing to help. Breakfast was simple - fruits and bread and cereal. nothing hot.
Recommendations for people planning to stay here: There's a island ferry that comes every hour or two to transfer you from San Pedro to Las Terrazas. It's not cheap - $8 each way, but it's cheaper than what we did - we took a private water taxi owned by Journey's End which cost $20 per person each way. For restaurants around the hotel, we ate at Luna's (Journey's End) which was pricey and not good at all. Rendevous, which is almost right next to Las Terrazas was very good. The Pad Thai was excellent - I know, shoot me for eating Thai food at Belize. San Pedro had more and better food choices, but you'll have to pay $16 for the island ferry round trip. We booked our excursions through White Sands Dive Shop at Journey's End, which was pricey but it was convenient. I'd recommend Ho Chan/ Shark Ray Alley but not the Tranquility Bay excursion because it was everything but "tranquil." Maybe it was the windy weather but the currents were too strong and made swimming in it very difficult and probably not safe.
The water that comes out of the faucets/shower has a strong sulfur (rotten eggs) smell, which was weird and annoying.
Overall our stay was pleasant and relaxing. Due the bad economy, Ambergris Caye was almost deserted. there are very few people around which was kinda spooky at times, but if you enjoy privacy, it's great. I'd stay there again if I ever visit Belize.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

This place was great! Belize has been hit by the economic slowdown, so getting a room at this hotel is much easier than normal. Definitely recommend it for a gorgeous, relaxing getaway.
Pros:
-Beautiful pool area
-Friendly & helpful staff
-Impecable rooms - new, enourmous, granite countertops, full kitchens, king size beds, LCD TVs
-Far enough from San Pedro - (kind of run down there but fun to visit)
-Full access to Journey's End, so 2 hotels in one.
-Scuba next door
-Free breakfast - fairly basic, but good (having eggs or a waffle would have been nice)
-Free internet - wired in rooms and wireless at pool
-Free kayaks

Neutral:
-Restaurant is being renovated, but can walk to Journey's End or get room service. 3 minute walk from the property.
-Not tons to do around hotel, but this is typical of the island. Pool, scuba/snorkel, kayak, eat/drink, fising, go to San Pedro, Belize City, Cave Tubing, or Mayan Ruins, etc.
-You have to take a boat to get anywhere else, but that is true of all the hotels except for in San Pedro. However, hotels in San Pedro didn't seem worth staying at anyway.

Cons:
-Phase 2 isn't finished, so there is a dividing wall up which isn't pretty
-Gym is small but typical of small hotels. Walk/jog on the beach instead.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We very much enjoyed our time at this beautiful new property. Staff is professional and friendly, very helpful with questions before and during your stay. For divers, access to nearby White Sands dive shop is literally seconds away. For those interested in fishing, the many nearby piers and flats are patrolled by quality bonefish, these can be caught on flies or medium weight spinning tackle. Be sure to spend some time in San Pedro, those who are willing to explore local flavors will find that some fantastic experiences are to be had.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anglor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
5.5 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Property: Las Terrazas Resort
Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing