We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Paradise for Sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Terrazas Resort
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Paradise for Sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We have just returned from an INCREDIBLE vacation in Belize. We stayed on the island Ambergris Caye at the Las Terrazas Resort. This resort, the island, the excursions, & the crystal clear aqua water were truly a paradise. We stayed in the #8 sea house right on the beach facing the sea with 2 teenage girls. It was a 2 story townhouse. The decorating was impecable-very Zen.
Amenities: Leather couches & contemporary furnishings, 3 beautiful bedrooms w/3 full beautiful bathsw/granite countertops. MB had private balcony facing sea & a circular cabana with a cover. The bed was carved with a beautiful pineapple design & exquisite bed linens. MB has a 2 person whirlpool tub & large glass shower. Tile/marble/granite throughout the house. Contemporary kitchen with stainless steel appliances. Large dining room & table. Lush wicker w/thickly padded chairs & lounges. There was an infinity pool that made you sigh. The staff could not do enough for us. Every request was immediately taken care of. There was also free wireless internet, free use of catamaran, kayaks, & bikes. There was a reef just off the resort which we kayaked to & snorkeled every chance we had. There were fish & lot of coral.
Cons: The resort is about 4 1/2 miles from the town of San Pedro. San Pedro is where all the shopping (food & otherwise) is located. You must do your shopping before 6pm if you rode your bike or drove a golf cart there because it gets dark at that time. There are no real roads & no street lights on the way bac to the resort. Otherwise you can take the water taxi at $7US pp each way! The kitchen required you to buy everything-paper towels ect. I brought my own ground coffee. Breakfast was $12US at the resort.
The expensive restuarants are north of San Pedro-at the resorts. A family of 4 would spend well over $100 US for a meal. In San Pedro the restuarants are more resonable & have great food. Elvi's kitchen was great along with the Hungry Croc. We also ate at Rojo's & Rendevous-great but expensive. For 5 of the 9 nights we made our own dinner with the fresh food we bought in San Pedro. Mangos-4 for 1 Belize dollar! Go to DandE's for THE BEST frozen custard!
We went on 4 excursions--The Blue Hole(snorkeling)-worth EVERY dollar-about $140pp US. We left 5:30am. It was the most breath taking 2hour & 15 min. boat ride to get there. We also snorkeled at the Lighthouse atoll & Half Moon Caye. This island had booby birds & they made us lunch there. It was as if we were snorkeling in an AQUARIUM! What fun!!!! The Lamanai Mayan Ruins/riverboat tour $160pp-fascinating-bought beautiful inexpensive handmade wood items in a village named Bomba. We went cave tubing/zip lining through the Baka jungle($230 US pp-exhilirating! These 3 were all day excursions & we were fed breakfast & lunch cooked by the crew. The Hol Chan snorkeling was $40US pp for 9-11:30am. We saw many types & schools of fish along with sea turtles, rays, & nurse sharks. Well worth the money!

It was a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBCMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    131
    33
    4
    6
See reviews for
269
348
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
209 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

We read that this is as good as it gets in Belize. And that might be right.
Suppose Las Terrazas is ok, but you should know it is far from a luxury place.
There are lots of small things that don't work the way you like them to, and if you think you have booked a luxury place (and that is what they try to sell it as) that is not what you want!
On their web site you get an image of the whole Las Terrazas - but that is not what you will find. There is a building site next to it - just half of the apartments are build. On the back there is a "sump" with rubbish and construction steel - so make sure your window is faced the other way!!
We stayed a week in April, family of five. Had one of the beach houses, the house was nice but you could already see visible wear and tear, and that just some months after opening? Seems like they have used low quality materials. Like the great sun bed at the balcony was rusted and did could not be placed in position (see photo), the table worked fine, but didn't look nice (photo).
We had a living roach in the kitchen, asked and get a bug spray. This can happen anywhere so it didn't bother us more.
The gym is not at all a gym - just a room, see photo. Make sure to go there in advance and turn the aircon ON otherwise it is baking hot in there!
The lawn is not maintained properly and is looking bad.
Bed in master bedroom are good, but VERY high. Worked fine for us, but if you have trouble getting in to a high bed your will have a problem!
Bathroom is nice but had an very unpleasant smell from the drain after every shower.
The breakfast was OK, you have to ask for what was missing, and they would give it to you (but not necessarily put it on the main table) but fairly good.
The bar was small and very expensive. Since you probably will enjoy your beer at the poolside anyway, save your self a lot of money and BYOB.
There is not a lot of dining options around. Some are quite expensive and some have a very limited menu. We had trouble finding something we wanted to eat at the end of the week.
Not very nice to swim – it is quite an exercise to kayak out to the reef, the waves are strong and it is difficult to swim out there too. Be careful!
We did not try the pool, it didn’t look clean, the water was not clear and they were working on the pump /filtration system two days.
The internet did not work without a cable, we were told there were wireless connection in the house. Not true. But they did lend us a cable. Don't think HIGH speed is the right word...but since it is holiday, just forget the PC :-)
If you bring your blackberry be aware that there is no connection at Ambergris Caye.
Lots of dogs around.
The ocean is beautiful too look at, a perfect tranquil and colorful scenery, it is just that the rest don’t really live up to what they tell you on the web site...
We recommend to take the plane at least one way. Great to see the surroundings. We had the boat from the airport and it saves you money and is ok, but it takes some time and is crowded!

Would we recommend it to a friend? No. We would prefer either a luxury place OR a smaller more charming place. This is neither nor

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynStone, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2009
We appreciate the time you took to desribe your April 2009 experience at Las Terrazas Resort. We value our guests and their comments and our resort General Manager, David Hesse is always available for any comments.

To address a few of your concerns, please note that the patio furniture you described is defective and currently in the process of being replaced by the factory.

Unfortunately, the month of April when you traveled, was unseasonably warm and the grass not as lush as typical. We have recently added more grass to the resort and transplanted many palms along the beach and around the pool from our neighboring property.

The sulphur smell from the shower has also been remedied by the drilling of a new water supply well.

Should any of our future guests book via a 3rd party booking site, we strongly encourage them (via this post) to contact our Houston office at 800-447-1553 to receive concise descriptions and information regarding the resort, the town of San Pedro and the island of Ambergris Caye. We walk each guest through the resort site map, describe the various room categories and explain that Phase 2 is not yet under construction with no plans in the immediate future. There is a "Las Terrazas" fence dividing Phase 1 (the existing 38 room luxury townhomes) from Phase 2 with no construction existing on the Phase 2 site.

Many thanks and happy travels!

Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Las Terrazas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
etown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

La Terrazas has many pluses. The residence is comfortable, roomy, and visually appealing. The hotel people are helpful and friendly. The kitchen has most everything you will need and having the washer/dryer means you don't have to pack so much. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom and beach towels are easy to get.

There are many good places to eat that are not too far. We ordered a lunch from Luna and it was tasty. It is brought to the resort for you.We did not get a dinner there as there were only 3 entrees and none appealed to us. You would need to walk there for dinner but it is next door. I understand that the entrees change daily. Rendevous was closed till August 1 while we were there. It is a close walk. It is a 25-30 minute walk down to Captain Morgan's restaurant/resort. We did not eat there so I do not know about the food. They have a small grocery store that anyone can shop in. It has snacks, drinks, canned milk and some other canned items. They have timeshares there and we were approached but they were not too pushy. Just a little past this is a restaurant called Capricorn. We heard that the food is very good there. On the way to both is a place called Upper Deck that is a bar/grill. A person staying at that resort said the food was soso.
The resort had a barbecue on Sunday right near the pool. It was good and reasonably priced.
You can go to San Pedro to eat. It costs $8 one way per person on a water taxi. There is a card you can buy that is cheaper if you intend on going to town often. It is $45 or $50 for a week. You can also go there to party as there isn't any nightlife at the resort.
We went to Mambo's and Portofino's to eat. They provide a "free" water taxi. The food is very good at both. My husband thought the lobster bisque at Portofino's was the best he ever had. It is about $100 for 2 and that is with only 1 drink. Men do not need long pants for any place we saw. Some menus are in U.S.$ and others in BZ$. The menu will tell you which it is.

Reading other comments made me think there was a free continental breakfast at the resort. That is not so. They must have had a small meal plan. It is $7 for the continental breakfast and $12 for eggs, sausage, beans, added to it. I asked twice about this.

Hol Chan/Shark Alley are musts for snorkeling. My husband asked several times about diving The Blue Hole since we were only there for 4 nights. They told him Sunday someone would have a boat going out. They only go if they have at least 8 people so it often involves several resorts working together to provide a trip. Turns out they had a boat go out from another place on Sat. and there was room on it. My husband was not notified of this.They don't write much down. Sunday they did not have enough people so we went home without doing the one thing we came mainly for. What a huge disappointment!!!

The beach has much seaweed and is not nice to go in. A few people went off the pier but even that was pretty loaded with seaweed. Most everyone hangs out at the pool. It is a great pool. Luckily the resort was not crowded or shaded areas would be gone fast. None of the resorts had many people at them.

I brought a number of lunch type microwavable foods from home such as soup, mac and cheese. Also took laundry sheets, dishwasher packets, drink packets, and snacks. It helped with the cost. You are allowed to bring 1 liter bottle of liquor/ wine per person on check in bag. I had packed a 3 liter box of wine not knowing the rule but did not have any trouble with this.

It costs about $36 per person to leave the island. They will take cash or Visa. I think Mastercard also but I wasn't paying attention to this.
Hope this helps!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliekEtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

What a wonderful trip to Belize! I was looking for a small-intimate boutique type resort on the island of Ambergris Caye and realized I had made the perfect choice. You are greeted at the airstrip and the taken to the pier for your private launch to the resort. What a beautiful journey it was and Mario was the best captain! We made the short ride to the resort to be greeted with a drink and many smiles....the staff was very attentive and always available. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/3 bath unit and from the minute we first stepped in...we knew we would love this place. I loved all of the furniture and decorations but my favorite part was the awesome deck! The wifi in the lobby, the infinity pool, the wonderful continental breakfast, the great guys at the dive shop and just meeting all the other guests made this a great vacation. What I discovered about Belize is that it is a very casual destination...but sometimes, you still want all the nice ammenties that go along with those new resorts...so If you are looking for a new, beautifully furnished room at a small-intimate resort than Las Terrazas is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escape2havefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

I wanted to take a moment to tell everyone how delightful our wedding and stay was at Las Terrazas. Every employee from the pool bartender, Maureen at Journey’s End restaurant, Oval’s wife, the different boat drivers, even the maintenance staff were all courteous, helpful, and genuinely seemed to care how each one of us were doing. Both of the managers from Las Terrazas & Journey's End accommodated our every request, they were also Johnny on the spot to produce results or provide answers to our questions. Not once did Oval & Cural say no and they always had a smile. Our wedding turned out just like a dream destination wedding from a magazine ad! The location, setup, and presentation was absolutely beautiful for both the ceremony and the reception. The wedding cake I ended up with was 10x better than the cake I had originally selected from the picture choices. In addition my cake had been elegantly decorated in the colors I requested and matched my flower color choices perfectly. Oval and his wife stayed throughout the entire ceremony and reception, they made sure everything went smoothly and even took extra pictures of the ceremony and reception for us. Each one of our guests had the best time at the reception and said the crab cakes were some of the best they had tasted. Everyone also said the resort was top notch and told us we made a great choice by choosing Las Terrazas (even our most critical guests)! This was truly the most stress free perfect wedding a couple could have asked for. Thank you for taking over all of the planning and a big thanks to all the staff members at Las Terrazas!

We will definitely come again and we will be telling everyone how great Belize and Las Terrazas are!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaseBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at Las Terrazas and had a fantastic vacation! Upon arriving to the resort via their own water taxi service, we were totally captivated by the beautiful architecture and the perfect blend of palapas and Belizean wood throughout the resort. We stayed in a Garden Terrace Suite, which was beautifully appointed with a residential appeal. Our 2-bedroom suite conveniently overlooked the pool area and had a spacious second-floor balcony, where we enjoyed our daily sunrise and sunset. The Suites were well-accommodating as well with a full-size kitchen which the staff can stock with your list of "groceries", which I highly recommend. It was nice relaxing with a few comfort snacks throughout our stay. We were also surprised to learn of the complimentary continental breakfast, hi-speed internet and use of water equipment. My husband truly enjoyed using the kayak and catamaran in the shallow water, only steps away from our door. The Staff members were very gracious and accommodated all our requests to assist with excursions (Hol Chan Marina and Parasailing are a must!) and dinner reservations. Overall, I highly recommend staying at Las Terrazas as you will experience it is truly a home away from home (with added benefits of a great staff, location and views). We look forward to returning later this summer to experience "O" restaurant and their spa, which was under construction during the time of our visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope4LuxuryTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

My husband and I enjoyed every minute of our time at Las Terrazas and exploring Belize, from shopping in San Pedro, kayaking to the reef and snorkeling and experiencing Lamanai Mayan ruins. But the highlight of our vacation was the candlelight dinner on the beach and the amazing 4-course dinner prepared by chef Giovanni. It was truly an incredible evening. Our accommodations were spacious, elegant and well-appointed and the staff very accommodating and knowledgeable. Thank you! We would definitely recommend Las Terrazas!
The only negative regarding the island - the water and water life is valued and protected, but the land along the dirt road by the lagoon is disgusting with lots of debris. So for a pristine view, stay on the beach side of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPTraveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
5.5 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Property: Las Terrazas Resort
Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing