We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place to Stay”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The Phoenix Resort is gorgeous, modern, and immaculate. The food at the Red Ginger (the on site restaurant) is delicious. The poolside drinks are tasty and affordable. The dual level pool overlooking the ocean is a dream. The location (right in town but with that "away from it all" feeling) is perfect. But what makes this place truly special is the staff. They are attentive, informative, and friendly. You will truly feel cared for. I've traveled to over 30 countries in the last 10 years. I've stayed in lodging ranging from hostel to homestay to 5 star resort. And I have never stayed anywhere that had better customer service then The Phoenix. A giant thanks to Pam, Rose, Gabe, and Stacey for making our stay there so special. We will not soon forget you!!

Other tips: if you are coming to dive, we found Ecological Divers (right next door to The Phoenix) to be professional and fun. There are tons or dive shops along the beach, but this is the only one that is a 5 star PADI facility. We dove with them several days and loved it. Also, right down from the dive shop and the hotel is Lily's. Eat here for breakfast. And order a banana shake.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhinMatouka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2011

We had our 6 and 9 year old sons with us here and it was great. The pools were fun and clean and Stacey had great advice and set us up on fun and kid friendly tours. It is right in the heart of town but the hotel is stil quiet. The rooms are beautiful. We were bummed there were tvs in every room as we wanted our kids to get away but I'm sure that many people love this. You can walk to all the restaurants near by and really get the feel of the town. I recommend this place! The Red Ginger was a bit dead but the island was slow that week. I preferred other restaurants with more atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I realize this is a little late but once I got back to reality........There is very little I can say about the Phoenix that hasn't already been said. It was a very relaxing girls getaway! We had a fabulous time the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. I was extremely nervous about the small plane to the island, but is was a fear I overcame quite quickly, in fact it became my goal to sit up with the pilot (a goal I did not reach). We had great Sushi at Blue Water Grill, Kelly is just adorable. Red Ginger was amazing. Snorkeling with Lil Alfonse is a must, very knowledgeable. Cave tubing and the Belize Zoo was worth the trip back to the mainland. The Phoenix made all the arrangements and a good time was had by all. The rooms are unbelievable and the view of the ocean and the pool is most relaxing. I loved the fact that I always felt safe and could be out walking on the beach in the late evening. The Phoenix is definitely on my list for a return visit.

Room Tip: Third floor with view of ocean & pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We had such a great time! This place is dream, staff was super great and the resort itself is to die for! Right in town and loved having access to town and felt safe at all times! Would love to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwards-miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

My boyfriend and I visited Belize for 4 nights in early March 2011. We chose to stay at The Phoenix Resort due to all of the exceptional reviews on TripAdvisor. We were thrilled to find that the reviews were spot on. Prior to our vacation, the hotel was very helpful (and quick) in answering our questions both via phone and e-mail. As others have shared, they also arranged our commuter plane on Tropic Air between Belize City and Ambergris Caye which was super smooth and quite beautiful. The taxi from the airport to the hotel was paid for by the hotel. Given the distance, the taxi would not have been expensive, but it was certainly a nice gesture and one less thing to worry about after having traveled for 10 hours.

The hotel is right in the middle of San Pedro, but while on the resort you feel as though you are further away. For us, this was a nice combination. We enjoy activity and like flexibility. The hotel allowed us to walk to different restaurants and bars at our choosing without waiting for a taxi or being on a schedule. We were given a two-bedroom, two-bath condo with a view of the pool and ocean. The condo was very clean and offered a full kitchen and nice features such as an iPod docking station so we could listen to our own music. The bed was also extremely comfortable and the sheets were cozy too.

The hotel had a nice selection of DVDs to choose from should you wish to watch a movie. We did not do this, but it was also a nice feature. They have a small gym, but it offered decent equipment and we used it every morning. They also have two computers with free Internet access. The pool is a good size and very clean. We never had an issue finding lounge chairs. There is a grocery store a couple blocks to the right as you exit the resort. This was great as we purchased our beer and other drinks there and saved some money. The grocery store offered a golf cart with a driver to take us back to the hotel with our heavy purchases. When we tried to tip the driver, he was slow to accept our money. We asked him to take the tip, but appreciated the fact that we weren't pressured. We found the food in Ambergris Caye to be average, but not terrific. We ate at the Blue Water Grill, Red Ginger, Fido's (great for outside dining and live music), Victoria House, and Rojo Lounge. I recommend each restaurant. Again I wouldn't categorize any of them as 5 star, but we always enjoyed our meals and the setting. The staff were courteous and professional as well.

We enjoyed long walks around town and down the "board walk" which is really just packed sand in front of the hotel. If you are looking for wide expansive beaches, this will not be the hotel for you, but the dock in front of the hotel offers access to the beautiful emerald green ocean and we found swimming off of the dock to be a lot of fun. The staff at The Hotel Phoenix are friendly and so helpful. While in town we purchased a rather large wood-carved sailboat. We assumed the hotel would ship it for us (of course we would pay for all charges). Unfortunately, they were not able to do so. However, Stacey, a hotel manager, took the time to find a solution for us and we were very appreciative of her help. We went to an art store called Orange in San Pedro and they took care of the shipping for us. They did ask us to purchase something from their store, but we knew that before arriving and were happy to do so as they had so many beautiful items at all price points. Our purchases arrived yesterday (three weeks from the date Orange sent us an e-mail telling us that they had mailed the items). We were so excited! Thank you very much Stacey and Orange for helping us. Now we have two beautiful sculptures to help us remember our fantastic trip to Belize.

Although short, our trip to Belize and, specifically, The Phoenix Resort, was relaxing and enjoyable. We highly recommend both the island and the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

The Phoenix is the best place to stay in San Pedro. We came to Belize to celebrate our one year anniversary and wanted to stay at a nice hotel. This place exceeded all of our expectations. The rooms are spotless and huge! Our view of the pool and ocean was beautiful. Housekeeping does a great job with keeping the rooms clean. We were actually given a 2 bedroom suite and had more than enough room for the two of us. The location is perfect. We were able to walk to most of the restaurants, bars, and even a grocery store. We rented our golf cart through The Phoenix, as the prices were about the same as any other golf cart rental. It was more convienent to go through them. We also booked our excursion through The Phoenix. We did a full day excursion of mayan ruins, zip-lining, and cave tubing. The prices were about the same as the others except you go with a private tour guide. We didn't have to deal with riding in a huge bus with tons of people. We just had to go with one other couple. The only thing we did not book through the hotel was our snorkling trip. We booked it through a local guy named Martin located just a few piers from The Phoenix. We were so glad we did because we had our own boat, avoided all the crowds, and he knew how to hold the sharks and sting rays.
This hotel is by far one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We honestly do not have any complaints! We plan on staying at The Phoenix next time we are in Belize.

Room Tip: You must call them directly to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoCoogsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay and, without repeating everything mentioned in earlier reviews, you will not be disappointed if you choose to stay at The Phoenix. Spacious well appointed condos with outstanding staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
388 reviews
2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
507 reviews
3.2 mi away
No photo provided
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#4 of 55 in San Pedro
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £178 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing