We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and special hotel - we loved it!!”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My husband and I just came back from Ambergris Caye where we stayed at the Phoenix for two weeks. We travel every year to different tropical resorts, Hawaii, Mexico etc and can say without any reservation whatsoever that this was the best hotel we have stayed at, period. Here's why:
1) The staff - from the moment I first contacted and spoke to Stacey to the last goodbyes at checkout - every single member of the staff was the best! Gracious, warm and professional is how we would describe the Phoenix team. They helped us plan our tours and made many many wonderful restaurant recommendations.
2) The room - they thought of everything plus we were upgraded to a 2bedroom which for two weeks was great as it gave us plenty of space. If we asked for a smaller pillow, we got it in 5 minutes, a thinner blanket - delivered in moments. Everything in the condo was top notch quality. The bed was very comfortable and HUGE, the kitchen had all the appliances any cook would need. We used the coffeemaker everyday and the microwave to warm food when needed.
3) The hotel location - being right in town, we could walk everywhere and when we needed to, we could take taxis or rent a golf cart. But - inside the hotel - it was serene and did not feel like we were in a busy town at all.
4) The restaurant, Red Ginger - had very good food and we ate or ordered room service from there - numerous times. Did not order anything that we did not like.
They also have sister restaurants, Blue Water Grill and Caliente and both were also very good.
5) Hotel facilities - the pool is beautiful and a great place to relax and read a book or just sit by the bar and chat with Ricky or Maurice. There is a spa onsite and I met Heather and she gave me a couple of awesome massages! We also had a cell phone which came in handy a couple of times. The IPAD was great too for surfing the net, now I want one for Christmas!

All in all we just thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Phoenix helped this busy Bay area couple reconnect with each other and relax and recharge during our vacation. We were sooo happy we found this unique and special place and HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mychinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

We spent our wedding anniversary here and had a great time. The arrival process was absolutely seamless. We landed in BZE, cleared customs (within minutes), checked in at Tropic Air, stepped on a plane, landed in Ambergis Caye and within 7 minutes were at the resort. The staff at the Phoenix were wonderful. The suite was gorgeous. Our bed was super confortable. We had an amazing kitchen so we were able to cook breakfast every morning. The suite also has an incredible blender so we made frozen rum cocktails for happy hour. The pool is beautiful!!! Absolutely sparkling clean.
Ambergris isn't much of a beach place like Florida but there are plenty of piers that allow you to jump into the beautiful Caribbean and snorkel and swim. There is a pier just left of the resort with a bar called Wet Willie's. We went there often and enjoyed the fish and the swimming. The Phoenix is located right where all the action is but it is super quiet!! I would love to go back!! The Red Ginger is incredible--we ate there twice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbiflys_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My husband and I just returned from our trip and I could wait to give my glowing review of the Phoenix Resort and their staff. We arrived last Friday and a taxi drove us from the airport. Our first impression of the town of San Pedro is that it feels a lot like a fishing village with a lot of small stores and buildings that are in need of quite a bit of repair but once you get to the Phoenix Resort, you are greeted by a very modern and clean resort with extremely friendly staff. When we first got there, the staff told us to make sure that we check with them first before going to restaurants as they know all the 'going ons' each day of the week and this was SO true. They even give you a local cell phone for use during your trip just in case you need to make a local call. They seriously think of everything!!

One of the best days spent was on a golf cart exploring the North end of the end and stopping by Lazy Crocs (only opened Fri, Sat & Sun) and spending four hours at the Palapa Bar - both recommendations from Pam at the front desk (she also recommended Lily's for their ceviche, which was also the best we had).

We will also miss Maurice, the nicest bartender in all of Ambergis Caye who introduced us to Coconut Leo and all of his acrobatic palm tree stunts. He also makes a mean Banana Daiquiri that taste like a banana split.

The resort also works directly with Alfonse who you might have seen on Samantha Brown from the Travel Channel. He took us out to Hol Chan Reserve and shark & Sting Ray Alley where we had the most amazing experience with nurse sharks and sting rays. My husband and I both HELD a nurse shark and watched Alfonse place a sting ray on his head!!

You will not find a nicer hotel near the heart of the town with a more helpful staff. Thank you Phoenix!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tawnysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The Phoenix was referred to me by a friend and I'm glad I stayed there during my visit to San Pedro. The grounds are kept perfectly landscaped, the pools are super inviting and the suites are amazingly comfortable. The staff is highly knowledgeable and eager to help and make sure you have an unforgettable visit to Belize. The front desk staff helped out several times when we needed directions or suggestions from tour guides, to dive shops and restaurants.
The resort is really close to all of the main bars and restaurants in town so it’s not necessary to rent a golf cart. You can go out and have fun, and stumble on home!
The Phoenix embodies what it means to deliver world class customer service. I highly recommend this resort and will definitely stay there in my future visits to San Pedro.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wholisa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Just returned from five night stay with my family (we have two college age kids). We had an ocean front two bedroom condo which was large, beautiful and well appointed. Perfect for family times. Large balconies. Staff is very friendly and ready to provide recommendations for meals and activities. Pool area looks out over the beautiful ocean where you watch the boats go by. Sea grass on beach right out front so we swam off the nearby dock when we wanted ocean water. Resort is ideal location. North end of town where things quiet down. You can walk to just about everything from Pheonix. Was fun to wake up and stroll down the beach to breakfast and the nearby restaurants. Estel's for breakfast is a must. One of us enjoyed the onsite gym every AM and location was also conducive for runs on the white sand beach.

Many thanks to the Pheonix entire staff for making our family vacation to Belize one of our best vacations ever!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OlyUSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Wonderful two bedroom for our first time in Belize. Couldn't have been better. Great location -quiet but right in town

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCF3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Its hard to add anything to the great reviews this hotel has, and they are all accurate. We had a 2 bedroom condo on the third floor with beautiful views of the water, huge balcony, beautiful teak cabinets and doors, the place was just lovely. Very clean and staff very helpful. We liked that we could walk to the town for dinner and church. We rented a golf cart one day that the hotel arranged and picked it up right there. We also took the snorkel trip with Alfonzo and that was the high light of the trip. I would highly recommend this condo to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
478 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £268 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing