We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views, great pools, helpful staff and spacious rooms in the heart of San Pedro!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful views, great pools, helpful staff and spacious rooms in the heart of San Pedro!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We traveled with my mom, 67, and our two young children- ages 6 and 3. The 2 bedroom condo exceeded our expectations. Very spacious, peaceful and comfortable. Nice layout of the other 30 condos if you are traveling with friends or other family. My kids LOVED the pools- one is very shallow, a larger pool and a lap pool. Remember there is no long sandy beach... however, there is a dock and little beach area for kids to play in with the locals! We thought the Phoenix had an exceptional staff that was very helpful and told us some of the local things to do around San Pedro. Beautiful place to stay right in town! We will be back :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    39
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
313
372
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

I cannot say enough great things about this resort! The staff = Friendly, Professional, Kind, Happy, Pleasant to be around, and a Blessing all around!!! The room blew me away! The kitchen was huge! My private shower and a Private Jaccuzzi was amazing! The lighting and decorative designs was superb! The greetings and professionalism from the staff are probably one of (if not the best) the best in THE WORLD! The great pool layout and design was amazing! The water in the ocean (right at the Resort) felt like bath water! The sinks and the Jaccuzzi bathtub's running water was SO SMOOTH outpouring, I am going to have to make sure that is how it is set-up in my house! lol - seriously! I couldn't even hear the water running it was so smooth and felt amazing! The food (PUSADA's - I thank Jesus for the staff member giving me that advice) was perfecto! All the restaraunts and local foods! TV's= HUGE! View = PEFECTION! STAFF Quality and Response time = JUST BEAUTIFULLY PERFECT! Beds - felt like I was sleeping in a palace! :) Lord Willing, I plan on coming back! God Bless and I pray Jesus continues to bless and keep you always! I thank Jesus for the amazing time I had there and for your absolute SUPERB Service! Highly recommend this as a place to stay whether you are a Solo, Couple, or Family! There is something for everyone there - no doubt! God Bless!

Room Tip: Perfection of Beauty, Relaxation, and Excitement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fb4817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Spent part of our 'minimoon' at The Phoenix in San Pedro for a couple of days.

Knowing we were honeymooning, General Manager had us upgraded to a fabulous condo. Totally unexpected but certainly appreciated.

The staff feels like a family and treat their guests as same. Absolutely first class.

The location of the resort is perfect for scuba, going out on the town, or exploring the island.

Nothing but positive for our entire stay. What more can you ask for?

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kokonutzFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Everything was perfect- from the moment we walked in and were greeted by Rose at the front desk, we knew this was the right choice. We only had two days/1 night to spend playing in Belize, and found this resort on Trip Advisor. All the reviews are right on the money- excellent location, service, amenities, and value. They set up snorkeling/scuba for us, pointed us to restaurants and bars in the area, and made our (too) short stay a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My husband and I just came back from Ambergris Caye where we stayed at the Phoenix for two weeks. We travel every year to different tropical resorts, Hawaii, Mexico etc and can say without any reservation whatsoever that this was the best hotel we have stayed at, period. Here's why:
1) The staff - from the moment I first contacted and spoke to Stacey to the last goodbyes at checkout - every single member of the staff was the best! Gracious, warm and professional is how we would describe the Phoenix team. They helped us plan our tours and made many many wonderful restaurant recommendations.
2) The room - they thought of everything plus we were upgraded to a 2bedroom which for two weeks was great as it gave us plenty of space. If we asked for a smaller pillow, we got it in 5 minutes, a thinner blanket - delivered in moments. Everything in the condo was top notch quality. The bed was very comfortable and HUGE, the kitchen had all the appliances any cook would need. We used the coffeemaker everyday and the microwave to warm food when needed.
3) The hotel location - being right in town, we could walk everywhere and when we needed to, we could take taxis or rent a golf cart. But - inside the hotel - it was serene and did not feel like we were in a busy town at all.
4) The restaurant, Red Ginger - had very good food and we ate or ordered room service from there - numerous times. Did not order anything that we did not like.
They also have sister restaurants, Blue Water Grill and Caliente and both were also very good.
5) Hotel facilities - the pool is beautiful and a great place to relax and read a book or just sit by the bar and chat with Ricky or Maurice. There is a spa onsite and I met Heather and she gave me a couple of awesome massages! We also had a cell phone which came in handy a couple of times. The IPAD was great too for surfing the net, now I want one for Christmas!

All in all we just thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Phoenix helped this busy Bay area couple reconnect with each other and relax and recharge during our vacation. We were sooo happy we found this unique and special place and HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mychinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We spent our wedding anniversary here and had a great time. The arrival process was absolutely seamless. We landed in BZE, cleared customs (within minutes), checked in at Tropic Air, stepped on a plane, landed in Ambergis Caye and within 7 minutes were at the resort. The staff at the Phoenix were wonderful. The suite was gorgeous. Our bed was super confortable. We had an amazing kitchen so we were able to cook breakfast every morning. The suite also has an incredible blender so we made frozen rum cocktails for happy hour. The pool is beautiful!!! Absolutely sparkling clean.
Ambergris isn't much of a beach place like Florida but there are plenty of piers that allow you to jump into the beautiful Caribbean and snorkel and swim. There is a pier just left of the resort with a bar called Wet Willie's. We went there often and enjoyed the fish and the swimming. The Phoenix is located right where all the action is but it is super quiet!! I would love to go back!! The Red Ginger is incredible--we ate there twice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbiflys_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona Del Mar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

My husband and I just returned from our trip and I could wait to give my glowing review of the Phoenix Resort and their staff. We arrived last Friday and a taxi drove us from the airport. Our first impression of the town of San Pedro is that it feels a lot like a fishing village with a lot of small stores and buildings that are in need of quite a bit of repair but once you get to the Phoenix Resort, you are greeted by a very modern and clean resort with extremely friendly staff. When we first got there, the staff told us to make sure that we check with them first before going to restaurants as they know all the 'going ons' each day of the week and this was SO true. They even give you a local cell phone for use during your trip just in case you need to make a local call. They seriously think of everything!!

One of the best days spent was on a golf cart exploring the North end of the end and stopping by Lazy Crocs (only opened Fri, Sat & Sun) and spending four hours at the Palapa Bar - both recommendations from Pam at the front desk (she also recommended Lily's for their ceviche, which was also the best we had).

We will also miss Maurice, the nicest bartender in all of Ambergis Caye who introduced us to Coconut Leo and all of his acrobatic palm tree stunts. He also makes a mean Banana Daiquiri that taste like a banana split.

The resort also works directly with Alfonse who you might have seen on Samantha Brown from the Travel Channel. He took us out to Hol Chan Reserve and shark & Sting Ray Alley where we had the most amazing experience with nurse sharks and sting rays. My husband and I both HELD a nurse shark and watched Alfonse place a sting ray on his head!!

You will not find a nicer hotel near the heart of the town with a more helpful staff. Thank you Phoenix!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawnysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
6.9 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing