We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience Yet”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I can't say enough about how wonderful both of our stays have been at The Phoenix. We first visited The Phoenix in January of 2011 for vacation. We were recently engaged and had chosen another country for our destination wedding. After our stay at The Phoenix we were so impressed we decided to change wedding locations and actually get married on Ambergris Caye at The Phoenix.

I'll spare the details of the 11 or so months of planning with Stacey and Mark, but I will tell you they made our lives incredibly easy. They were both so professional and all around amazing.

We had around 80 guests with us and I can't count how many times during our stay and after we've been told how amazing everyone's experience was, how great the staff was, how awesome the rooms are, etc.

Back to the overall experience. The service here is unparalleled. The hotel - namely Stacey, Mark and the front desk staff - will take care of any and everything you need. From reservations at restaurants and golf cart rentals, to planning your entire day of fishing or catamaran excursions, trips to the mainland, etc. I don't know about you, but when you're on vacation it is so nice to have staff willing (and capable) of taking care of your plans so you can sit back and relax. They're fantastic - and spot on - with recommending local places and restaurants too.

We were always greeted by name with a smile and a "how are you today?" The gardeners are even friendly. The resort grounds are incredibly well manicured and downright beautiful, so wandering around from room to pool to the Red Ginger puts you in a good mood in and of itself. There is a security guard at the beach entrance 24 hours a day, so you feel completely safe -- not that the surrounding area makes anything unsafe, but it's a nice added bonus when you're in another country.

The rooms are probably the biggest surprise. They're HUGE. Most are 2-bedroom suites, with a few 1- and 3-bedrooms suits. They are beautifully and well furnished, down to a wine opener and great lounge furniture on the patio. Rooms and bathrooms are huge, living area is huge, and having a huge balcony overlooking that Caribbean ocean can't be beat. Have I mentioned the suites are huge?

Housekeeping comes daily and they are super friendly and professional. They do a fantastic and quick job and are never in your way, so you always come into a clean and tidy room that looks as if you've never been in it. There are large safes in the room for those wanting a little more security for belongings.

The restaurant Red Ginger and spa Sol Spa were both equally as impressive. Having eaten at Red Ginger 10+ times over both stays I never had a bad dish. The food and service are both fantastic. Kelly, the owner and Aaron, the manager with the Red Ginger go out of their way to make the experience a great one.

Carrie at Sol Spa will bend over backwards to accomodate your schedule, and she and the entire staff are so so personable. The spa is beautiful, relaxing and everyone is super professional. I've had several massages, facials and mani/pedis and each was awesome.

I could go on and on... We've left -- and our guests have left -- having the best experience of most of our lives, thanks to The Phoenix. We're turning this into an annual trip and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Belize. Please go and enjoy! Stacey, Mark, Gabriela, Pam, Rose, Danny, Ted, and Maurice... We miss you guys already but we'll see you soon!

Room Tip: Every room has a fantastic view of the Caribbean. Some of the 2nd and 3rd floor balconies are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

This was our second trip to the Phoenix (5/5 previous review), so we knew what to expect. However, this time we brought 80 of our friends and family with us for our wedding. I have to say that the whole crew at the Phoenix really blew us away with their attention to detail and the effortless way in which they know how to take care of their guests. Being the wedding couple, they went far out of their way to make sure our wedding was a vacation rather than work, and we appreciated that greatly. Stace, Mark, and the whole crew bent over backwards for us, and it would be tough to imagine a better experience.

Every review talks about the service. The front desk staff are wonderful and take the initiative to solve problems so their guests don't have to. Run out of cell minutes on the local cell phones provided to you, but too busy having fun? They've got that. Need to move a spa appointment? They have that too. Dinner reservations? Easy. Want to take a boat out? They know the best. After being there for a week they felt like family. They know your name when you walk in the door and say it when you're leaving.

The rooms are very nicely appointed and the beds are more comfortable than the bed I have at my house. I sleep better here than I do anywhere else in the world. They're meticulously cleaned by the small army of people employed by the resort. The floorplans and generous size make it easy to share rooms in the 2 bedroom suites without tripping over the other person or couple.

We love the location because unlike a lot of other resorts on the island, this one is right in the middle of town. The really nice thing is that the resort is designed so when you're it doesn't feel or sound like you're in the middle of town, but when you want the town it's right there through the door. The buildings serve as a sound barrier to the town so when you're sitting by the pool you can't hear anything but the water. It gives us our perfect combination of exploring the town on foot and relaxing at the resort.

We had an active, energetic, and (frankly) high-maintence group with us and we received so many compliements from our group on our choice of the Phoenix. At least two dozen guests are already planning return trips.

I can't recommend the Phoenix strongly enough. They were great when we were there with 8 people and great when we were there with 80. I bet they'll be great for you as well.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms have incredible views, but our personal favorite was A2 with it's massive w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jljones78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We came to the Phoenix as part of our Honeymoon. We arrived after 5 days on mainland Belize having travelled all the way from Ireland. We walked through the door and we were looked after from that moment until the minute we boarded the plane for home...

We weren't into the trips/excursions having spent time on the mainland. We used our 10 days to relax and unwind...and boy did we do that! Lying by the pool, enjoying the poolside bar...

The room was wonderful...so much space...lovely stuff...always well maintained, service was always excellent.

The highlight was always Red Ginger! There are many restuarants on San Pedro who want your custom. None come close to Red Ginger. None! The braised ribs are to die for! My mouth waters now as i speak of it. Great service. And it was very handy having the best restaurant in town at the bottom of your stairs! (Caliente is also very good but nothing beats Red Ginger)

Overall, incredible honeymoon thanks to the Phoenix...thank you so much...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We just got back from staying at The Phoenix for a week for our honeymoon. We had picked The Phoenix because of all the reviews, so we had high expectations going in, but The Phoenix went above and beyond them all. The staff was amazing, the rooms were beautiful, the views were breath taking. First of all I would just like to thank the staff. They took care of all our reservations. Their check out time is 11, but since they had booked our plane off the island they noticed we were leaving later in the afternoon, so they automatically extended our check out time, without us even asking for it. We just got a note on our room the day before check out, notifying us of the extended time and letting us know when they would be there to help us with our bags. Everyone was so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable – it was truly paradise. Read the other reviews, as long as they agree that they are amazing – they’re true! For those wondering about San Pedro itself, it was the perfect location for a honeymoon. You could relax and stay in the resort or there were so many activities to do, on land or sea. Couldn’t have asked for more, and it all started with the friendly greeting and rum punch at The Phoniex!

Room Tip: We got one with a sea view. It was beautiful waking up every morning to it, but I doubt there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hill_kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This place is FIRST CLASS!! The great staff will take care of everything including your excursions. Very friendly staff and a great location in town, but feels like your on a secluded island. #1 for a reason...well deserved.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpstaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Phoenix in October for our honeymoon. We had such a wonderful time! We chose the resort based on the reviews, knowing we wanted to dive and stay on Amergris Caye. We did early research on trips, but due to wedding planning, work, and other obligations, never booked any trips before our arrival. Stacy did e-mail us lots of helpful information to help us decide what we wanted to do prior to our trip. Our suite was, as they say, "unbelizable!" From our arrival in Belize City with the pre-arranged flight to Ambergris Caye to every activity we wanted to do, the Phoenix staff was amazing! We would stop at the desk, tell them what we wanted to do, and our meal, activity or day would be arranged. The service was wonderful. We said to ourselves, "We don't have to think, just be where the front desk tells us to be when they tell us to be there." Upon our arrival, there were flowers on the bed with a heart and our initials for our honeymoon, During the stay, it was my husband's birthday and when we returned from our fun day, there were flowers on the bed wishing him a happy birthday. I don't even remember mentioning that it was his birthday! The hotel and grounds were immaculate and every staff member was so nice. The restaurant at the hotel was very nice and had good breakfast, dinner, and evening entertainment. We stopped at other hotels on the beach for a drink and there were always people trying to sell their wares or have you book trips with them, etc., but at the Phoenix, only guests were allowed in. The premises are gated and security is there monitoring the area 24/7. The location can't be beat, it's close to everything. I really could go on and on, but...
As for adventures, wow! We packed a whole lot of fun into a few days. Our flight to Belize was delayed a day due to weather - big bummer - so we had to try to do as many things as we wanted, plus some relaxing. We went diving at the Blue Hole - AWESOME! Even though the water was a little rough, the trip with Amigos del Mar, was so great! The boat was large enough to make it not so bad in the rough water. We saw sharks, eagle rays, a sea turtle, Goliath grouper, and beautiful coral and fish. The staff was there to make sure we were safe and had the best experience possible. We also enjoyed the rum and pineapple drinks on the return ride.
We went to the mainland to go zip lining and cave tubing. What a blast! We had the most amazing tour guide - arranged through the Phoenix, of course - Ed Allen, from Eco Tours. The other people on our flight to Belize City got on a bus and had a group tour, not us! Ed picked us up and drove just the 2 of us to the zip lining and cave tubing area. Along the way, he stopped and showed us birds, animals and plants that we definitely would not have spotted on our own. He is an ornithologist, horticoligist, and according to the other guides we met at the site, King Edward! We had a spectacular time zipping through the forest and floating through the caves with Ed's knowledgable stories.
We also went fishing, snorkeling and boating - fun. We rented bikes and rode them around the island. It's nice that you can ride all over on the beach.
And oh, on every trip we went, our fantastic Phoenix family called the tour operator to check on us and makje sure we were enjoynig ourselves. UNBELIZEABLE!
The restaurants were very good too. Wild Mango's was recommended by the Phoenix staff and was fantastic! The Blue Water Grill was very delicious! We watched the "Chicken Drop" - you have to experience that! We called the Portofino and took a boat to their restaurant. It was a very nice starlit boat ride for free to their restaurant on the north end of the island.
Overall, what a great time! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaSunnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My wife and I just returned from 5 nights at the Phoenix. With all of the great reviews it was hard to meet expectations let alone exceed them but this place did. Stacey and Mark and the whole staff were awesome. All of their recommendations were spot on. Our one bedroom condo was huge with a wraparound balcony and a fantastic view. The unit had cable tv and free wifi. It was is a very short walk to lots of great restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the Hurricane Bar for great ceviche.

Snorkeling (or diving) is obviously a must. We rented bikes one day from Joe's (golf carts aren't necessary) and road on the beach from pretty much one end of the island to the other, One day we walked up to the Palapas Bar and took a water taxi back (which cost $10 US for the 2 of us one way and are very unreliable) which gives you an idea of what it costs when you are at one of the resorts away from the town. We did one mainland excursion in which we went ziplining, cabe tubing and visited the zoo. The zoo was particularly cool with mostly (if not all) rescue animals in their own habitat. People that went to the Mayan ruins said that was great as well.

All in all we had no complaints and have already made our reservations for next year. We are already looking forward to it. The only other thing I would add in general is that you must be patient because everything is done on "Belizean time".

Room Tip: It is a good idea to buy duty free in Belize upon arrival. Liquor and wine prices a great. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
363 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
483 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £265 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing