We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem on San Pedro”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem on San Pedro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The resort needs to invest in power washing the exterior. Upon check-in the staff greeted us in the lobby with rum punch and a fresh towel. The complimentary coconut lime bars in the room was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    40
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
320
376
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Windsor, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great property and great people! My family had a great time. Stacey and team made our room feel like our usual Christmas! Never have been to Belize and when we return would only go to the Phoenix. San Pedro is a fabulous little island town and The Phoenix sits right in the middle of it, you can walk everywhere. Must rent a golf cart!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB16WestWindsor_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

After our first night in 2011 we were hooked and rebooked for 2013. This time we brought my mom and stepfather and they were hooked and we have rebooked for 2014. Not only does the staff go above and beyond for the guest they know your first name. They arrange all the excursion and so far I have seen Mayan Ruins and tubed down the Mayan rivers. I went fishing and enjoyed a whole day on a private island that ended with a each BBQ and memories that will last me a lifetime. My daughter is 9 years old and has been both trips and loves the island as much as us. She is treated so well by staff. 100% my favorite place on earth and all owed to the staff of The Phoenix. Will be returning every year!! 10 stars across the boards. Pam, Stacy, and Mark, thank you for all you do.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jebianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have stayed at luxury hotels in San Pedro repeatedly but never at the Phoenix, even though my favorite restaraunt on the island is Red Ginger, at the hotel. I have to say being close to town was really nice.
My stay at the Phoenix was wonderful. The staff added many little personal touches that really meant a lot. A cake waiting for us in the refrigerator for my friends birthday was one. A complimentary local cell phone was another big plus! We got excellent friendly advice on tours and everything else from Pam and Gabriella, and everyone was always helpful and accommodating.
My massage from Heather at the spa was a life saver!
Thank you Mark and Stacey for helping me get this put together at the last minute to begin with and I hope to see you all again at the Phoenix very soon!! Honestly, where else would I go now?? Spoiled and loved it! - Jai

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaiRezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

My husband and I just returned from 4 days in Ambergris Caye. We stayed in the Phoenix Hotel, San Pedro and had an amazing time. Every experience with the hotel--from booking to check out--was smooth, friendly, and super helpful. Stacey and Danny coordinated everything, including our connecting flight to/from Belize City-San Pedro, dinner reservations, excursions, etc. The rooms and hotel itself were beautiful, spacious and well maintained (bonus plus--Aveda products are the hotel toiletries given to guests). Even though it was in the center of town, you can barely tell once you walked in. The atmosphere was relaxing and very quiet. I can't say enough great things about our stay at The Phoenix. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaRBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobbs ferry
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

My 17 year old son and I spent Easter week at the Phoenix. It was all that the reviews and photos promised. Amazing service, great food, beautiful and spacious accomodations. The staff arranged day trips for us including snorkeling, ziplining and a visit to Mayan ruins. We will definitely go back and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Phoenix Resort is one of the loveliest places we have ever stayed at. The condos are gorgeous, well-equipped and close to everything in town. The staff are fantastic and always ready to help out, whether it is booking a tour, a restaurant reservation or making your favorite cocktail at the pool bar. We can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different units and both were lovely. I don't think there is a bad one th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing