We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better BELIZE it!”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
1 review
“Better BELIZE it!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was lucky enough to visit The Phoenix Belize along with 5 other girlfriends to celebrate a very special occasion - our 40th birthdays. Our experience exceeded our expectations from the very moment we arrived, to the moment we said goodbye!

STAFF: We booked our trip months ago, so many emails had been exchanged. During this process, Pam Simmons (Guest Services Manager) went out of her way to ensure we were well satisfied. She even had a cake, a signed birthday card from all the staff, rum and flowers awaiting our arrival. How thoughtful! They also ensured our flights from Belize City was arranged and even paid for our taxi upon arrival to San Pedro. Everyone at the front desk was happy, helpful and so polite. Belizeans are truly genuine and kind people. This really was apparent throughout our trip.

LOCATION: Situated in a PERFECT spot close to local markets and restaurants. They also provide complimentary bikes for guests and an inexpensive golf cart rental is located steps from their side entrance on Middle St. We always felt very safe.

POOL: Private, clean and so welcoming each day! We quickly made friends with Rolando (ask for one of his frozen mojitos by the way!) and he made sure we were well taken care of - towels, umbrellas etc. Maurice was also so great and even helped cut a fresh pineapple for us!

ROOM: There were 6 of us travelling so we booked a 3 bedroom suite (B4). Each room (including the veranda) was extremely spacious and we never felt overcrowded. The kitchen was well stocked with all essentials and housekeeping made sure everything was tidied immaculately.

WEATHER: Sun, sun, sun! We had glorious sunshine each day and a few minutes of rain here and there.

BEACH: Belize as a whole isn't known for their walk-in beaches with rolling waves. Due to the closeby reef, their waters are calm and grassy. Paradise dock is located steps away should you wish to swim in the Caribbean, which we did many times!

It was truly a memorable week! Thank you again!

Room Tip: Travelling with friends...ask for room B4! They have some of the best views in the entire resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudetteAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    40
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
327
388
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Celebrated our 40th birthday here with 5 other special ladies!! This resort exceeded my expectations. Service here was incredible- All of the Staff here are genuinely nice and willmake you feel like you are priorty. They take care of you here. They truly go above and beyond in making your stay here extra special. We stayed in the 3 bedroom beach front suite which was beautifully furnished, very clean and spacious. Front desk staff, servers, housekeepers and bartenders were always attentive to our needs. Would definately come back to the PHOENIX

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finderica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

BEST WEEK EVER celebrating our group of six's milestone birthday and The Phoenix OVER delivered. Before arriving I thought "how does one resort receive such amazing reviews?" This is how: The Phoenix staff are outstanding. No request is too large or small. They surprised us with special extras like a full size birthday cake waiting for us in our suite's fridge with a birthday card signed by all the staff. Beautiful rose petals spelling out "Happy Birthday" on the beds of all 3 rooms, a bottle of rum with mix and delicious homemade lime bars. We were spoiled before we even had our bags delivered to our room!!! It's exceptionally clean and peaceful yet located right in town. Loved the complimentary bikes the hotel arranged for us to explore. The pool is gorgeous. Complimentary Yoga. Wifi was perfect so we could upload our experiences daily to Instagram/facebook and communicate with our families back home. We have all fallen in love with La Isla Bonita and The Phoenix Resort.
Congratulations again to Rolando on the birth of his new baby girl. Special thanks to him and Maurice for taking such good care of us pool side. We will be sure to add fresh Ginger to all our future cocktails and think of you guys! Thank you to the lovely Manager: Pam and the desk staff; Always with smiles to greet us: Alicia, Rosie, Andrew. Our cleaning staff helped keep us 6 ladies organized and our condo was always an immaculate place to retreat to after a day of exploring the island or sea! Thank you for the security always standing by discreetly and keeping a protective watch over us and this gem of a resort. Miss you guys already and can't wait to return.
Dervola x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dervola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I went on my honeymoon to The Phoenix about a year ago - nothing but amazing things to say. We were upgraded to a larger 2 bedroom suite overlooking the pool and beach. The place is beautiful and immaculate. The staff is amazing, the food as well. They understand hospitality, plain and simple. Worth the extra money if you're deciding between this and a slightly cheaper place. My only advice is to try and find tour companies in the area to do different activities, as it will be much cheaper than if you book through the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I visited in May 2013 and our stay was outstanding from beginning to end. We are both in the hospitality industry in Hawaii so our expectations are pretty high. This property and staff exceeded those expectations. The General Manager, Mark Maggiotto, went above and beyond in helping me with a special request. His time and effort are so very appreciated. The location of the resort is awesome-we walked everywhere and only rented a golf cart for one day to really explore the island. We will be back. As we say in the islands, Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) Diane C.

Room Tip: Our spacious suite was on the bottom floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband, adult son, and I spent a week at The Phoenix in July 2013 based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. We loved The Phoenix so much and will definitely be back. The resort is beautiful, the staff is top notch, the food at the restaurant is delicious, the condo is gorgeous and the location is perfect. We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom condo located on the second floor facing the ocean (I can't remember the number). It was beyond our expectations. The beds are extremely comfortable, the bathroom amenities are very nice, the kitchen is well stocked and the decor is fabulous. I must mention the very large veranda overlooking the ocean. It is private, extremely large and has a spectacular view of the ocean, the pools and the grounds. We loved sitting outside every day. We really enjoyed the lovely pools and poolside food and beverages. I loved my massage at the spa so much that I booked a second visit and was not disappointed. Pam and the rest of the front desk staff arranged several outings for us and we were very pleased with the guides. I appreciated the staff booking our Tropic Air flights and attending to every detail of our trip. Housekeeping was excellent. The location is definitely a highlight. It is so close to everything in San Pedro, yet the feeling inside the resort is serene and peaceful. This resort is definitely luxurious, yet not pretentious in any way. It never felt crowded. I have stayed in many top hotels and resorts around the world and The Phoenix is now one of my favorite places anywhere. We loved the Red Ginger restaurant on site so much that we ate there numerous times. On one occasion, the chef prepared the fresh fish my husband and son caught and it was divine. The only disappointment was the Red Ginger is closed on Tuesdays and you cannot get food at the restaurant, from room service or at the pool on Tuesdays. This is not a big deal as there are many other options close by. All recommendations from the staff were spot on. We had heavy rain for 2 days, which forced us to stay indoors. However, the accomodations are so nice that we did not even mind. The complimentary local cell phone, the taxi to and from the airport and the personal attention from the staff truly make the experience at The Phoenix special. Do be aware there are no elevators, so if you cannot walk up and down steep stairs, ask for a first floor condo. I just cannot say enough good things about The Phoenix. I agonized about where to stay while researching for this trip. Thanks to these reviews I chose The Phoenix and I cannot wait to return to this slice of paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Houston2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent the first three days of our honeymoon on the north side of the island and then came to the city for the next five nights. We didn't think our stay at Azul could be matched, but Phoenix did it. What a beautiful resort. Everyone is extremely friendly and the condo was amazing. It is also in the perfect location to walk everywhere in the city. If we go back, we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We stayed in A9 and I am pretty sure it had to be one of the nicest at the resort. It is on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
335 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
1,285 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#4 of 54 in San Pedro
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing