We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenix Resort
Nearby Hotels
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mata Rocks Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Secreto(San Pedro)
US$465
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$394
US$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cayo Espanto(San Pedro)
US$1,848
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramon's Village Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$338
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveller rating
995
42
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
995
42
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred gingersol spachocolate tastingin towngolf cartcell phoneambergris cayefull kitchenbottle of rumfront desk staffpool stafflaundry detergentwrap around balconypool barhuge balconybedroom suitedinner reservations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Phoenix Resort is a place that we will remember forever. Although my wife and I were only there for 3 nights/4 days, the experience here is impossible to forget.
The front desk staff personally walks you around the property (rain or shine) upon arrival after paying your cab fare, where you eventually arrive at your "room". I say "room" because it is more like a lavish apartment that puts the Trump to shame. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite (A8) that overlooked the ocean, but there is not a bad room in this place.
The front desk scheduled every adventure for us and are on a first name basis with everyone they have to call to set things up. They truly care about you and it is very apparent from the moment you walk in.
Walking around San Pedro, you will quickly notice this is the nicest looking resort within walking distance. I only say walking distance because that is as far as we went. The barside pool is an excellent touch and you will have the best Mojito of your life here. Hands down.
They give you a cell phone with 10 minutes prepaid, which is nice to tell family back home that you arrived safely. You can get more minutes right on the phone if you want, too.
We will be back here for sure. Don't pass this place up.

Room Tip: Grab a corner room if available.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpreston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Went to The Phoenix for our honeymoon... It was just as great as the reviews, the staff was very courteous! They greeted us on arrival with drinks, invited us to the manager's happy hour, and gave us a thorough tour of the resort. The restaurant on site is very good, probably the best in San Pedro. We stayed over a week, and loved the 1 bedroom suite and view. One thing about the view... there is a cemetery right next to the hotel, so pick a suite where you don't have a first hand view of this. We had in room massages and did a fishing and snorkeling trip. Unfortunately a tropical storm came the second day and it was rainy most the time we were in Belize, so we didn't get to do much. This resort is probably the best and safest in San Pedro. We loved Belize, but just make sure you know what you are getting into... It is pretty much like traveling to Mexico. The pictures of the town were a little deceiving, we were expecting this Caribbean destination, and we were surprised when we stepped off our flight. Other than that, the resort was great, the manager and staff is amazing. Maybe one day we will return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kbee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Six friends from 3 different locations with varying schedules planned a dive vacation on Ambergris Caye. We looked at hotels and chose to stay in town at the Phoenix. Every conversation, email or interaction we had with them while planning the trip was outstanding. They made it easy to plan. When we arrived, the friendly staff made us welcome. The apartments - 3, 2 and 1 bedroom - were outstanding, new, well furnished and well cared for by the staff. The location was perfect. We dove with Amigos del Mar and walked to their pier. Restaurants were all within walking distance. Mark and his team get kudos for helping us plan and then for providing an outstanding trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We knew we wanted to dive with Ecologic Divers and then wanted to find a resort close by....and WOW, did we hit the jackpot!! Every aspect of our stay screamed customer service; from the front desk, pool bar, restaurant, and back gate security attendant. The front desk was on top of EVERYTHING and even knew our flight back to the mainland had been delayed and contacted our tour guide on the other end to let them know. Speaking of tours, we booked our cave tubing & zip lining through them and we had an amazing guide...HERBIE!! If you get the chance be sure to ask for him, you will be amazed how knowledgeable he is all while ensuring you have the best experience. We went with another couple and stayed in a two bedroom apartment and could not have been happier.

Room Tip: We stayed in A6 and had a great view of the pool and sunrises...make sure to take the stairs to the roof to watch the sunsets!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our family of five went to The Phoenix for rest and relaxation after adventures in the jungle. Our expectations were high but The Phoenix managed to exceed them on every count. Our 3 bed apartment was immaculate, the staff excellent and the view across the pool and out to the reef unforgetable, The apartment had a full kitchen, DVD players in every room and a full size washer and dryer. Special touches included rum and biscuits in our suite on arrival and a local mobile phone pre-loaded with useful numbers for our use while there.

The staff were friendly but extremely efficient, resolving minor problems quickly and even booking a taxi for us before we'd got around to asking them for it.

The location of The Phoenix means the buzz of San Pedro is just outside the hotel doors, but once inside you are in an oasis of calm and noise from the town rarely intrudes. A library of DVDs to borrow along with magazines and books to read means it's tempting to stay in the hotel all day!

Overall, a fabulous hotel in a great location. If we return to San Pedro, this is where we'll be staying

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5FamilyTravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews