We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As overwhelmingly positive experience as all the other reviews!”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“As overwhelmingly positive experience as all the other reviews!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had a two bedroom unit which was exceptionally clean and well-appointed. The service is everything you could imagine. Before arrival we had pre-booked some tours, which were great. They either arrange or pay for your transport between the airport or ferry stop, and wow you by knowing your name when you get in the door. As mentioned by others, you are immediately offered an island drink and escorted to your room. The staff could not be friendlier! The service was so complete there was a local cellphone for our use, gorgeous pool towels, and even towels to take offsite for snorkeling or fishing. Add to that a very extensive DVD free lending library and business center and there were no needs or wants that went unmet.

We also really enjoyed the location. The beach activities such as snorkeling and fishing were steps away, and our twenty something year old children enjoyed walking in to the center of town to pick up snacks/beer/etc. The center of town was less than a 5 minute walk.

Their sister restaurants give a 10% discount on food, which was nice as they are well regarded, top of the line restaurants.

Room Tip: I think second and third floors have slightly better ocean views, but only due to the landscaping wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    40
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
327
388
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our family of four saw the front of the building and were keeping our fingers crossed. We opened the door and fresh, wonderful air conditioning hit us. As we walked into the small lobby, we were disarmed by the INCREDIBLY FRIENDLY STAFF. We were offered punch with the local rum on a lovely tray. Wow! Great start! After checking in, we were given a short tour--showed the lending library of books, current magazines, and diverse collection of dvd's we could take to our room on an "honor" basis. There is also a computer room w free wi-fi, and lovely restaurant that serves decent food at decent prices.
There is also a full spa and gym. The spa prices were typical of US facilities. Don't expect cheap prices. They offer facials, massage, scrubs, wraps and mani-pedis. You can also get in-room massage.
As we arrived in our room #8, we were thrilled with the size, cleanliness, and modern furniture, kitchen and bathrooms.
The kitchen is fully equipped, full size, and has all the utensils and cookware you need-even a copious number of paper towels! There are bar seats right next to the counter and a small table for dining for two.
The guest bedroom could be one king or you can have the staff pull it apart for two spacious twins- large enough for adults. It also had a nice sized flat screen tv, and plenty of closet space. The linens were just a regular quality, but were fine. A comfy duvet was on each bed.
The guest bath was spacious, lots of fluffy towels, Aveda toiletries, and a huge walk in shower with lots of water pressure. There was plenty of drawer space with included hair dryer.
The master bedroom was also very spacious, flat screen tv, king bed, walk in shower and large jacuzzi tub, big enough for two adults.
The living area had a large, all matching sofa (which could be a pull-out bed, too), smaller sofa and a comfy chair- all across from a 40" flat screen tv. Big pillows were everywhere. The tv channel line-up was impressive!
As we walked outside to the patio, it spanned the entire unit! 50' x 20'! There were lounge chairs, a full dining room table with 6 chairs, and a smaller table for 4 people.
The views from the balcony were stunning of the pools and ocean. Private feeling, too.
There are 2 pools: one lap pool and the larger, main pool close to the beach with a great little bar.
I would compare The Phoenix to a 4+ star hotel in the USA. Boutique hotel type. Homey.

Room Tip: #8 was our spot. It was on the side, not directly in front. At first I was disappointed, but saw tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I am late in writing this. We went for my SO's birthday at the end October.

Check in and check out were both effortless, no problems.

The room/suite was very well appointed; we were on the third floor, fantastic view.

Service was excellent every request was granted with a smile. Do not be afraid to ask for anything.

I did a manicure and pedicure at the spa, my spa attendant was pleasant and very attentive.

Food was great, granted we did not eat at the hotel all time, but all the meals we had there were excellent. Room service was timely.

This is definitely my go to place in San Pedro. I have no intention of staying anywhere else and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashele_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here on the second half of our honeymoon. We had a 2 bedroom condo overlooking the pool and the Ocean. The views were incredible!!! When planning our trip I researched at least 15 different resorts and after walking the grounds and seeing all of the other resorts on the Island, This way by far the best!!! They had an amazing pool, spa, and restaurant! You can rent a golf cart from the hotel and drive it around town (I would definitely do this!) Also the tours that The Pheonix provides are amazing. If you go in the summer try the shard dive/reef tour, It was incredible!!!

Room Tip: The Third floor rooms are the best. I believe we stayed in D5 (incredible room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickf97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent six days at The Phoenix at the end of our honeymoon. When we arrived, the staff had decorated our room with flowers, provided a complimentary bottle of wine, and instructions for how to make a few drinks utilizing the rum placed in our room. They pay such close attention to every detail. We decided to ride bikes down the beach that day and they had two delivered to the property, free of charge. There are also activities at the resort several days a week. We took advantage of the wine tasting on our first night.
Red Ginger, the restaurant on site, is amazing. Try the crab stuffed grouper! They will also deliver to your room.
When it rained, we were more than happy to spend our time indoors as the units are well furnished and comfortable. You can also duck into their spa. We had wonderful deep tissue massages. There are countless restaurants and bars just a few steps from the hotel for when you feel like exploring. The location is absolutely perfect.
We left on Halloween and it was funny to see the staff in costume. We received a thank you postcard from The Phoenix a few weeks after we returned home. Again, a nice touch!
Look no further, you've found the best spot!

Room Tip: The rooms on the end have the best views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I were on our honeymoon in Belize and made stops to different parts of the country and one was to San Pedro where we stayed at the beautiful Phoenix Resort. Previously, we had been had a lesser quality hotel within San Ignacio so this spot was a definite upgrade! We we were blown away with how lovely everything was here. When brought to our suite we were given complimentary wine and champagne since we were there for our honeymoon, not sure this would be the case in other instances, but was a nice touch nonetheless. They also provided us with a cell phone in the instance that we would need to make calls while on the island and didn't have an international plan. Probably the biggest highlights to staying there was the location and views. We were right in the heart of downtown and could easily walk to all the restaurants and bars. Next comes the views. Absolutely breathtaking to wake up to beautiful sunrises each morning and eat breakfast staring at the sea. At night, we would sit on the balcony and stare at the stars, can't get that in Chicago! Everything from beginning to end was top notch and would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to San Pedro, Belize, even if they aren't on their honeymoon!

Room Tip: Having a view of the sea provided a beautiful view to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyLobsterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We loved our stay at The Phoenix. Pam, Andrew, all the staff really, were just excellent. We were there on a very rainy week for a long needed family vacation. We had stayed at Tranquility Bay before going to The Phoenix. Because of the weather, we were really bitten badly at TB and there was not much to do (but that's another review) and even though we had bad weather the whole trip (arghh) The Phoenix was delightful. We just felt pampered. We took a second floor corner 2 bedroom and we had a full corner balcony looking out onto the water. It was amazing. We walked in town, ate dinner at all the local spots, watched movies, got in one or two days at the pool and basically, just spent time together and relaxed. While better weather would have been preferred if you have to be away in the rain (or anytime), I highly recommend The Phoenix. We have been all over the world and this is certainly one of the top places anywhere.

Room Tip: choose a corner suite as you have the giant sweeping balcony on all sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
335 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
1,286 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#4 of 54 in San Pedro
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing