We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but there are a few things to be aware of...”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Phoenix is, like everyone says, an exceptional hotel. The suites and grounds are beautiful, and the service from the front desk team is beyond amazing (probably the best I've experienced from any hotel anywhere in the world). Five stars all the way.

So what else is there to know? First, realize that there is NO beach. This is not meant to be a criticism, because at no point do they ever claim to have a beach. It's just a fact. However, if your usual Caribbean vacation involves sitting on the beach or building the occasional sand castle it's a fact you need to know. Here you're left with sitting by the pool, which can get pretty crowded and noisy. There really isn't anything in easy walking distance either - the "sand" gets wider in a few places, but it doubles as a busy pedestrian walkway and, occasionally, a road.

The other sad thing is that San Pedro is filthy. The amount of garbage along the waterfront and in the water is staggering. If you just sit by the pool you'll never notice the difference, but if you go for a walk along the waterfront it's really quite disgusting. We went out one day hoping to see some sort of wildlife. We saw a rat. Not what I had in mind....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank TravelswithPute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was my fourth trip to Belize and I have previously stayed at Victoria House (twice incl my honeymoon) and once at El Secreto (overpriced and under air conditioned). We had a group of 5 ladies, ages ranging from 52 to 32. We had originally booked at VH but they had lost our reservation (it's 2014 people!) so we rebooked at the Phoenix. From the beginning the customer service was amazing and so helpful.
The hotel is clean and updated. We had a bottle of wine upon our late arrival (thanks United) because none of us favors rum. We had a late dinner at Red Ginger which was delicious. The next day I walked 2 short blocks to the grocery and picked up simple breakfast items which was a convenience for my specific diet and wallet. The pool is fantastic and was so crowded you couldn't get a chair. It was actually very peaceful most of the time. Rolando (who does magic!) and Josh are fantastic and very attentive, bringing us drinks and checking on us as needed. The food on the lunch menu was so good, don't miss the turkey wrap or the shrimp tacos.
There is not really a beach at this hotel, however it is on the beach overlooking the ocean. Because it is right in town there is some foot traffic beyond the property but a security guard polices who comes in and out. If anyone has been to Belize before, you'll know that it's a beautiful beach but not great for body surfing, etc due to the seagrass, so I was content with our beach view and clean pool. The grounds are also beautiful and very well manicured.
The hotel secured dinner reservations for us and all were a short beach walk or complimentary cab ride away.
It was hard to separate from Victoria House, but the service here is far quicker and more attentive. The rooms are bigger and have central air and larger kitchens. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: They are all great but next time I will definitely get an ocean view condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JillyConQueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Like most people that have left a review, we had rather high expectations coming to the Phoenix and Belize for the first time…and from the moment we stepped foot onto the resort Feb 8, until checkout Feb 15, 2014 we could not have been happier. In fact, after seeing all of the other hotels in San Pedro, I would absolutely not want to stay anywhere but The Phoenix. It is by far the nicest place there!
We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view unit with another couple and had more than enough room for the four of us. The units are all beautiful and spotless and have everything you need; however we didn't do any cooking in our unit as the onsite restaurant, Red Ginger, and several other restaurants in San Pedro are absolutely delicious. There are several grocery stores within walking distance and beyond that allows you to fully stock your condo if you prefer. (Note: Be sure to check the expiration date on everything you buy! We bought some snacks, and several of the items were past their expiration date. Unfortunately, we learned this the hard way!!)
The pool is beautiful…but perhaps the best part about the pool is the pool service from Rolando and Josh! Such a great couple of guys who will bend over backwards to get you whatever you'd like. We ate lunch poolside most days, and sampled several of their specialty cocktails. If there is one thing the resort could do, it would be to have some music at the pool bar. We mentioned it to Rolando, and he brought in a portable unit the next day which was a really nice addition.
As I previously mentioned, the onsite restaurant Red Ginger is fantastic. We ate there a few nights and never experienced a bad meal. In addition, we ate at Blue Water Grill, Caliente, The Wild Mango, Mesa Cafe, and the Palapa Bar & Grill. Again, not one bad meal at any of them! There are so many more to try, but we'll have to do that on a return trip because we simply ran out of time.
Some extras worth mentioning:
One recommendation is to rent a Golf Cart to get around the island and explore all of the restaurants and really see the sites. Typically, people rent them for a day or two, but we rented ours for the entire week. So glad we did, because we could just hop on it on a whim and go exploring! Note that we felt very safe at all times!
My husband and his friend went Scuba Diving 3 times while they were there. There is a Dive Shop just down from the Phoenix called Chuck & Robbie's- highly recommended!
We also rented a catamaran, The Lady Leslie, for a private charter for a day- by far the highlight of our trip!! I have snorkeled at a lot of places, and this was by far the best snorkeling I've ever done at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley! We went to the island of Caye Caulker as part of this charter- interesting island, just like a step back in time!

Overall, perhaps one of our favorite couples vacation! We miss the entire staff: Pam, Aaron, Rolando and Josh. Thank you all for going the extra mile to make our trip so memorable. We will definitely return to the Phoenix!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank where2nexteveryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We selected the Phoenix based on Trip Advisor reviews, but otherwise knew very little about it. We stayed there from Jan 25 - Feb 1 2014 and had a super time! Everything was outstanding - the staff was always friendly and courteous, and anxious to help in any way. They enthusiastically made numerous arrangements for us (airport transfers, excursions, etc.), all of which worked out perfectly. The outdoor staff at the pool and pool bar (Rolando was a great bartender!) were friendly and helpful, and made it a point to call you by name. Overall, it was a great week and we would not hesitate to return to the Phoenix, or to recommend it to anyone considering a trip to Belize.

Room Tip: The three bedroom suite with ocean view, if you have a number of travelers, was really perfect with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Phoenix resort surpassed all expectations we had and after reading all the reviews, our expectations were high. For 4 nights we stayed in a 2 bedroom unit that was beautiful, clean, quiet, well equipped with a full kitchen and washer/dryer. From the moment we arrived, I felt at home. The staff was amazing, warm and friendly and making sure all details were attended to. We went for a private guided day trip and the staff called the guide twice during our tour to make sure everything was going well and we didn't need anything. I've never felt so cared for at any hotel I've ever been to - literally. I 100% recommend them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kkimik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our second stay at the Phoenix. We received a wonderful welcome back, our names on welcoming card and the bed with floral decoration. The staff is incredible, always willing to help with any request. They really go over and above with their advice and attention to detail. Tropic Air reservations were all taken care of and a check on our flight home done for us also. So many things to enjoy, Red Ginger had delicious food, wonderful staff and our housekeeping staff did a wonderful job also. Great location, great amenities and we look forward to our next visit and would recommend the Phoenix to anyone planning a trip to Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lefty89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Having stayed at the Phoenix 4 times in the last year, there is not another resort on the island that compares. Great location, unparalleled guest services staff, best restaurant on the island. Pools and suites are beautiful and perfectly maintained.
What makes this resort so special is the attention to detail. When you walk through the front door, anything you wish for is yours, with a smile. From spa appointments to coordinating your flight over from Belize City, there is only one choice on Ambregris Caye. Kuddos to Mark M and his staff for a job well done. My husband and I call this resort our Four Seasons of Ambregris Caye

Room Tip: Top floor building A and C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnLo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
365 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
484 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 55 in San Pedro
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £264 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing