We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at The Phoenix. We were a little worried when we first pulled up because it looked as if we were in the middle of the city, but then we were taken to our beautiful ocean view room and were thrilled! The rooms were huge with large porches - probably the nicest I've seen in any hotel I've stayed at! The staff was wonderful and they booked us on two incredible excursions (on one of them my 8 year old said it was the best day of his life!). The service at Red Ginger is wonderful as well. All in all a GREAT vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    40
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
320
376
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Great vacation. We are very glad we chose the Phoenix. It lives up to its reputation. The staff is great, all nice and helpful. A shout out to Maurice, Josh and Rolando from the pool/Red Ginger staff as well as all the young ladies at the front desk! The beachfront suite was beautiful and well decorated. It was comfortable with a full kitchen and washer/dryer. Restaurant is very good and numerous other restaurants, water related activities and shops within walking distance. We will return.

Room Tip: The beachfront suite was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at this fantastic resort for about one week. We travel a lot, and I would be hard pressed to name a resort that offers better value for your money. While traveling abroad, I rarely feel as if I'm getting more than I paid for. The Phoenix Resort is a stunning exception (i.e., a huge 2 bedroom apartment with an enormous balcony that is the size of a grand suite, complimentary use of an iPad and cell phone, great service, etc). If you choose to stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC100Club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My two adult daughters and I took my husband on a mystery trip to San Pedro for the celebration of a significant birthday.The Phoenix staff were unbelievably helpful in assisting us with many planning details including;the booking of a golf cart, birthday dinner reservations at Mambo Restaurant, which consisted of a 20 minute speed boat ride in the dark, bookings on Tropic Air and the cancellation and refund of the 5th member, my son-in law, who was unable to travel at short notice. On arrival at the Phoenix, a birthday cake (compliments of Phoenix) had been specially ordered from a local bakery was brought up to the room by one of the many skilled and charming staff from the front desk. We have nothing but accolades for the over all service from the front desk staff who followed up with the airline every day re my husband's lost luggage. The pool service was exceptional with friendly and accommodating staff who served fabulous drinks and created an atmosphere for friendly chatter with other guests around the pool. The cleaning staff were equally efficient and helpful and we all looked forward to the turn down service every evening. The over all experience was wonderful and we enjoyed the salt water pools, even though there is no real beach or swimming close by. We enjoyed eating in the local restaurants and had a repeat at Elvi's Kitchen for their chicken curry and Estels for breakfast. We only ate at the Red Ginger for one dinner and must say we didn't enjoy the food or the atmosphere as much as the local restaurants. We found the locals to be very friendly and respectful of us being tourists and we never felt unsafe as we roamed the town later at night on our golf cart. We participated and thoroughly enjoyed several tours through Searious Adventure Co; including a day trip to Lamanai Ruins on the mainland of Belize, snorkeling off the barrier reef and a sunset catamaran cruise.
Over all we had an excellent vacation in San Pedro and the Phoenix is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildaB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was hands down THE BEST HOTEL I'VE EVER STAYED IN bar none. Everything was perfect from the room to the food to the people and location all perfect... really. The only reason I'm still typing is to reach the minimum required characters for a review... just go there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Phoenix for a week in March '14. This was our first trip to Belize and we are already planning our return. The Phoenix is perfectly located for anyone wanting to stay in San Pedro which I think any Belize tourist should do at least once. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are fantastic and feel like a nice home away from home. I highly suggest staying in D5 if the price works and it's available. This is clearly their best room and the one used for all their marketing. The on site restaurant, Red Ginger, is a better than average choice for your meals. Some things we really enjoyed and other dishes didn't fair as well. Still, the convenience is nice and there is enough to choose from. The poolside bar and service made a great difference in our stay. We appreciated their lively personalities and attentiveness. We tried several different drinks and all were terrific. You may also order food by the pool or have it delivered to your room. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are available each day.

A short walk South on the beach takes you to several good places to eat. Our favorite was definitely Estel's Dine By The Sea. This simple joint is on the beach and offers incredible breakfast, lunch and drinks.

A few negatives to consider, not the fault of Phoenix: If you are looking for the traditional beautiful beach to hang out on you'll need to pick a destination other than Ambergris Caye of Belize. There is a sea wall and sea weed all along the shoreline. The "sandy beach" areas are small spaces and heavily traveled by locals and visitors. We also found the entire coast of San Pedro littered with trash each day. It's not exactly romantic walking the beach/coast and constantly stepping over debris and trash. There are several piers, one right next to the Phoenix, to swim from. That's nice but not very convenient.

Second negative: The Belize City International Airport (Philip S.W. Goldsen Airport) employs criminals and your luggage is not safe. Their "security" personel ransacked one of our bags, damaged it beyond repair and stole several items from it. We have traveled the world and never had such a violating experience. Don't bring anything you're not willing to lose. Belize City is apparently struggling with the criminal element.

If you are considering a trip to Belize your highlights would be the Phoenix and the water. The beauty of the ocean around Ambergris Caye is stunning. We spent three days on the water with Discovery Expeditions. They're a great company to use when booking your dive, snuba or snorkeling tours. They cover it all and know all the great spots.

The fantastic hotel and God's natural beauty made this a wonderful trip. Our second trip will probably be more enjoyable now that we know what to expect from the beach and surrounding areas. The Phoenix would receive a five star vote from us if they had a traditional swimming beach and a little improvement from Red Ginger.

Room Tip: D5 is the best room the Phoenix has to offer. Top floor with a balcony that wraps around the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank afro_fiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Picture the top three things that have bothered you in the past when you have stayed at a resort. Got them in your mind? Whatever they are, do you find yourself getting irritated just thinking about it? You spent all that hard-earned money...this is your one and only vacation you'll get this year...you just want to relax and not be upset by any short-comings of the resort you spent sooo much time researching...

Okay, now relax. Forget about all of that, because you have found The Phoenix. You can go ahead and book it and know - That the customer service will be impeccable, the attention to detail and special touches will have you saying, "wow, that's great...thank you!", your room will be absolutely spotless & beautifully styled, the views will be spectacular, the PEOPLE will be attentive and reactive to your needs and with a smile on their faces every time...and when you eventually come back home (sorry), and your co-workers and your favorite Aunt ask "How was the resort?", you will say "It was perfect".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing