We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Can Believe The Reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“You Can Believe The Reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My family of four just returned from a 9-day stay at The Phoenix. Going into the trip, I thought there was NO WAY that the hotel could live up to the consistent 5-star reviews, but it did.

Those who say The Phoenix staff provides the best service experience of any hotel are absolutely correct; we have traveled the world and have stayed in excellent hotels, but the staff at The Phoenix surpassed all previous experiences. The ladies at the front desk, especially, are remarkably helpful (thank you, Keisha and Gabriella)!

The location of the hotel is also perfect. I was a little worried about not having a formal beach, but we never missed it for a second. The pool is clean, relaxing, and provides a gorgeous view of the water. And, when you want to swim in the sea, the nearest pier provides the best swimming experience in San Pedro. We absolutely LOVED snorkeling around Paradise Pier and swimming with the locals. Then, we'd come back to the pool and order fabulous drinks by Rolando! (BEST mojito EVER!)

The rooms are large, beautifully furnished, spotlessly cleaned, and luxurious. We stayed in D3, and it had one of the best views/balconies on the property. The beds are also very comfortable. My only complaint would be that the couches are not comfy at all, but that was just a blip.

I will say that we were not at all impressed by the restaurant, Red Ginger. I've written about it in another review, so I won't say more here. But I will say that there are PLENTY of delicious places to eat within walking distance, which is one of the reasons why The Phoenix is so perfectly located.

We have very high standards, and we would stay at The Phoenix again in a second. This was the kind of resort experience that helped MAKE our trip.

Room Tip: D3 is the best 2 BR on the property! Great view, perfect location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emiliewasmyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    40
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
320
376
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The only thing bad about the Phoenix is having to say goodbye to this perfect little resort.

The Phoenix seems to get it all right. From check in to check out nothing is overlooked. We stayed in a 2br suite with our 2 sons. It was absolutely perfect. Huge balcony, comfortable beds, beautiful views. Nothing too fancy yet it was a perfect fit for the vibe of the island. This place it's built to last. Everything is in great condition. No hint of deferred repairs as one so often sees in the Caribbean.

The breakfasts and poolside service is where we had most of our meals. Very reasonably priced for a resort. Breakfast for 4 was usually less than we would spend at diner in NYC. Food was very good.


Let me end by saying Ambregis Caye is not for everyone. If you are looking for glamor and luxury or high end shopping and restaurants then you should not come here. If you want to relax on an island where everyone is happy, with beautiful diving, snorkeling and fishing then this is your place. No amazing white sand beach in front of hotel, but you can swim off pier right in front of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeGaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

In the heart of town this place is an oasis. The only time you're reminded that you're not away from the city is the seldom fire truck sounds. The resort staff, restaurant and pool bar are first class. Rooms are beautiful, with views from each balcony. Having travelled all over the Caribbean and Central America, San Pedro is our favorite spot. Beautiful, low low key, safe, unique, awesome locals, fishing, diving and easy to get to. The Phoenix just adds to this list!!

Take a golf cart out for a few day trips up north of the toll bridge ($5usd) to see a different side of the island. If you don't mind a bit of adventure and bumpy roads, you will see the white sands and beautiful resorts that look right onto the reef.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

My fist time in Belize and I will absolutely be going back! The Phoenix is gorgeous and located right on the beach! Shout out to Rolando and Josh at the pool bar who make the best drinks! Everyone was very friendly and extremely helpful. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at The Phoenix. We were a little worried when we first pulled up because it looked as if we were in the middle of the city, but then we were taken to our beautiful ocean view room and were thrilled! The rooms were huge with large porches - probably the nicest I've seen in any hotel I've stayed at! The staff was wonderful and they booked us on two incredible excursions (on one of them my 8 year old said it was the best day of his life!). The service at Red Ginger is wonderful as well. All in all a GREAT vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Great vacation. We are very glad we chose the Phoenix. It lives up to its reputation. The staff is great, all nice and helpful. A shout out to Maurice, Josh and Rolando from the pool/Red Ginger staff as well as all the young ladies at the front desk! The beachfront suite was beautiful and well decorated. It was comfortable with a full kitchen and washer/dryer. Restaurant is very good and numerous other restaurants, water related activities and shops within walking distance. We will return.

Room Tip: The beachfront suite was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at this fantastic resort for about one week. We travel a lot, and I would be hard pressed to name a resort that offers better value for your money. While traveling abroad, I rarely feel as if I'm getting more than I paid for. The Phoenix Resort is a stunning exception (i.e., a huge 2 bedroom apartment with an enormous balcony that is the size of a grand suite, complimentary use of an iPad and cell phone, great service, etc). If you choose to stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC100Club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing