We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed our last three days at the Phoenix. We stayed at Ramon's our first five nights. It was a nice variation, they places flowers on our bed when we got there. You have to be careful to place a do not disturb sign on the door because the staff walk in sometimes! The staff were all kind and the amenities were amazing. We cooked breakfast each day and enjoyed our amazing view. Loved the Phoenix!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank susanjane81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

I rarely write a 5 star hotel review, but in the week we spent here I thought hard about a single negative about our stay and came up empty. On the last day of our visit, one of our friends who left a day early brought the wrong passport to the airport and the hotel actually sent someone via jetski to reach her roommate on a dive boat to get the code for the hotel safe to retrieve her visa and send her on her way home. #customerservice. I cant think of another place I'd rather stay in san pedro. Seriously best in class.

Note to management: You guys nailed it. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: As best I can tell, all rooms are excellent. Well furnished, well stocked, great place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We just had an amazing stay at the Phoenix. Our condo was beautiful, clean and modern. Granite, stainless steal appliances, big comfortable beautiful beds, and nice linens on the inside. On the outside it was meticulously maintained and had a beautiful two level pool plus great pool side bar/service.

We could walk to all the restaurants downtown and had amazing excursions- why? Because of Pam! Pam the concierge was amazing. I had specific requirements and wanted some custom trips and she came through every time! From making our reservations from Belize city on Air tropic to an amazing snorkeling trip to Hol Chan with Chuck and Robbie's to my dive trip to the Blue Hole, everything was perfect.

Don't bother looking anywhere else, I'll save you all the research and tell you to stay at the Phoenix!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cali_Fam_Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I don't normally take the time to write reviews but I really want y'all to know that what everyone else says here is true! Very well run resort! Loved the very spacious 2 bedroom condo. Very clean! The staff here goes beyond their normal duties! When they learned the wifi wasn't working in the back room they were working on a solution immediately. Speaking of wifi...it is free everywhere!!

Pam at the front desk helped me the most but all front desk staff were very helpful, friendly, and efficient. We rented a golf cart thru the hotel, drove north and popped a tire about 4 miles away. We went to the nearest hotel, called the Phoenix and told them our problem and where we were, we went to the pool bar and had a few drinks, swam in their pool and an hour later we walked out and it was fixed! Oh! And they waived the rental fee for our troubles!

Loved their sister restaurants The Blue Water Grill (ate there three times) and Caliente. Oh! On Thursday nights, next door to Caliente, is the Chicken Drop! Check it out! Good fun!

Also, head up to Palapa bar (about 4 miles up) and relax in an inner-tube in the ocean while they bring drinks to you. The food is made fresh so it takes time to get to you...you won't be in an hurry anyway. Also, further north at about 5 miles up is Rojo Lounge Bar and their pizza and Thai food was amazing! If you don't want to drive a golf cart, you can take a water taxi.

I totally agree with Beachcomber972's comments below (Hi Roger!) except we had a fine time at Chuck and Robbies doing the Hol Chan Combo Snorkle/DiveTour.

I'd happily answer any questions if anyone has some...we LOVED the Phoenix!! Can't wait till my 50th! (well, I can but I'll be excited to return to Belize!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momof3boyz1dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The vast majority of the reviews you see here are accurate. The Phoenix is almost certainly the best resort in this region of the island. Great location, superb staff, very well maintained, great restaurant and pool bar. It's at the North end of the "action" but you would never know it while sitting at the pool. The suites are spacious and well appointed. It is within easy walking distance to everything you need. We have traveled extensively throughout the Caribbean for 15 years and The Phoenix is among the best values we have encountered. We re-booked prior to leaving.

In addition to WHICH resort to choose, our other dilemma was WHERE on the island to be. In a nutshell, the resorts North of San Pedro tend to be slightly more sedate. The Phoenix itself was comfortably quiet but the surroundings are more lively. If you want luxury and quiet with easy access to some action, it's perfect. If you want complete quiet and solitude, go North.

One additional note. The resort recommends Chuck and Robbie's for diving. We felt that they were too busy, expensive and less than friendly (the dive master was fine though). We found Mystical Adventures and they were FANTASTIC. They also do other excursions. Reference our specific review on them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachcomber972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed here on my first visit to Belize and am glad I did. The service was exceptional and the location was great. I'll be back next year. In fact I booked my return for next year prior to my departure!!!

Room Tip: Any condo at this location is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oilmkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Visited San Pedro, Belize for 5 days to check out the destination and determine why is has become so popular with American tourists. The Phoenix Resort could not have been nicer! From the warm welcome by the front office staff to the lovely, well appointed suite, excellent Red Ginger Restaurant, and a very friendly and accommodating housekeeping staff - it was exceptional. Recommendations for dining spots and places to go by the desk were all very well handled and expectations were always met and often exceeded. The experience from the reservation process to receiving follow up communications made the visit to a new destination comfortable and easy. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: A view of the pool and sea are typical and everything works perfectly - at least that was our experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
356 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £241 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing