We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the reviews are spot on”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All the reviews are spot on”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have just returned from a seven night stay at the Phoenix and all I can say is one word - amazing! The staff, the location, and the view from the balcony were all top notch. My wife and I will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank appst98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
335
394
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a fantastic resort. It is right in San Pedro. We had the 2 bedroom (D2) that is right on the water..literally walk 15 steps. The way the room is situated it seems like you have your own house with a yard. We loved it so much we had dinner out on our patio 3 nights...you just could not beat the view. The people are fantastic..they really make the stay that much more enjoyable. I want to say a big thank you to Keisha and Gabriela at the front desk...they worked with me for months to put together different excursions. They also provided a cake and decorated the room for our birthday girl. It was truly so thoughtful and above and beyond what one would expect. I also want to thank Ramon at the pool...within the first 5 minutes he knew our names and provided excellent service. The only down side is that there is no beach and no real access to the water from this resort...HOWEVER, rent a boat and get out into the bay and enjoy all that it has to offer..this is not the beach sitting kind of place. (see my review on Catamaran Belize for the best choice for rental) Thanks again Phoenix for a perfect week!!

Room Tip: D2 is the PERFECT room...ground floor..ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texasgirl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Tripadvisor has informed me that I have only traveled 6% of the world. With 94% to go, it could be considered profligate to re-visit any one destination. With that in mind, we have attempted to broaden our travel horizons but always end up comparing our stay with Belize, Ambergris Caye and in particular, the Phoenix Resort.

Most destinations have at least one flaw. It may be too inaccessible, dangerous, expensive, touristy or exploitative. That flaw tends to loom over and color an otherwise acceptable holiday. I can say without reservation that the Phoenix and its surrounds have none of these.

The real strength of the Phoenix is that it is a fine and caring establishment located in a simple and non-touristy small town surrounded by the beauty of its beaches, culture and people. Here is a picture of some of that beauty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpolliver
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from a week at the Phoenix. All the reviews are spot on. The staff works as a team and treats you like a guest, not a booking. Our room (D4) was very well appointed and had a balcony overlooking the beach (very relaxing). I'm a diver, my wife not so much and she enjoyed lolling by the pool being served drinks by the guys. Overall, a near fantasy Caribbean island type resort. My only ding is the restaurant. We ate there one night and one breakfast. The food was good, the service excellent. However, the ambiance was.... sterile, especially compared to the rest of the resort. They should consider moving some dining tables out to the sand next to the beach, but inside the resort enclosure. At night, the resort is quiet.

A word of advice about Ambergris Caye. The town is a sleepy Carribean fishing village attached to a scuba destination, sprinkled with some fine resorts. Ramon's Village has a Disney-like Tiki-tiki village feel, Victoria House feels like an English seaside resort, Phoenix has more of a California Malibu resort ambiance. All are great, depending on your preference. We met many other vacationers during the week and rarely heard a complaint about any of the top 20 or so resorts.

But don't expect Cancun or Paradise Island. The beach restaurants are generally nice, a couple of the local restaurants are nice, the locals are welcoming and friendly, but the shopping is non-existent, and nightlife consists of a few beach bars ( mostly deserted). The one time we saw an evening crowd of tourists they were congealed around a game of chicken-poop bingo. Early May is the shoulder season and the town felt deserted. The three streets that comprise town are definitely not tourist oriented. As a scuba diver, it was great. As an accompanying spouse, it could have had more things to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jpolliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The 5 star ratings are well deserved for The Phoenix. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the rooms are spacious, modern and comfortable, and all have beach views. The pool area is beautiful and relaxing. The Phoenix is located close to San Pedro restaurants, bars and shopping, but is a quiet, wonderful place. The real treasure of The Phoenix, though, is the staff – all of the staff, from the front desk to security to housekeeping and management. We could not have had a better experience. The front desk staff is incredible – Pam, Alecia, Keisha, Rose, Gabriela and Andrew go out of their way to make you happy. They have great restaurant suggestions, take care of transportation, are friendly and truly seem to love their jobs. Rolondo and Josh at the pool bar are great and a lot of fun. The servers and food at Red Ginger are also excellent. I had a medical issue while in Belize and The Phoenix accommodated our extended stay and the staff checked with my husband and me regularly to make sure we had everything we needed. They really went above and beyond. Everything about The Phoenix is special and we can’t wait to return on our next diving trip.

Room Tip: I believe they all have beach views. We were in the "B" building and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We just returned from a one week stay at the Phoenix. We have only wonderful things to say about it. My husband and I stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with ocean view. While we only needed one bedroom it was worth the extra $100/night to stay here. We were in a room on the third floor which was fine for us but there are no elevators and everything needs to be carried up. With that said, the hotel took care of everything for us. Each room is equipped with a large tank of filtered water and we always felt bad for the staff that had to carry it up. The hotel is very centrally located. The hotel is quite yet a few steps away for all the restaurants and 'life' of San Pedro.

We used all of their complimentary services. We paddled boarded, kayaked, and biked. They rent the equipment from local businesses so it almost always available within 15 minutes of the request. We actually rented bikes 3 of the days and spent time biking around the Island and along the beach.

The staff at the hotel is WONDERFUL. They will assist you with any help, suggestions, recommendations, or anything else you may have. We discussed restaurants with them daily and they guided us the correct direction regarding tours and activities.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, New York
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

All the previous reviews were right on. The top 5 reasons I love this place are staff, pools, grounds, condos and location. Pam and the front desk group are the most amazing group of customer service individuals I have ever encountered. The pools are awesome and surrounded by meticulous gardens. The condo is large, well-stocked, and offers a gorgeous bathroom and convenient washer/dryer. Keurig coffeemakers and coffee pods are provided, but we enjoy serious coffee so they also gave us a coffeemaker and coffee - how wonderful was that! The location is so convenient for walking to restaurants, grocery stores, bakeries, shops, etc. We already reserved our week for next year - that's a real testament to a resort.

Room Tip: The better views are up 2 levels of stairs, but I think every condo has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milliegordon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
851 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing