We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phoenix magnificent ”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Great location near all the happening. Service was impeccable, views were great. Very large accommodations. All the staff was friendly and helpful. No better place to stay in Ambergris Caye. Walk to all the great restaurants, no need to look elsewhere unless you want to travel a longer distance to town.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank pgolden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our stay at the Phoenix was perfect- the grounds are extremely well kept, and the staff are all extremely friendly--- there is one issue that my wife and I ran into that I feel I need to share with other travelers- as soon as you step off of the grounds there are teenagers riding around on bicycles trying to sell necklaces and other things- we decided to buy a couple from one of the kids-- biggest mistake of our trip---- he would not leave us alone the rest of our stay-- he was never allowed on the grounds, but as soon as we walked off compound- there he was trying to peddle more stuff--- we were trying to "help" a young kid that was very well spoken and it ended w us being harassed for 3 full days- we rented a golf cart, would wave the kid off, then go park to go to one of the nice restaurants around town, only to find this kid sleeping on our cart when we walked back--- we should have brought it to the attention of the Phoenix, but not wanting to stir up trouble w the kids extended family we decided to just deal w it---- so, in short, do yourselves a favor and stick to the market area for purchases-- we would stay at the Phoenix again in a heartbeat, but we would save our "souvenir shopping" for the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Buildertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived at The Phoenix after delayed flights and a bit stressed. The staff greeted us warmly and offered a yummy rum punch which was as welcome as the complementary taxi from the airport. We had a spectacular room with the largest wrap-around deck one could imagine. The daily cleaning and turn-down service couldn't have been better. We enjoyed a "mixer" and one in our group won a free item from their lobby gift shop. The pools were clean, the bar staff friendly, and the sand was raked (cleaned) daily. They helped with cabs, restaurant recommendations and reservations. This is the place to stay in San Pedro!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

When I first read all the reviews for the Phoenix I was a bit skeptical, how can one hotel be that good. Well after staying for a week believe what you’ve read. The minute we walked through the doors, the staff knew us, and our room was beyond what we imagined. Every moment was made special by Mark and his staff, we wanted to do a couple of off island adventures, all we had to do was talk to the front desk and they took care of everything. The companies they use for these adventures are nothing but first rate.
If you are looking for a Cancun type vacation you’ve picked the wrong place. If you are looking for a place where every one is friendly, where the food is phenomenal, and beauty surrounds you, San Pedro is the place.
Please keep an open mind when choosing places to dine, the exteriors may not be the prettiest but the interiors are always well kept and very clean. The food is always fresh, and with their use of spices and cooking techniques made almost every meal a pleasant experience. Your best bet is to use trip advisor and The Phoenix staff, many of the restaurants provide free transportation to and from the hotel.
I would be remiss if I did not mention the pool staff and bartenders at the Phoenix, the drinks were always good and the food service from the Red Ginger was very good.
We cannot wait to return.
Thank You

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I almost didn't write a review because everyone else is also raving about how wonderful the resort actually is. We booked a one bedroom suite, but when we arrived we were given a two bedroom suit. It was HUGE! Both bathrooms easily accommodate two people at a time, with plenty of storage in the closets and drawers. The kitchen is fully functional with anything you'd need (if you're into cooking on a vacation). Everything worked as expected, the wifi was strong in the room, and they priovide you with a local cell phone for use while on the island. We rented a golf cart and although we had it for about five hours, were only charge for four (half day was around $45 USD). Food in the Red Orchid was good for breakfast and dinner. We did not give it a chance for lunch, as there were too many other options in San Pedro. All of the staff were very accommodating and pleasant.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views. Third floor beach front (with wrap around balconies) have ocean view blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mom4J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband took me to Belize for my birthday...didn't know what to expect. But when we arrived at the hotel (cab ride was all arranged in advance by the Phoenix), we were greeted with delicious cold and scented towels and a drink with an optional rum shot - thank you, Pam! The service was incredible from every employee we encountered (from front desk - Pam, arranging tours - Gabriella, pool bar and restaurant - Rolando and Maurice). Then there was the very spacious room - with kitchen. And to celebrate my birthday, they decorated the bedspread with hibiscus and bougainvillea petals which spelled out "Happy Birthday". They also put a birthday cake and a bd card signed by the entire staff in the kitchen AND a small bottle of the local rum (which as delicious!) along with recipes of suggested rum drinks. The entire trip was incredible due in no small part to the staff and their attention to detail. When can I go back????

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Before we even arrived, Mark, Pam and staff were helping make arrangments and plans to make our trip wonderful. This was probably the best experience we've ever had with so much help from the hotel. Amenities, arrangements, staff, etc couldn't have been better. After we arrived, Gabriella was also a great asset in making our way around the island, even walking with us to the ATM. Rolando - well....he got us hooked on Dirty Bananas! YUM!!
The place was exceptionally clean. Red Ginger breakfast was delicious and superb service. The Phoenix was definitely a great choice for lodging! The people of Belize are fantastic!!

Room Tip: Stayed in B5 - top floor - view straight out to the sea - great spot - 1 bedroom. Really liked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dontstayhome_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
356 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £241 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing