We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the pool”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2009

This past November my husband and I and our 7 month old stayed at the Pheonix hotel with our extended family. The condo was lovely, and we especially enjoyed the wonderful balcony overlooking the water. Having a full kitchen not only saves you money, but is great when you have to prepare quick meals for little ones. But the unforgettable part of the resort is the pool-not only is it beautiful to look at, but it extremely kid friendly, as there are various levels and lots of places to explore. Our baby was even able to sit in the shallow in and splash around-she loved it! My mother especially enjoyed the separate lap pool and could be found early every morning swimming. The outdoor bar was not quite finished when were there, but I imagine it adds much to the pool area as well. The location is perfect, as we were able to walk to restaurants and shops nearby. Finally, the staff was quite friendly and were able to meet all our needs.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthFuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2009

I recently spent 10 days at the Phoenix, my 5th trip to San Pedro. I've enjoyed other resorts I have stayed at in the past, but now looking back it's just hard to even compare to the Phoenix. Location wise it is ideal, just north of town, so a bit quiter, but still right there. SO much more spacious and as bad as it is to admit, it was really nice to have the TV channel list and wi-fi that none of the other resorts had. The staff was extremely friendly and seemed to genuinely enjoy being there. We made buddies with the pool bartender :). It was really nice to have the full kitchen particularly for saving money on breakfast and making fresh fruit smoothies. But my favorite part is the view of the pool (where I spent all my time) and the Carribean, seeing them both in the same view. And sunsets on the roof. Siiigh, I miss that. I recommend going now because I think once this place is discovered, you will have some competition!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IHeartTravelnyc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

My husband, myself and two of our adult children recently stayed at The Phoenix and were delighted! We've been to Ambergris Caye before and have walked by the site while it was still under construction. From what we could tell then it was going to be a spectacular resort so we made sure to check for availability when we planned this trip. I'm so glad we did! The property is beautifully-landscaped using a variety of exotic looking plants and flowers, but the true centerpiece of the site is the pool. There are various hidden treasures like the shallow areas where you can sit in a lounge chair or the bench under the waterfall. My favorite is looking out over the infinity edge to the sea. Our condo was spacious and comfortable with all the amenities of home, which we took advantage of a few nights by staying-in, cooking and watching DVDs. There was more than ample closet space, the beds were extremely comfortable and the jacuzzi tub in the master bath is heavenly! The location on the northern edge of town was a major advantage. The other times we've stayed on the island, we've had to take a taxi or boat in order to get to all the restaurants and bars in town. Staying at the Phoenix, we had easy access to all of those places and still enjoyed luxurious accommodations. I would definitely recommend this resort to any travelers looking for a top-notch resort closer to town.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank njteachermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

In November 2008, my husband I spent our honeymoon at the Phoenix. What an amazing experience! The views from the condo, deck, and pool were breathtaking. The pictures we viewed online before our trip did not do the actual view justice. The condo itself was a work of art. The furniture and doors were all made from natural woods native to the area; what wonderful craftsmanship! The grounds were well maintained – both safe and clean. We felt very safe, especially coming back late at night, as we were always greeted by the night guard who would chat with us about our day. We enjoyed a variety of activities during our stay including snorkeling, fishing, biking, couples massage, yoga, and many great restaurants. We would definitely highly recommend the Phoenix to anyone looking to visit San Pedro.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

My wife and I came here with our 2- and 4-year-olds, and it was a perfect week. First of all, this place is both luxurious and tasteful. The condo was top quality in every way -- from the bedding to the handmade natural wood doors. (Even the closets are beautiful!)

Perhaps the highlight of the place is the pool. It is so perfect for kids. It's big, but so much of it is super-shallow. There are so many "nooks and crannies" for kids to discover. Plus, when other people were in the pool, you didn't feel like you were all on top of each other. Our kids wanted to be in at least twice a day, every day. (And this was in late November, when it was not even THAT warm.)

All in all, we loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouieLouie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

The Phoenix was recommended by friends and I have to say we were not disappointed. The grounds were clean and well maintained. The pool was beautiful and received a 10 from the kids. We stayed in a 2 bdrm condo and found it to be large and nicely appointed. All items needed for a lengthy stay were available i.e., kitchen utensils, coffee maker etc. The veranda had a full view of the ocean and made for a great gathering point in the evening The staff was first rate and always helpful and made customer service a priority. The location of The Phoenix is perfect as it's within walking distance of most of the restaurants and a couple grocery stores. We'll absolutely be staying here again and look forward both to the opening of the restaurant and the spa moving into it's permanent location. This will only add to the overall experience. I've been to San Pedro several times and I'll never book anywhere else again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank velvetrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sleiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#4 of 55 in San Pedro
379 reviews
2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
500 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £254 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing