We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a Class by Itself”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed at The Phoenix from 7/31-8/7. I first found out about The Phoenix from Trip Advisor and all of the great reviews. The Phoenix STILL managed to exceed all of our expectations.

I initially contacted The Phoenix in April with a general inquiry that Mark answered promptly. At the time, we had debated between a cruise and Belize. Mark's initial responsiveness put the ball firmly in The Phoenix's court.

Pamela was invaluable answering my email questions and arranging for our flight on Tropic Air. She also coordinated a roof top dinner at the resort at sunset for our anniversary and arranged a few excursions prior to our arrival. Pamela is a true gem and an asset to the resort.

Our flight arrived in Belize City early, and Tropic Air put us on an earlier flight. We did have to put our duty free liquor into our checked baggage. All of our carryons had to be checked, too, since the planes are 12 seaters. It was a quick and beautiful 15 minute flight to San Pedro. Tropic Air has a brand new air conditioned terminal in San Pedro. Be sure to check out the huge reef aquarium. Bags are delivered to a roped off area near the street. A cab was quickly called, and we had a short 5 minute drive to The Phoenix. The Phoenix paid for the cab. We were so excited, we forgot to tip the driver, but remembered to do so on our return trip.

We were greeted at check-in by Rose (another sweetie) and Stacey and two delicious ginger-infused drinks. Stacey showed us around the resort, and Rose reconfirmed our first excursion for us. Stacey is a lovely, kind, caring person. She made us feel like family.

We had a one bedroom suite. Simply put, this is the nicest room we've ever stayed in, even beating the JW Marriott in Cancun. The kitchen had a double sink, refrigerator with ice maker, toaster, dishwasher, blender, coffeemaker, purified water, and every utencil, dish, cup, pan you could need. There is a beautiful granite island with the sinks where you can also pull up a chair for an informal meal.

There is a dining table set off to the side with a fold down leaf. The living room has a couch and love seat, along with a huge coffee table. The Vizio TV is nicer than what we have at home. There are 2 ceiling fans in the living room. The living room leads to the enormous verandah. Our view looked straight out over the lap pool and directly to the ocean. It was a stunning view from the second floor. (Note: if steps are a problem, you may want to try and get a first floor room.) There was a dining table with four chairs and two loungers on the patio area.

The bedroom had beautiful mahogany doors on the ample closet space (ironing board, safe, comfy robes, and umbrella in the closets). There was also a large chest of drawers with four drawers. The closet also had shelf space. The bedroom also opens up onto the verandah. Another ceiling fan is in the bedroom, along with reading lights above the bed, and a separate chair. The bed was extra comfortable with high thread count sheets. There is another Vizio TV in the bedroom.

The bathroom was enormous and fabulous and I'm running out of adjectives. The walk in shower was large and had wonderful details like a recessed light, bench seat, and high-end shower head. There is an exhaust fan in the bathroom, which is always a nice touch. Double sinks here, too, along with a shelf above to stash stuff, and two large drawers in the vanity. The jacuzzi tub was heavenly - it filled up quickly, and came in handy the one day we had rain.

Other nice touches included the washer and dryer. It was so great not to have piles of dirty clothes everywhere. They even have a drying rack for wet bathing suits. They provide laundry detergent to start, but we bought a small package of detergent in one of the many small grocery stores for $1.00 U.S.

There is a computer for general use off of the lobby. I'm very glad I did not lug my own lap top. It made it easy to check email. They also gave us a cell phone with 10 minutes at check-in. We never used it.

The fitness center is just fine for the size of the resort: one treadmill, elipical, and 2 bikes, plus a weight machine and freeweights with various other light equipment (balls, yoga mats). There is a TV in the room and beautiful views of the grounds and the Caribbean. We used the fitness center every morning, and it was a key reason why we chose The Phoenix since we work out daily at home.

I had a 60 minute massage done at the Sol Spa on the day it rained (I made the reservation in the morning for an afternoon massage). The therapist asked all of the right questions and was quite good.

The photos on The Phoenix website do not do the grounds and pools justice. The lap pool is the perfect length to have a workout or relax on the bench seats under the shade. The infinity pool is lovely, and I loved the shallow areas where we could have our loungers sit in the water. Again, plenty of bench areas to relax, or lay on the wall on the infinity end and have water cascade underneath me. Beach towels are provided at the pool. The shallower pool was perfect for families with kids.

The grounds are meticulously well maintained and beautiful. We get up early in the mornings, and the groundskeepers were all busy maintaining the grounds from early in the morning, including raking the sand near the sea wall.

The housekeeping was exceptional. We loved that they came fairly early in the morning, which is great for us because we are early risers. The room was left spotless, and they would even run the dishwasher for us.

There is a dock immediately to the north (100 feet) of the resort that is great for swimming (there are steps leading down to the water). This is also the dock where we met Alphonse for our three snorkel trips - 2 to Hol Chan Sharkray Alley and 1 to Mexico Rocks. Alphonse took great care of us, although the ladders on his boats make it a bit tricky to re-enter the boat. I just wanted to point this out because it could be difficult if you have mobility issues. We loved being able to snorkel freely at Mexico Rocks. Sharkray Alley was simply something you have to see to believe. All sizes of nurse sharks and rays would flock to Alphonse's boat as soon as he tossed over chum.

We also talked to Ecologic Divers (just south of the resort) about a tour, but the scheduling did not work out. They, too, were very friendly and helpful and have gotten good reviews.

We also took a sunset cruise with El Gato on a catamaran. The cruise was lovely, but just a note that you really do not want to have to use the restroom facilities on the cat.

Our rooftop sunset dinner was spectacular. We could order off of the Red Ginger regular menu or tasting menu. Jorge took great care of us. We did the tasting menu which included Grouper Ceviche and pork ribs.

The frozen mojitos are delicious!

There is an outside shower between two of the buildings which is great for rinsing off after the Sea.

One small note for other guests: although the rooms are very well sound proofed, the breezeways outside of the rooms does create an echo. I don't think our neighbors realized how loud they were coming home in the wee hours of the morning.

We also ate at Elvi's Kitchen for dinner (twice - it was that good and I loved the sand floor); Wild Mangos (great pulled pork with pickled onions); Estel's (what's better than a sandy floor, sangria, and enormous burritos?); Fido's (great service and live music Sunday afternoons); and Caliente (the best ceviche we ate). Salty Dog had great gifts and souveniers (Beliken tshirts for $15 U.S.). Belizean Arts (in Fido's courtyard) had wonderful art from Central America. I found a beautiful purse and a funky cow mask.

Ritchie's ended up being our favorite grocery store (just a block north of the hotel), followed closely by the Greenhouse (which had Sausage Factory sausage and Casa Pan Dulce Bakery goods - yum!).

Everything went fine with our departure, Pamela even reconfirmed our Tropic Air flight. They also pay for the cab back to the airport.

I wish they had another star for the rating system, because The Phoenix is truly in a class by itself. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nittany&Fargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
There are newer reviews for The Phoenix Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

This was our first trip to Belize and I stayed at the Phoenix in one of the 3 bedroom condos with my 3 kids ages 18-25. I can't say enough great things about the staff and the quality of the resort and service. From booking this resort with Mark to planning our many expeditions (cave tubing, zip lines, snorkeling, fishing, shark alley) with Stacey and Pam, everyone was extremely helpful and very responsive. Our condo was spotless and perfect for our needs. We made breakfast daily and snacked there but otherwise ate at many of the favorite local spots-every meal we ate was great!. The grounds, fitness center and pool were also kept in immaculate condition and Rolando did an excellent job serving us at the pool. Everyone one was extremely polite and couldn't do enough for us. We ate at the Red Ginger on our last night and had an excellent meal. The location was ideal-really no need for transportation-we walked everywhere except to/from the airport. I will definitely return to Belize and the Phoenix! Rene', Colorado

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My husband and I decided to go to The Phoenix in Belize for our honeymoon after hearing the glowing reviews from a friend. I have to say, I am forever indebted to this friend of mine for her incredible recommendation. When we were planning the trip, the staff helped us get all the details squared away from the flight from Belize City to San Pedro to the taxi waiting to take us from the airport to the resort. When we arrived at the Phoenix, we were greeting with smiling faces, the Phoenix's signature drink, and a tour of the grounds from the Director of Operations, Mark. He showed us around, and then finally to our condo - a two bedroom, two bathroom monster of a place that was stunningly beautiful, overlooked the pools and the ocean with huge windows and doors leading out to the balcony, and the special touch of hibiscus flowers tucked in all over the place. I was further delighted to find out that our condo was equipped with a full kitchen (fridge, freezer, stove, oven, blender, microwave, garbage disposal, dish washer, dishes, glasses, etc.), as well as a jacuzzi, cell phone to make local calls and a washer/dryer. SCORE! Mark also took the liberty of putting a few Belizian treats into the fridge for us!

Without gushing too much, we had the most relaxing 11 day vacation ever. The pool area was beautiful, and we spent our days alternating between the lounge chairs that sit in the pool (amazing), the ones out in the sun, and the ones under the umbrellas. The poolside frozen mojitos were absolutely delicious! On days when we didn't just want to lounge in the pools, or swim in the lap pool, the staff at the Phoenix gave us great suggestions of things we can do, like snorkeling, and even booked the excursions for us. (Hint: if you want to do a snorkeling trip, ask for Alfonse! He is the best!) They also suggested some incredible restaurants, bars, and places we could walk to if we just wanted to explore.

I would be remiss in this review if I didn't mention two details: the food, and the storm. In the entire 11 days we were there, we did not have a single bad meal on San Pedro Island! In fact, I wrote a whole blog about the food, with pictures and everything. We went to a different restaurant for lunch/dinner almost every day and each place delighted us more than the last! Many of them were recommended to us by the Phoenix staff. The best meal we had, though, was definitely the 5-course tasting menu at Red Ginger, the restaurant at The Phoenix. Amazing food and a really incredible deal!

While we were there, a Tropical Storm came through, right over Belize. This is where the Phoenix really amazed me. Not only did Mark make sure that everyone was prepared for the storm, but the staff worked overtime to make sure that every possible precaution was in place. They brought in tables and chairs, gave every condo emergency lights in case we lost power, buckets of water in case the water lines went out, and made sure our cell phones were charged. They went to every room to check in with the guests and make sure there were no questions and that everyone knew who to contact with their cell in case of an emergency. Top notch. We woke up in the morning to find the usual storm damage: broken branches, leaves in the pool, etc. And at 7am, the staff was already working on making the resort beautiful again. By noon that day, the grounds were perfect, the pool was clean, the tables and chairs were out for everyone to use, and The Phoenix looked as though the storm had never been there. The rest of the island had signs down and broken branches around for a few more days, but the Phoenix was picturesque.

The rooms were beautiful, and clean. Everything we needed was at our fingertips the entire time. The bed was amazing to sleep in. And honestly, I have paid more money for dingy little hotel rooms in far less exotic places! I am recommending the Phoenix and a vacation to Belize to everyone I know!

For many, many reasons, the Phoenix was a wonderful place to vacation. I cannot wait to go back again to enjoy the luxurious accommodations, and to visit the staff who were more like friends by the end of the trip. And, of course, to eat the amazing food non-stop for the duration of the trip!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank msmoesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We just returned from a WONDERFUL week at this amazing resort. Everything you've read is true... from the quick flight from Belize City to San Pedro to the greeting at reception from Pamela and Rose and the welcome cocktail from Toa - to the tour of our condo by Stacey - the photos on the web site are absolutely what you get --our condo #A-1 was huge with great views of the pool on one side and the ocean on the other. We walked to beach and enjoyed the people of Belize. The snorkling with Lil Alphonse and the diving woth the folks at the Ecological Dive center - a 2 minute walk from the resort - We made friends with the people (Emerson and Daniel) of Hurricanes (tanisha's) a short walk down the beach - 5 minutes -- the golf cart rental and driving the island was a hoot as there are very few "paved" roads but made the drive more fun --

A visit to the new butterfly room at the Belize Yacht club and going across the bridge to the North side of the island either waking or by golf cart are not to be missed taking time to stop at Coco Locos and the Palapa Bar - you can even get a ride back to the Phoenix by water taxi if you've had a little to much fun!

All and all -- it was certainly a great vacation and a perfect a great relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sczooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The Phoenix is everything advertised. It starts with the arrangement of your air travel over from Belize City, paid taxi ride from the airport on Ambergris Caye and continues on throughout your stay. The resort is very well kept, inside and out. The staff are all exceptional and very accomodating. There is on-site security to make you feel safe during your stay. I went here with my wife and two friends and we had an absolute blast! Coming back to the Phoenix after a long day of activities was always something we looked forward to.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

My wife and I just celebrated our 40th anniversary at the Phoenix Belize. We had been to San Pedro many times and have stayed at hotels up and down the beach. We even got to watch the Phoenix Belize while it was being built. Finally on this trip we got to stay there. The two weeks that we were there far exceeded our expectations. The location is great - within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The grounds are amazing - they are immaculate - and with only 30 condos it feels intimate while at the same time being new and modern. The rooms are huge with high ceilings, stainless steel appliances, and top notch amenities. However what makes the Phoenix Belize so special is the staff. Every person that we came in contact with, whether it was the office staff, the maids, the waiters, the bar tender, or the gardener, greeted us with a smile and asked if there was anything that they could do to make our visit more pleasant. The Phoenix Belize made our 40th anniversary seem like a honeymoon. We have already started planning next year's trip for our 41st.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YayaShare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This resort and the staff were outstanding. I actually found out about the resort by reading reviews on this site and the great feedback people gave was spot on. Everyone that works at the Phoenix was extremely nice and helpful. These are not your typical rooms. They are condos with full kitchen, dining area, living area, washer/dryer, walk in showers, etc.... Tons of room for the price, new, and very well kept. This has to be one of the best bargains in all of Belize.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
857 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £237 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing