We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar/Pizza”
Review of Rojo Beach Bar

Rojo Beach Bar
Ranked #30 of 191 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$39
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Yo-ho Rojo! Coming into our 12th season, Rojo Beach Bar is still the casual kind of place a beach bar ought to be. 3 gorgeous acres and hundreds of feet of beachfront with great snorkeling so don't forget your bathing suits and masks! Food is ordered AT THE BEACH BAR or by the runner outside the bar (there are NO waitstaff). Reason being is we are small and we don't get too crowded...a plus for you! So, we prefer to under promise and over deliver! If it's a typical day, you will be served and our staff is great! If it gets REALLY busy, we might be short-handed behind the bar, in which case you might not have a dedicated "runner/sever." Dishes are served family style, one or two at a time, with the idea that they're going to be shared over frosty drinks and lively conversation. There are no "appetizers" or "mains" per se, just tasty food. Our staff is small and everything is made from scratch. Sometimes this translates into a bit of a wait. If you are waiting for food, we suggest you enjoy a cocktail. If you are waiting for a cocktail, we suggest you relax and enjoy the view! Pet the dogs. Play some games. Happy Hour DAILY from 3pm - 5pm! And QUALITY sushi on Saturdays!
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great bar/Pizza”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The drinks are top shelf and the bartenders are great. The setting and atmosphere is very modern. They have parrots at this bar which makes it all more exciting for the guests. Lots of them. Great gourmet pizza's.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sureshmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    95
    21
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this place! Food and service.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Rojo was right next to our resort, Matachica, and I have to say we spent more time here than at our own place! Mainly due to the amazing Happy Hour from 3-6pm. The place was fun, the staff was super friendly and the drinks were stiff. It was packed almost every time we went! We ate here once. The prices are a bit steep for pizza, but no denying the pizza was some of the best pizza we have ever had!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best atmosphere in San Pedro”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are staying in San Pedro town you'll have to take a boat, or rent a golf cart and drive several miles down a dirt path to eventually get to a small sign for this place. Once you get there you'll be amazed this place could be so well hidden on the north side of san pedro. Bar had excellent drinks which you can enjoy lounging by an infinity pool and looking out onto a secluded part of the beach. True peace and relaxation. Makes you feel like you are on a desserted island. The staff was super friendly and drinks were reasonably priced. I did not try the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Red (Bar) at Night, Sailor's Delight”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Rojo's is a cool place, and travellers would do well to add it their list of places to go for drinks and/or dinner. We were looking for a different option from our hotel's restaurant, and we found it right next door. Rojo's is inviting, laid back, and cool. It's also pretty small, but that just gave it more of an intimate feel. The food was tasty, and the bartender recommended a great virgin mango mojito that wasn't long for this world. The beachfront scene at night was gorgeous, and the lounge seating area off to the side under the stars with the breeze coming in off of the shore was idyllic. The owner/chef came out a little later to grab a drink, relax, and chat with whomever was interested, and he was great, too. He didn't come up to the patrons at all, but, rather, allowed them to come up to him if they were interested. He's an interesting guy with a great location, vision, menu (several unexpected asian-inspired offerings), and philosophy. Although Rojo's menu is small, it's impact was quite large. It's offerings don't try to compete with that which the other restaurants produce. Rather, Rojo's has carved out a nice niche for itself that isn't readily available elsewhere. The bonus were the dogs and cats. They belong to the owner, and they are all great. We loved our time on Ambergris Caye, and we will go back to Rojo's when we return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaikash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This bar is amazing! My husband and I were missing our pets back home and we got our dog and cat fix at this bar. They took in 8 dogs and 3 cats and what is more amazing then having food and petting dogs! We went there twice and each time had the pizza. It was SO delicious. The atmosphere is relaxed and it's a really nice place!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarcieBerlin_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rojo Beach Bar also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Rojo Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing