We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Easthampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bliss”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at Ak'bol in January of 2013 and the 9 days spent there changed my life. Yes, that sounds like an overreaction and if I were reading this I'd assume BS... but it's the truth! I arrived a stressed out, overworked, undernourished, and strung-out. I left able to breathe, able to move my right shoulder, which had been frozen for six months, and able to return to "real-life" with a clearer outlook on the world around me.

Specific praise for Ak'bol has to be for the staff. Every single person associated with Ak'bol was kind, smiley, and helpful. Second, I more than enjoyed the yoga classes. As I mentioned, I could hardly move one of my shoulders, and if you've practiced yoga, you know that many asanas involve moving your shoulders. Kirsten and another teacher, her friend Molly, took special care of me and even incorporated specific postures to help strengthen my shoulder and coax it to be more pliable. I especially loved that when I gave my body a little break during class, I could gaze at the fish swimming under the palapa (through the tiny spaces between the floor boards).

Room Tip: The rooms with the shared bathroom are perfect for one or two travelers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraLynneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    61
    16
    11
    14
See reviews for
39
123
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed at The Phoenix (top notch!), but we took a golf cart out for the day to head north, and decided to stop in Ak'bol for a drink.
The bar was very "local" and super laid-back feeling, far, far away from the touristy areas of San Pedro.
We sat outside and had blended fruit drinks. Delicious!
The atmosphere was very calming We sat next to a couple who were honeymooning there and they said they have never been so relaxed. I believe it.
A spot I just might consider at my next stop in Belize!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have stayed at Ak'Bol twice and each time I had a great experience! The rooms are clean and secure, the staff helpful and friendly, the food to die for(coconut french toast). Never had any problems with doing what I wanted to do, Kirstin or Millo always handled everything from diving, snorkling, and fishing. Meeting new people and the laid back style of Ak'Bol is the perfect place to unplug.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reinie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and I stayed a few minutes north of Ak'bol on a five day vacation and ate breakfast at Ak'bol three of those days. All I can say is try the Coconut French Toast, Huevoes Rancharos and Bloody Mary's. Our bartender/server Philip was terrific. The sites and location of Ak'Bol are fantastic as well.

John & Kris, Harrisburg, PA

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Sadly, my stay was ruined by their refusal to take responsibility -- their water taxi dock is unlit and has periodic open spaces; when getting out of the boat in the dark I stepped backwards and fell through an opening into the dark water. Fortunately I have no fear of water, and was helped. But my iPhone was ruined, and thy took no responsibility, not even offering to contribute to the cost of a new one. Of course I could have sued, but chose to just move on...Too bad, as everything else was lovely. Surprising that a yoga place would be so irresponsible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing, laid back experience where you can experience the local flavor, beauty, and culture of Belize, this is a great place for you! Kirsten and Milio are friendly owners who enjoying talking with their guests and the staff are simply wonderful people. They made me feel right at home! People come from all over the island to enjoy the breakfast food - served all day (highly recommend the coconut french toast, huevos rancheros, and the yogurt parfait!) The yoga classes are heaven - imagine practicing your sun salutations with the waves lapping underneath the dock under a thatched (palapa) hut with the beautiful blue ocean as far as the eye can see. Kirsten is an excellent teacher - I had recently suffered a shoulder injury and she modified the positions for me so that I could still enjoy the class while respecting my body's limitations. Staying at Ak'bol is a direct transport from stress time into island time - everything slows down, you included, and I encourage you to embrace the experience.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the sea garden cabanas and enjoyed the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sultana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Make sure you try te coconut French toast or the multi grain pancakes. The homemade sugar cane cinnamon syrup that is served is incredible. All the egg dishes are great too. Wonderful view of Caribbean. The owners, Emilio and Kirsten, are great for conversation and local lore.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonesdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,347 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,288 reviews
1.8 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort

Property: Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort
Address: One mile North of the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service Yoga Center on the Island. Stay nightly (meals and yoga not included in room rate) Join 7 night yoga retreats with meals and yoga included, prices on our retreat schedule. Daily yoga classes open to the public at the end of our pier with mats available. Massage and snorkel trips with Ak'boL guide. We help line up all trips, so you can relax. Come unplug with us! namaste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ak`Bol Yoga Retreat & Eco Hotel San Pedro
Ak`Bol Yoga Retreat And Eco-Resort
Ak'Bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing