We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Rode our bikes north from San Pedro and stopped for breakfast. Wish I can remember the gentelman serving us, he was so friendly. Food was outstanding for breakfast, (I am not a breakfast kind of guy) but I would definitely recomend this place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank patkano70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    59
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
38
121
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my mother. The cabanas are beautiful, but rustic. It was nice to get off the grid for a few days. We specially enjoyed the outdoor showers! We absolutely loved Kristin's (owners) daily yoga classes. The 2-hour class on the pier was one of the most amazing experiences that I've had in a long time. It's great for all levels as Kristen offers variations on each pose. The food is great and the staff and owners are very helpful. One of the nights we took a raw, vegan cooking class with Julia Butterfly Hill! We also enjoyed walking to the Palapa Bar (close by) at night for cocktails. Definitely recommend this spot! If you are single, ask about the dorm lodging.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Love this place. I have stayed here numerous times and it is just great! While not a luxury resort, it has enough pizazz and amenities to keep me coming back. Unique features like outdoor showers in the cabanas, a lovely beachside restaurant and a friendly, 'you are family' vibe, plus the amazing yoga classes make it a great place to unwind and fill 'er up.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank bullettree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at Ak'bol in January of 2013 and the 9 days spent there changed my life. Yes, that sounds like an overreaction and if I were reading this I'd assume BS... but it's the truth! I arrived a stressed out, overworked, undernourished, and strung-out. I left able to breathe, able to move my right shoulder, which had been frozen for six months, and able to return to "real-life" with a clearer outlook on the world around me.

Specific praise for Ak'bol has to be for the staff. Every single person associated with Ak'bol was kind, smiley, and helpful. Second, I more than enjoyed the yoga classes. As I mentioned, I could hardly move one of my shoulders, and if you've practiced yoga, you know that many asanas involve moving your shoulders. Kirsten and another teacher, her friend Molly, took special care of me and even incorporated specific postures to help strengthen my shoulder and coax it to be more pliable. I especially loved that when I gave my body a little break during class, I could gaze at the fish swimming under the palapa (through the tiny spaces between the floor boards).

Room Tip: The rooms with the shared bathroom are perfect for one or two travelers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraLynneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed at The Phoenix (top notch!), but we took a golf cart out for the day to head north, and decided to stop in Ak'bol for a drink.
The bar was very "local" and super laid-back feeling, far, far away from the touristy areas of San Pedro.
We sat outside and had blended fruit drinks. Delicious!
The atmosphere was very calming We sat next to a couple who were honeymooning there and they said they have never been so relaxed. I believe it.
A spot I just might consider at my next stop in Belize!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have stayed at Ak'Bol twice and each time I had a great experience! The rooms are clean and secure, the staff helpful and friendly, the food to die for(coconut french toast). Never had any problems with doing what I wanted to do, Kirstin or Millo always handled everything from diving, snorkling, and fishing. Meeting new people and the laid back style of Ak'Bol is the perfect place to unplug.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reinie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and I stayed a few minutes north of Ak'bol on a five day vacation and ate breakfast at Ak'bol three of those days. All I can say is try the Coconut French Toast, Huevoes Rancharos and Bloody Mary's. Our bartender/server Philip was terrific. The sites and location of Ak'Bol are fantastic as well.

John & Kris, Harrisburg, PA

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort

Property: Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort
Address: One mile North of the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service Yoga Center on the Island. Stay nightly (meals and yoga not included in room rate) Join 7 night yoga retreats with meals and yoga included, prices on our retreat schedule. Daily yoga classes open to the public at the end of our pier with mats available. Massage and snorkel trips with Ak'boL guide. We help line up all trips, so you can relax. Come unplug with us! namaste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ak`Bol Yoga Retreat And Eco-Resort
Ak`Bol Yoga Retreat & Eco Hotel San Pedro
Ak'Bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing