We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I didn't stay but have attended yoga class, ate at the restaurant and enjoyed the hospitality. We showed up for class to find the instructor out of town. It was low season and I did not call first. The owner was very apologetic. Gave us the key to the mat locker and allowed us to use the yoga studio on our own. It was wonderful. Had a very nice lunch there. Menu offers local selections which were very good. Returned the following week and participated in a class with Kirsten. Excellent practice. She had a full 2 hours of challenging work. She gave much needed assistance when needed and was very warm, friendly. If you haven't check their web site to see where their studio is, you must do so. Their pier is very well-constructed with a huge covered studio at the end. I saw several types of fish including a school of barracuda flashing around the water. A remarkable experience. I'll be back several more times while I'm staying in San Pedro.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    59
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
38
119
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We didn't stay here but did enjoy their restaurant and take a tour of the property. The restaurant had all their prices in Belize dollars which was a great sign to start out with. The value overall is wonderful and the food was great. Was impressed by the vibe and yoga. It's nice to see a place that spends a lot of time gently educating and making sure the experience is wonderful as well.

Room Tip: This hotel and bar/restaurant attached is about 200 yards north up the beach from the palapas bar th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I normally don't take the time to make review when I travel (shame on me) but I have to do it for Akbol. If you're looking for something a little laid back, typical, hippies in a prime spot, Akbol is the right place for you. Food was amazing, yoga on the pear unbeattable and they have one of the best beach on the island!! Totally want to come back for a full yoga retreat. Namaste.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephlevesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
219 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Ak'Bol - the HEART of the Village in Maya, Ambergris Caye, Belize, May 09 to May 15, 2014

we used " Ak'Bol " as out Breakfast Place during our visit since our Resort did not have a Food & Beverage facility. We started each morning to walk along the Caribbean Sea for 20 Minutes to work up our Breakfast Appetite to reach * Ak'Bol " what a nice walk it was. This is actually a Resort which specializes in " YOGA Classes " and the young women come from all over the USA. I spoke to one participant, she told me that it was her third visit. The Restaurant is located Ocean Front with a direct view to the Caribbean Sea and a little beach. The Breakfast Menu is extensive , you get one Coffee refill , they accept Credit Cards. We enjoyed their Granola / fresh fruit / yogurt dish. While you are there select a table looking out to the Caribbean Sea, the views are breathtaking . We would go back to Ak'Bol anytime they also serve Lunch there.Prices on the menu are listed in US Dollars. Enjoy my pictures too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I stopped here for breakfast and dinner. We must have caught them on a bad day for breakfast because they came so highly recommended. Food was okay but no better than average. My wife had a hair in her food which for her is a big deal. I had the traditional Belizian breakfast which was okay even if the Fry Jacks were forgettable.

For dinner, however, I had an order of Salbutes which were good and a pizza which was also pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here for a yoga retreat, and overall the experience was fine. It's important that you know what you are getting. I specifically stayed in the "village rooms" with shared bathroom. It really felt like being in a hostel. Sparse but private rooms with an overhead fan. The shared bathrooms are large, with each shower stall somewhat roomy with individual door. The toilet stalls are in the same large room, also individual doors. There is an occasional sulphur smell....What I didn't expect was the co-ed nature of the place. Very much felt like a college dorm, and was not what I personally was looking for. My village room was on the second floor, bathrooms on main floor so every time you want to rinse your hands or get some filtered water, down the stairs you go. The cabana situation may be different.

Across the road lays the beach and the main bar/restaurant. Our group ate 3 meals a day here and we NEVER had any food illness concerns. Our food was made for the group by the kitchen staff, but I also had a few meals off the menu, and all were good. I would not hesitate to eat here again despite another posted review (sometimes when you travel you pick up a bad stomach bug).

The rain-water pool was quite pleasant, the beach and view is gorgeous, and the location for the yoga was AMAZING. I am at a stage in my life where I would like something a little more luxurious, but for budget minded folks this place is a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puravida74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort

Property: Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort
Address: One mile North of the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service Yoga Center on the Island. Stay nightly (meals and yoga not included in room rate) Join 7 night yoga retreats with meals and yoga included, prices on our retreat schedule. Daily yoga classes open to the public at the end of our pier with mats available. Massage and snorkel trips with Ak'boL guide. We help line up all trips, so you can relax. Come unplug with us! namaste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ak`Bol Yoga Retreat And Eco-Resort
Ak`Bol Yoga Retreat & Eco Hotel San Pedro
Ak'Bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing