We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awesome.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2009

My friend and I just finished a 1 week stay at Ak'Bol, and would return in a heartbeat! The cabanas are lovely, the outdoor shower is a luxury, and the owners and staff are friendly, helpful & inviting. We took the water taxi from Belize City, and were greeted (right on time) with friendly staff who picked us up in a boat and brought us to the resort just around sunset -- it was magical. The bird chatter is abundant and the water is gorgeous. The food at the restaurant is regarded highly by locals and visitors alike for its affordability & flavor. The retreat is a bit outside of town (which we valued) but be prepared to walk a fair bit, or rent a bike... there are restaurants and bars nearby for evening activities as well. But the best part is simply lounging about, enjoying the relaxation. Highly, highly recommended....

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruja13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2009

We picked this resort because it was one of the more inexpensive ones we could find on the beach that wasn't 6 miles from San Pedro town (only about 1 mile). I also had some interest in eco-tourism so this looked appealing to me. We arrived on the island and were immediately greeted by Johnny (he hugged me as we got off the plane) and were taken straight to our water taxi. We were treated like family from the beginning as we were escorted to our cabana 15ft from the ocean. It was very nicely appointed and couldn't have felt more tropical with palm thatched roof, mosquito netting over the bed (functional some months of the year but we didn't see one mosquito on the whole island), and a conch shell vessel sink. The outdoor shower was a favorite (don't worry it is heated water and very private) due to the magnificent starry sky above you at night. No air conditioning but didn't matter most of the trip because the Mayan Winds were blowing very strongly through the plentiful louvered windows and it was totally comfortable even during the heat of the day( I admit I needed a fan the day the wind died down- which Kirsten brought right over). All the staff/owners were terrific: Milio, Kirsten, Johnny and Brando could not have been more helpful with every detail from yoga classes in the palapa (Kirsten adapted one of her classes for me since I am pregnant) to sea salt facials to dive trips- and of course the food and drinks at the Shade Bar were the best we had on the island- we were sad that they weren't open for dinner - we would have eaten there all three meals of the day. The Belizean BBQ on Saturday was probably the best BBQ chicken we have ever eaten and we are from Texas so that is saying a lot. Breakfast Fry Jacks to die for($6 Belize)- I miss them every morning. Our little girl enjoyed the cute, friendly dog Maya and the shallow end of the pool which was only 1 ft deep. One day she was introduced to coconuts when Johnny climbed one of the many coconut palms, kicked a few down and cut them open for us to drink the water out of them with a straw- what a fun experience for her! Anyway - I can't say enough about this place - we will be back probably next year and we plan on bringing friends and family with us. One of the top 3 places we have ever stayed and we travel a lot! You will not be disappointed with Ak'bol- what a wonderful retreat!

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank skylark1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Travelers seeking an authentic (non-touristy) island resort experience will find paradise at this hidden gem on Ambergris Caye. The gracious owners go out of their way to welcome guests and provide them with personalized service. Their love for the island and Belizean culture is reflected in the resort's creative and eco-friendly surroundings. We were thrilled with our accommodations—an ocean front cabana with stunning views of the sunrise. We enjoyed the outdoor yoga classes, but you don't have to be a yogi to fall in love with this place. The food at the resort's outdoor restaurant offered fresh, local ingredients -- delicious and healthy! What a value, what a place -- we'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

The room is comfortable with a big bottled water dispenser that has hot & cold spickets and a mini fridge. The shower is very private despite being outside & there is a separate toilet room. There are several hammocks between palms on the beach to read or snooze in. The breakfast menu offers delicious food at the cheapest prices around & big portions. We did not eat lunch there but Saturday's BBQ sure smelled wonderful. We rented a golf cart since the walk is quite far to town. However, the water taxi's can pick you up at their pier and the resort has bicycles to use, as well. Yoga is offered every morning under the palapa at the end of the pier. The pool is incredible with a few barstools in the water facing the bar & the ocean. There is no air-conditioner in cabanas but we didn't miss it with the ocean winds blowing over us all night. It would probably get warm in the hotter months, though. We appreciated the use of eco-friendly, natural materials to furnish & decorate the room. We really enjoyed our stay at Ak'Bol.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maintzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supervigile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREENISGOOD150798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,367 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,304 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort

Address: One mile North of the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service Yoga Center on the Island. Stay nightly (meals and yoga not included in room rate) Join 7 night yoga retreats with meals and yoga included, prices on our retreat schedule. Daily yoga classes open to the public at the end of our pier with mats available. Massage and snorkel trips with Ak'boL guide. We help line up all trips, so you can relax. Come unplug with us! namaste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ak`Bol Yoga Retreat And Eco-Resort
Ak`Bol Yoga Retreat & Eco Hotel San Pedro
Ak'Bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing