We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss Ak'bol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Great food, great prices, great people, great location. Is there a theme here? Yes! If you get to Ambergris Caye, you must visit Ak'bol. You will be back. This is my FAVORITE place on the island. Milio, Kirsten, Oscar and Johnny greet you with a smile. Cynthnia makes the best stuff peppers anywhere. Great Belizean food!! Steven is one of the best snorkel guides we have experienced. His kindess and patience with young children is to be commended. Don't miss Ak'bol.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndioTap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2009

My husband and I accidentally discovered Ak Bol cruising the back roads of the island. Much to our surprise, Ak Bol was a dream! Next time we come back to Belize this is DEFINITELY where we will stay. (We stayed at Coco Beach this time). The scenery driving up to the back of Ak Bol from the road was serene with beautiful tropical flowers everywhere, very tranquil. We took one look at the view of the ocean and the adorable beach bar hut and knew we had to stay at Ak Bol. It gets better....the chicken and beef papusas are to die for!!!! My husband ordered three orders of them and we really weren't even that hungry to begin with! We ventured out the beach to look at the gorgeous scenery at Ak Bol and a very friendly man walked up to us as he noticed us taking pictures. He asked if we would like him to take our picture, we were VERY appreciative as it is tough to take pictures together when just two people are travelling...so we got to talking to this friendly gentleman who was very casual and had been sitting at a table with a good group of folks. They were laughing and smiling...come to find out, this gentleman was the owner! And the table of laughing friendly people were all of the workers of the resort. Needless to say, we stayed for two or three hours! Ak Bol is a very welcoming atmosphere, the precious little beach bar is directly on the beach and appropriately shaded with beautiful palm trees everywhere. One of the guys that worked there climbed one of the trees to greet several of the people there with coconuts, cut them open for us and we enjoyed the milk with some rum from the bar, DELICIOUS! Ak Bol is a MUST see and visit place whether you want to stay at the resort or simply stop in for some papusas, drinks, and beautiful scenery of Belize. We will DEFINITELY go back to Ak Bol when we return to Belize!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdplano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We went to Ak'Bol for our honeymoon and couldn't have picked a better spot! We were greeted by eveyone who worked at Ak'Bol when we arrived, brought to our incredible cabana right on the beach and were continually given special attention the whole time we stayed (and not just us, all the guestS staying were made to feel equally important). I wasn't too concerned about the lack of A/C, but my husband was, although that worry soon went away once we felt that incredible ocean breeze, we didn't need air at all!

Staying at Ak'Bol felt like staying with an incredibly happy family. Oscar (bar), Steven (boat captain), Johnny (do it all guy), Cynthia and Lily(cooks) were all amazing, happy, friendly people that were more than happy to accomodate any request. And Kristen and Emilio were better hosts than I could have imagined!

Ak'Bol itself was the most amazing location, not too far from town, but far enough to be serene and peaceful. We rented a golf cart for the week to get into town at night because the restaurant at Ak'Bol closes at five. It was roughly $300 for the week and we really only used it at night, if you could split the cost and use with someone else it would probably make more sense. We didn't use the water taxi at all, and did hear that it was fairly unreliable in terms of pick up and drop off, but I can't say for sure.

Tips: if you drink, bring alcohol from duty free, it is very expensive to drink in San Pedro. The food at Ak'Bol was fantastic, and quite reasonably priced for the amount of food you get, but runs out fast, especially when Cynthia is cooking her BBQ chicken or Lily her famous fried chicken. If you plan on eating a little later than 12-1, ask them to put a plate aside for you. Other great restaurants, Wild Mango, Aji, Fido's and Sunset Grill. Although they are definetly more touristy and busy than the laid back atmosphere of Ak'Bol, so prepare for that.

All in all it was one of the best trips I have ever taken, and I have travelled a fair amount. If you are looking to relax, meet great people, feel welcomed and at home and be completly at peace Ak'Bol is the right place!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannonhoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Actually, there is not much to add to the other reviews. Everything was just perfect during our stay! The beachfront cabanas were beautiful and very clean. When we opened the door to our front porch in the morning it felt as you could jump into the sea right from the bed. The food was great, the prizes reasonable and the owners and staff always friendly and helpful.
You should not miss the snorkeling trips with Steven. We went to Hol Chan and Mexico Rocks and it was great! What we also appreciated, was that the trips could be set up very spontaneously and were quite affordable. We really enjoyed our stay there and will definitely come back! I promise you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

During our recent trip to San Pedro we rented a place in town. Without having ever been to San Pedro before we didn't know what to expect. We found out that town was so busy and not what we were looking for in our vacation. Through a short boat ride and a bike ride we came across Ak'bol. We fell in love. Kirstin opened up her pool to us to relax and we enjoyed the bar on the beach as well as some amazing food. We spent two afternoons there wishing that was where we were staying. When we go back we will certainly be staying there with Kirstin and Milio and their children so we can really enjoy all the place has to offer.
Thanks for allowing us to take part in your paradise!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank kerrie6848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

This is a really great place to stay if you are looking for an authentic Belizean experience. The resort is very laid back and one with nature. I would definitely stay there again. Kirsten and Millo were both very welcoming and were very accommodate when anything asked of them. Since the resort is located on the northern side it is much more secluded and gives you a beautiful view of the Carribean. The bar and food they had at the resort were very good and reasonably priced. I am very satisfied with my stay and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltezos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

If you are looking for a relaxing beautiful resort on the shores near San Pedro this is it. With a great poolside bar and a fun and friendly staff Steven and Bario (aka Johnny) Kirsten and Millo have brought their dream to life. They are happy to share their resort with you and go above and beyond to make your stay full of fantastic memories. Everything was clean, and comfortable. Being away from whirring airconditioners (not needed with the seabreeze passing through the cabanas) and noise of TV's, was a nice break from the trappings of busy lifes we were looking to escape. The energy of the resort was purely positive and invigorating. PS the option of vegatarian meals was awsome.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubaDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,365 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,304 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort

Address: One mile North of the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service Yoga Center on the Island. Stay nightly (meals and yoga not included in room rate) Join 7 night yoga retreats with meals and yoga included, prices on our retreat schedule. Daily yoga classes open to the public at the end of our pier with mats available. Massage and snorkel trips with Ak'boL guide. We help line up all trips, so you can relax. Come unplug with us! namaste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ak`Bol Yoga Retreat And Eco-Resort
Ak`Bol Yoga Retreat & Eco Hotel San Pedro
Ak'Bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing