We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time but maybe lay off the wildlife handling?”

Lil Alphonse Snorkeling
Ranked #1 of 78 Tours in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun time but maybe lay off the wildlife handling?”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

First, the great parts: We really liked the guides, Rex and Ivis - we snorkeled with them 3 times (to Holchan, Mexico Rocks and the night-time snorkel)! They were both so nice, took extra time making sure our teenager was comfortable and helped us find lots of fun creatures we never would have seen on our own. The boat was very comfortable, they were mostly on time for excursions, we were lucky enough to have very few people on 2 of 3 trips, and we felt very safe and comfortable the entire time. The only negative (from our point of view, of course): a little too much handling of the wildlife. The guides are young and I know they have fun grabbing and holding the sharks and rays, but it's really unnecessary and a little over the top / aggressive. We've done a lot of snorkeling around the world and it breaks my heart to see this sort of thing going on - sets a bad example for how we should interact with wildlife and reefs.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank focoveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    15
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holchan and Shark Ray Alley”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I went with Alfonse on this snorkeling excursion...what an amazing experience. During the snorkeling they stopped and explained so much to us, they were with us the whole time, helping to lure some of the fish out such as the eels so we could see them. Shark and Ray alley, they brought the nurse sharks to us so we could hold them as well as bringing the sting rays so we could touch them. Definitely the best snorkeling experience I ever had. I held a 7 foot shark!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Guide”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley are popular for a great reason - and many tours go there.
But Alfonse has a great, personable touch that you won't find with the other guides.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst snorkel trip ever”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

A boat with 25 people with 2 guides. Too much time spent getting that many people ready to snorkel. Spent one half hour in the water getting everyone ready before allowed to start snorkeling. One guide to 13 people. Kicked in face pooled in the ribs hit in the crouch too many people crammed together. So many groups from other boats hard to know where your group was. I would highly recommend finding a private tour.
Little more expense but worth it

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best snorkel guides!!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Besides being the best snorkelling trip we've been on, these were the best guides we've had. They didn't just hand you fins and goggles and let you go, they showed us how to get the best snorkelling experience with possible with great information and tips on equipment and how to's. lil' Alphonse and his helper were fun, friendly and very accommodating and knowledgeable. Will never, ever forget cuddling a Ray!! Thank you both for the best tour ever!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lil Alphonse Snorkeling also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Lil Alphonse Snorkeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing