We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME”

Lil Alphonse Snorkeling
Ranked #1 of 78 Tours in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Lil Alphonse took our group of 16 students and staff on a mission trip to San Pedro out on the water for an Awesome Snorkeling trip. This was a fabulous way to end our time on San Pedro. The guys were so accommodating to our group and made the students feel welcomed. They explained all the processes and procedures thoroughly before taking us out. The guides explained what we were seeing as we were in the water. We are so appreciative that the guys of Lil Alphonse took the time to make this snorkeling trip a great experience for the students.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    15
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New orleans
1 review
“Best tour guide!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our 2nd trip with lil' Alphonse. The first time was wonderful but the service we received on our second trip was over and above anything I would have expected. We brought our 7 year old this time and they took such great care of her! Instead of my husband pulling her through the water they had her hold onto the life ring and pulled her around behind the group. They took time to make sure she saw everything and even took her off to find the sea turtle she missed. It was amazing! Thanks for another wonderful day of snorkeling.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randibarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“book LIL ALPHONSE - your choice for snorkeling trips is critical to the experience”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Your choice of guide is critical to the experience so you are not snorkeling with 50 people!

We used Lil Alphonse twice and had a max of 12-15 people in our group which was very comfortable.

We visited Mexico Rocks with Iver and Rex and they were fantastic leading us around and showing us all the forms of coral and fish - even in hard to see/ reach areas. We spotted a moray eel and a lion fish.

Our second trip was with Alphonse to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. Alphonse is super personable and made the shark experience really interactive as he held and posed with sharks under water and allowed everyone the opportunity to hold the sharks as well.

Lil Alphonse is who you should use for snorkeling in San Pedro.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJohnson97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun time but maybe lay off the wildlife handling?”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

First, the great parts: We really liked the guides, Rex and Ivis - we snorkeled with them 3 times (to Holchan, Mexico Rocks and the night-time snorkel)! They were both so nice, took extra time making sure our teenager was comfortable and helped us find lots of fun creatures we never would have seen on our own. The boat was very comfortable, they were mostly on time for excursions, we were lucky enough to have very few people on 2 of 3 trips, and we felt very safe and comfortable the entire time. The only negative (from our point of view, of course): a little too much handling of the wildlife. The guides are young and I know they have fun grabbing and holding the sharks and rays, but it's really unnecessary and a little over the top / aggressive. We've done a lot of snorkeling around the world and it breaks my heart to see this sort of thing going on - sets a bad example for how we should interact with wildlife and reefs.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank focoveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holchan and Shark Ray Alley”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I went with Alfonse on this snorkeling excursion...what an amazing experience. During the snorkeling they stopped and explained so much to us, they were with us the whole time, helping to lure some of the fish out such as the eels so we could see them. Shark and Ray alley, they brought the nurse sharks to us so we could hold them as well as bringing the sting rays so we could touch them. Definitely the best snorkeling experience I ever had. I held a 7 foot shark!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lil Alphonse Snorkeling also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Lil Alphonse Snorkeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing