We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun local spot”
Review of Waruguma

Waruguma
Ranked #26 of 190 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Carmel, New York
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very fun local spot”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Truly authentic and delicious food. There's a woman outside the front door making papusas. We had been told that the burritos were excellent and huge - right on both accounts. My husband also tried a delicious onion soup in a creamy broth - very different

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank milliegordon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    395
    111
    36
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome pupusas!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

So much variety. Banana is killer. Pumpkin is the best! Service is friendly. The fans feel good and WiFi is accessible, maybe not from them.

Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“yummy”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

THis place was very good. I really like by cococnut curry chicken and rice. Very unique and amazing flavour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lizwood71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Real Belize”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

On Middle Street, this restaurant serves very good Belizean fare, the kind that native Belizeans eat, not a tourist trap. The fare is good. It is a pupuseria, and it has gluten-free, corn flour pupusas. The food was quite good. Solidly tasty. This is NOT the restaurant for the tourist that wants first class atmosphere, and gourmet-quality experiences. However, if you want a "taste" of actual Belizean life and food, this is the place for you. As befits the atmosphere and the food, the prices are also NOT tourist class, making this restaurant a VERY good value for the money spent. ;)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome food and value!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stopped in for dccc[[[-inner with our two children after a recommendation from our hotel staff. We tried 3 different pupusa, 1 chicken quesadilla and a HUGE shrimp burrito. Everything was good but the burrito was AWESOME! We were going to order a second burrito but our waiter advised us that we would already have plenty. He was right, we all left stuffed! 4 beers, 2 sodas and a good tip only set us back $50 Usd.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBodleBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waruguma also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Waruguma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing