We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belizean fare & atmosphere!!”
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #11 of 185 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: El Fogon meaning the "fire-hearth" specializes in Authentic Belizean Cuisine. Our lunch menu includes Stewed Meats, Seafood & Soups. The items on the menu are all local favorites. Dinner consists of Grilled Seafood, Shrimp in Orange and Ginger Sauce or a Mango Sauce, Seafood Creole platter, Seafood Kebabs and much more...All served with a choice of Coconut White Rice or Rice and beans cooked on the open fire. Frozen Key Lime, Coconut Cheesecake and Local Ice Cream makes up our nightly desserts.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Belizean fare & atmosphere!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has it all, outdoor fogon cooking, super sweet waiters, yummy food & live music!! My husband couldn't get enough of the authentic dining here... We stopped in 3 times in one week. Alberto the waiter was a real gem & he explained the entire menu to us each time:) the conch fritters were light & crispy & the stew was heavenly. The drinks were tasty if not strong. We def recommend trying El Fogon if you are looking for a true Belizean experience!! 2 thumbs up for the owners & the live music idea. We loved it!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mymartini13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,064
    338
    80
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Off the Main Roads”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Knew the bartender so stopped in for dinner. Mariachi was entertaining. Less of a breeze not being on the water. Careful with their HOT SAUCE, it is HOT. Nice meals, Fish was fresh. Pricey for the local fare but most of the better places are.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidm34746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great caribbean food, good prices, wonderful service”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We found El Fogon on our first night on the island. Were we ever glad we did. It was a perfect welcome to San Pedro. We had conch fritters, shrimp ceviche (YUM), grilled fresh fish and rice and beans. Everything was delicious. Farid our waiter was a pleasure to have.

We ate on the patio which had sand under feet, and thatched roof overhead. Open air which meant we could enjoy watching the passerby on the street.

I also had a basil / cucumber margarita that was a unique and incredibly refreshing drink. Not too sweet for a change from most island drinks.

We recommended El Fogon to many people and will return next time on the island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had the stew chicken, rice and beans, and coleslaw. I also ordered conch fritters. Both dishes were excellent!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TaureanWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious, & with a touch of class!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having eaten at 10 different restaurants in San Pedro, I gotta say that this place was our favorite! The atmosphere is relaxing. The service was exceptional with smiles by all staff. The menu has a wide variety of selections. The appetizers are a must. We wanted fish, real fish. At first, we disappointed that we didn’t see whole fish on the menu, until we asked. Our sweet & friendly waiter smiled and said “you just tell me what you want I’ll try to make it happen”. Yes, he made it happen! Whole red snapper was so full of amazing local flavors. The side dishes were also made to perfection. Pricy? We thought so, for Belize, but well worth it!
During our stay, we had asked every local we met about the food, and all recommended this place. They were all right!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sameer-Maasarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing