We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TWICE IN FOUR DAYS”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #14 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: El Fogon meaning the "fire-hearth" specializes in Authentic Belizean Cuisine. Our lunch menu includes Stewed Meats, Seafood & Soups. The items on the menu are all local favorites. Dinner consists of Grilled Seafood, Shrimp in Orange and Ginger Sauce or a Mango Sauce, Seafood Creole platter, Seafood Kebabs and much more...All served with a choice of Coconut White Rice or Rice and beans cooked on the open fire. Frozen Key Lime, Coconut Cheesecake and Local Ice Cream makes up our nightly desserts.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“TWICE IN FOUR DAYS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

for good reason...
good, authentic local Belizean & Caribbean cuisine
Get the daily special Belizean stew
Go at least once while you're here

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrGeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    331
    79
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's good. Nothing mind blowing ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This place was good. It was nothing special and for the price I would expect something a little more unique. I would not say you are missing anything if you didn't make it here for dinner. The one thing I did enjoy was the cocorita cocktail. That was quite new to me and could drink about 8 of them.

Helpful?
1 Thank ZK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hmmmm...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Several islanders told us to eat at Elfogons. We went for dinner and found out that they do all the authentic wood fire cooking for lunch hours, so left and planned to return during lunch. The next day, we came for lunch. On the menu there was fish ball soup, venison stew, and the such. They had nothing vegetarian, so we did not stay. I know this was authentic Belizian cooking but I would have thought as least a rice and bean meal. So we did not eat there. Check out the menu and time they cook on the fire before you plan to eat there. They may have terrific food. I can't honestly say. It might be good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luvnilfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food - Authentic Belize in downtown San Pedro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

great meal - a little on the expensive side for San Pedro. AMAZING MARGARITA! Daddy had the "Royal Rat" and really liked it. Would go back for the margarita alone, but the food is worth a repeat trip as well!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meg2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went to El Fogon for dinner on our second night in San Pedro. The restaurant itself is nothing too fancy, but does have a nice atmosphere and good service. The menu, while a little high end, has great variety and for being one of the more pricey restaurants in San Pedro, it was very reasonable. I had the crab claws and my husband had the shrimp Creole, both were very flavourful without being overpowering. The portions were filling, unlike some fancy restaurants that leave you hungry. While not on the beach, I would highly recommend this restaurant (a must-do while in San Pedro) as their food was delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laquila_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing