We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Continues to be great!”
Review of Island Secret - CLOSED

Island Secret
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Continues to be great!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I was in San Pedro for a week of diving and stopped by Island Secret. I've been there during each of my trips. I continue to be pleased by the quality of both the food and the hospitality. I ordered fajitas and they came with a side salad, some tortillas and hummus. Fantastic! Mohammed (he also goes by William) is a great chef.

You'll find this place located on the other side of the street and down a bit from the Greenhouse Market. It's a great place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ElGringoViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Middle Eastern Food Needs Olive Oil, Not Canola; Other Items OK”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Unfortunately, we had some of the most unusual - in a not-good way - hummus and baba ganouj in recent memory. We ordered a variety of vegetarian and meat dishes. The meat dishes and the tabouleh were OK. But the hummus and baba were, quite simply, horrid. Ali Baba is another Middle Eastern restaurant in San Pedro, with better chicken, hummus and baba, but the tabouleh at Island Secret is far superior. Really only worth it if you simply must eat Middle Eastern fare.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best chicken in town!”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We had just arrived on the island and were famished! The sign saying ' hummus' caught our eyes plus the oven full of roasted chickens! It is super delicious. Portions are huge, the garlic sauce is so good and the hummus to die for! We stayed 3 days on the island and went to Mohammed ( the owner) everyday for lunch!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fefa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth your time”
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

I went here with a group of six, and all of us had the kebabs, which didn't look or taste like one. The hummus and baba ganough were very good, it is was not for that the entire meal would have been a waste. The rice dishes were severely oversalted, some to the point of being enedible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LSL98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Continues to offer outstanding Lebanese cuisine!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stopped in Island Secret again after being away from Ambergris Caye for two years. Mohammed (he also goes by William) continues to demonstrate his mastery of Lebanese food. At his suggestion, I ordered the Lamb Kebab which came with salad, hummus, and tortillas. The food was outstanding. Mohammed has a fascinating life and I encourage you to get to know him as well. The whole meal including beverage and tip came to US$15. This is also on my "must visit" list each time I come to San Pedro.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGringoViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Secret also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing