We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beachfront Restsurant”

Aji Tapa Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 185 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A one of a kind 5 Star Tapas Lounge and Restaurant situated on the enchanting island of Ambergris Caye, Belize. Come visit us for an exotic cocktail under our Palapa bar, or bring the family to dine in our outdoor beachfront restaurant. Enjoy the myriad of flavors our tapas menu has to offer and relax in the moonlight inside the tropical Tapas lounge . Looking to celebrate? Our beautiful property is perfect to house your wedding, or specialized private event, alongside our event coordinators. .If you plan on visiting Ambergris be sure to visit Aji, where you will be captivated by the tropical, romantic atmosphere, fine food and fun friends you will make while visiting.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Beachfront Restsurant”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great little tapas place right on the beach! Fresh seafood, excellent service! Food was delicious, atmosphere even better! We stayed at our table half an hour AFTER we were finished eating, just because it was so relaxing sitting there in the sea breeze. :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shawntej2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    159
    53
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This place was just a few steps from the resort we were staying at, which was really convenient because we ended up coming here 3 times! Bring a flashlight with you if you are going at night, it's a nice walk along the beach. The staff was very patient and friendly and answered all of our questions. Everything tasted very good, especially the hummus and the Puerca Con Pina. I am not a big seafood eater but out of our group of 6, 4 people got various seafood items every time and raved about how delicious everything was. It made me jealous that I wasn't a seafood person! Their happy hour is from 1pm to 4pm where they have appetizers and drinks specials as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baloneydanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
236 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cool breeze and delicious food”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Had the stuffed grouper for dinner last night along with the chocolate rum cake for dessert. Both were fantastic. The setting is amazing with little dining areas created among the palms and rocks, etc. Super atmosphere and staff is great; would highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oceanboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardsville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good restaurant north of San Pedro”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Along the beach with a terrific setting, it's a bit out of the way. So it has to be good, and good at a fair price, to make the walk worthwhile. And worthwhile it is. First with the manager: Victoria greets you and looks after you like you're family. Then the service staff - Iris, Lionel, others - were very customer-focused. The setting is wonderful, under a covering of vegetation and a good view of the water but a few feet away. Most importantly for me, the food was very good in taste and quantity at a fair price. The paella is good, and my wife enjoyed the coated grouper. We went a couple of times because it was worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DexBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoustonTrav
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and wonderful food on the beach”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We ate lunch at Aji for our first visit. Manner greeted us and took us to a table with a tropical breeze. We had fritters and shared the fish tacos. Superb! Then we went back for dinner a few nights later. Manner greeted us like old friends! We had lobster tails--caribbean and grilled. The dish included 2 tails so they set it up for us to have one of each. There was rice salad, geilled veggies and coconut rice as the sides. Prices are fair.
Be sure to being a flashlight to walk to dinner if you are staying at one of the nearby resorts.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoustonTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aji Tapa Bar & Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Aji Tapa Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing