We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in San Pedro?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Didn't know what to expect as i was staying during lobsterfest.. But was impressed overall! They threw the biggest party of the week, band with a lots of people, had a few free jagers with pedro, good people, good vibe.. I dont think there is too much to do in San Pedro so I think it would be hard to find somewhere better to stay i

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Pedro's Inn was one of our favourite hostels as there are two swimming pools and a great communal atmosphere. You can book snorkelling, diving and all sorts through the hostel and the staff are amazing, really friendly and helpful. The only problem was that I stayed in a four bed dorm which was very hot and quite dark. However, this is the only real hostel on the island so it is worth staying there and booking in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahChurchlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms were similar to port-a-cabins with no natural light into them, while the walls between the rooms were paper thin. The location was about 10 minutes walk outside the town.The hostel was relatively clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHolidayGame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

So, the rooms are fine. Very basic, shame about the lack of power sockets, I see the owner has replied to a previous response regarding it being a wooden building and there being some safety concerns but I have stayed in countless others made of the same stuff where this didn't appear to be a problem).

Pros are a good price, nice staff, facilities are fairly good and the pools were really welcome and provide a great forum to meet people.

Few of downsides.. Laundry service was quite price at 25 Belize dollars, the food served at the bar was frankly atrocious (passable pizza, appalling chicken wings) and took way too long to come.

My main gripe with the place however is the owner. While he was not directly rude to us he was quite condescending and every question we asked had a sarcastic answer. He was however loudly and openly very rude and at time vulgar to a number of people on the telephone in hearing range of any of his guests, he comes across as someone who just wants to make money rather than indulge in the island life and has made quite a reputation for himself as such.
Sadly this is enough to sour what would have been a quite pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed 3 nights in San Pedro in different hotels, and this hostel was the best. It's cheap, clean, modern, it has small pool and bar. The staff is very friendly & helpful I highly recommend it, it's nicer than other economic hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_nna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed for four nights. Pedro and the staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and so are the bathrooms. There's a pool and bicycles for rent. You're two blocks from the beach and many dive shops. Downtown is also close by. The prices are great. WiFi is also available as well as a library of books for borrowing. There were lots of fun travelers here as well. I didn't have A/C in my room but I had a fan and a window and was prefectly happy.

Room Tip: I had a private room with two single beds. I was extremely happy with it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BG2004Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Pedro's is a good spot to stop in, has a couple of nice pools and great bar (with amazing air con!) to hang out in. its a great place to meet people and trade traveling stories, and there is almost always something going on. The twin room i stayed in (room 10) would be a little small for two people (i was in there on my own so no problems). THey have a laundry service in house too! Bring earplugs though, the local dogs cant seem to keep themselves quiet through the night, and there is an airfield next door with flights starting pretty early in the morning. The guys on the front desk are always happy and willing to help out with any questions / tour bookings

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#31 of 53 in San Pedro
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Banyan Bay Suites
Banyan Bay Suites
#22 of 53 in San Pedro
467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range: £16 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel is the only hostel in San Pedro island. Although the rooms are low cost, the quality of the rooms and beds are high quality. We provide a clean, comfortable and safe setting at an amazingly cheap price! Why come to Belize just to spend all your money on a hotel room? Spend it on the adventure of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing