We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estel's Dine by the Sea

Estel's Dine by the Sea
Ranked #19 of 184 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Caribbean, Cafe, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

While on vacation, Estel's was recommended for breakfast by numerous locals. The food was great and the staff was friendly. I particularly enjoyed dining in the outside area where you could feel the gentle ocean breezes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank notabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    942
    397
    101
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
104 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Still One of the Best!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We have been to Belize 6 times this past year and still this is one of the Best places on the island! Great breakfast and the Worlds Best Coffee ever! Lunch is incredible too! Great quesadillas!! Great Atmosphere, super casual with sand floors and a perfect ocean view!! One thing that is missing from this place is Shawntee. Great waiter and a fun guy, too bad he is gone!!

Helpful?
Thank DF7132011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a great place for breakfast. I typically get the huevos rancheros which are excellent. I've also tried the french toast which was great. Don't forget to order fry jacks - you won't be disappointed. They also have a great selection of fresh juices. The atmosphere is great including outdoor dining with a sand floor and an awesome view. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank srkoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good home breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

You can get everything from island stye breakfast to grits here!!! you eat in or outside right on the beach! Service is great and friendly and the food is exactly what you wanted and needed....good hangover remedy spot!!!! Opens super early so you can get your days adventures started with a full and content belly!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madisonstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Below average experience. Try elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

People kept telling us "you've got to Estel's Dine By The Sea" cafe/restaurant. Some of our fellow guests had visited repeatedly after suggestions of locals/taxi drivers/etc.

So we tried it...what a disappointment.

Either we are too fussy or just have experienced better food/service at the smaller establishments in the vicinity.

We dropped in for brunch. Great view (on par with other venues along the beach). Sat waiting to be served, we were ignored for 5 minutes then asked if we wanted a drink and told to go inside to view the menu.

We ordered coffee. It arrived nearly 10 minutes later. Having waited so long I expected a fresh brew. But it wasn't. When I say coffee, it was more like a weak brown liquid with a hint of coffee flavouring. The second cup was as bad, so it was left undrunk in favour of bottled water. I like to have a few good cups of coffee with my breakfast, so ended up buying from elsewhere afterwards.

The menu is extensive. Trouble is you need to go to a chalk board inside to view it. Order taken at your table.

We ordered various main breakfasts with side orders. We'd been sat for 30 minutes before the food arrived. (By the way the food is cooked on an outdoor grill in the side street, we found out later)

Our order wasn't quite what we'd requested. We let it go as we're on vacation.

Having eaten at Latitudes Cafe and Licks Cafe (next door to one another opposite the water taxi jetty, 5 minutes walk South from Estel's) where we had superb food and service, with great coffee, we really expected something on par.

Estel's food was inferior to both Latitudes and Licks. It is more expensive (probably by 20-30%). The service slow and unhelpful (would hate to visit when it's busy). Coffee beyond awful, shocking that it was an extra too ($5 charge).

Ignore anyone's advice. Try it if you must. If it's your first meal out in Belize then it's OK.

There is much better food, drink and service at venues around, many are better value too. Walk down the beach and try Licks or Latitudes. Both are excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilAWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estel's Dine by the Sea also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Estel's Dine by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing