We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not rent room 17! Same owner as #7. Other rooms are better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oasis del Caribe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oasis del Caribe
Ramsey, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Do not rent room 17! Same owner as #7. Other rooms are better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our owner had 2 properties room 17 and 7. We had rented a two bedroom #7 with ocean view and the owner talked us into renting #17 a studio. She said she was just remodeling and this would save us money. However, I think this was suggested so she could rent this room and make more money. I should never have agreed. From others living at Caribe we were the first renters and she attempted to finish the place a few days earlier. I had asked for pictures in October but never got them she said this is her home and would be all newly remodeled.

This is a small office that was converted to a rental, there is no air conditioning, for internet you have to sit by the pool, no tv, only one room with a fold out couch which is very uncomfortable. The only sink is the kitchen sink so that is where you have to brush your teeth and wash your hands after you use the bathroom. To cook there is a hot plate and microwave. No kitchen table just a high counter attached to and facing the wall. Most of the cabinets were locked.

We left early as we were so uncomfortable and were not refunded. Others staying there felt sorry for us they were glad to see we moved to better accommodations. We found other places on the beach as a studio cheaper. However we were able to rent a lovely one bedroom ocean side. It was not good to spend a day looking for housing and a day moving when on vacation.

The resort itself is in a good location and other owners had some very nice rooms with good reviews from other people staying there. We had a great time with other renters.

Room Tip: If you chose 17 should be able to sleep in a fold out and willing to have a studio of the nature des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank explore007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed in #9 on the second floor. The place was spacious and well stocked. For the value I'd definitely stay there again. It was so nice to have a kitchen and for four people it was only like $450 a person. We ended up buying a plunger for the unit because it didn't have one and Belize has low water pressure. I recommend not flushing toilet paper in Belize. The couple above us was broken into because they left their balcony door open while they slept at night. They were on the third floor and someone scaled the wall. Use basic safety precautions like you would anywhere and you should be fine. This could happen at any of the hotels in Belize - not just this condo. The pool was fabulous. The location was absolutely perfect - not too far away from town and also far enough away. Watch out because some of the hotels are way far North and you can't experience everything. Internet was spotty. It worked but was really slow. It worked better poolside. The bikes were great and we used them a lot. This place is highly recommended. You can't beat this price for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marqy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in condo 15 and enjoyed the locations, pool and large kitchen and dining room area. Some areas that need some updating are the seating both inside and out as both were not comfortable. The patio overlooks the pool and the ocean which is fantastic but the patio furniture lacks comfort to sit and enjoy the view. Several nice perks were the patio French doors open up to the living room but the furniture there is not much better to edit and enjoy the cool breeze and scenic views. It seems a little silly that this is the only downside I can find but the early mornings and sunsets would be that much more relaxing with a good ace to sit and enjoy them. I would stay here again despite the chairs as the location was convenient and the pool was a welcomed amenity after a long walk on the beach.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank oleshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in condo #2 for a week prior to heading to the mainland. It was the best lodging of the trip by far. The condos are huge, clean and the kitchens are well stocked. It was also a huge advantage to have a washer and dryer right in the suite. We bought some groceries and a bottle of water at Riches Groceries and we were set for the week. The pool is fantastic for swimming and laying in the sun and yes you will probably meet Squeeky the "Lifeguard"/"guard dog" she was adorable and super friendly. The patio on Condo #2 is nice and shady throughout the day which was awesome for me to relax in the cool shade while my wife enjoyed the sunshine only a few feet away on the pool deck

It was about a 10 min walk to "downtown" but you can walk the whole town in 20 mins so if you can't or won't walk 20 mins you can rent a golf cart or most stores will deliver the groceries or beer for free. When you're in San Pedro you're never more then a few steps from a beachside bar or restaurant. Over-all a huge suite, great deal, great location. We had a blast and will very likely be back to the Oasis Del Caribe.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Strongdollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
129 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Loved the condo! Big and roomy rooms. Very comfortable beds. Great kitchen, great balcony, great pool and location.
Absolutely loved working with owner. Jan loved answering question and was full of wonderful information for us.

Room Tip: We appreciated there being a security guard/grounds keeper there. He too was most helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoingOnVacation_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

What an amazing condo! Stayed there with 4 other girs on a weeks vacation in room #7 in August. It was the perfect location and provided us with everything we needed. We took full advantage of the pool and spent most of our days lounging, listening to music and soaking up the sun. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend all my friends to as well!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

My wife and I stayed in unit #2 at the Oasis in August 2012 with two good friends. We had a great experience. For Belize standards, the Oasis has great accommodations and the location is great. We also took full advantage of the pool (I wouldn't book somewhere in San Pedro without a pool). The on site manager (Steve) is a nice guy and his dog "Squeaky" is very friendly and will visit with pool-lounging guests! I would stay here again and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms on the second or third floor would be ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.8 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis del Caribe

Property: Oasis del Caribe
Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Also Known As:
Oasis Del Caribe Hotel San Pedro
Oasis Del Caribe Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing