We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
414
28
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
414
28
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloved athensgolf cartlone star grillblack orchidambergris cayepelican reefbedroom unitsister propertyflights of stairsdinner reservationsmiles south of san pedrofishpool bargranite countertopsthe security guardin townwasher and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
426 - 431 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Athens Gate with another couple in late May / early June.
Upon arrival, we were met by the infamous E, who greeted us by name and brought us to the bar to get us checked in. We had booked a 2 bedroom unit, but were upgraded to a larger 3 bedroom unit because it was available.

E met our every need, from moving our luggage to the new unit to scheduling our excursions (Mayan ruins, zip lining, and fishing), to recommending restaurants. He was a wealth of knowledge, and we wound up hanging out with him by the pool for hours. The owners, Mr. Joe and his wife, Rhonda, were always on the property, and were very nice and accommodating. They own the Tex-Mex restaurant right across the street, where we ate several delicious breakfasts and dinners.

The pool was immaculate, and the beach was beautiful.

Both of our units were clean, beautifully furnished, and afforded wonderful views of the pool and beach. The 3 bedroom unit was closer to the beach, which we loved.

We caught a lot of fish on our fishing trip, which we brought over to Pelican Reef. The cook there prepared the fish for us while we hung out with the two bartenders, and had a relaxing afternoon.

After a week at Athens Gate, I was NOT ready to leave. I am looking forward to going back, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristy_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This place is heaven. We stayed at Athens Gate Resort during what is considered the "slow season" and it was absolutely great. It felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. Eliazar is the go to guy around the place and makes everything absolutely magical. The rooms are very elegant, spacious and comfortable. We spend most of our time around the pool, at the bar, and on the beach. They also have a great restaurant called Lone Star Grill & Cantina, and it is just what it says.....great Texas cooking. The verandas on the patios are so spacious and there is always a sea breeze. Besides, Eliazar, there is Joe, Rhonda and Jesse that are always on site and ready to help with anything. Can't wait to get back....it will be like coming home....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My boyfriend and I, plus our friends who are also a couple, split a two bedroom at Athen's Gate for an 8 day trip. We came with other friends who split other 2 and three bedroom condos.

Our trip was wonderful, and we owe our amazing experience to the staff at Athen's Gate, specifically the bartender/organizer/knower of all "E." E met us when we first arrived, mixed us a rum punch to welcome us, called us a taxi whenever we needed one, recommended the best restaurants in town, set up scuba and snorkeling trips for us, arranged for a yoga instructor to teach us yoga by the pool, called a masseuse to massage us on the beach, and was overall just a joy to talk to and hang out with.

Along with the great staff at Athen's Gate, the condos were absolutely beautiful. The builders paid very close attention to detail, and everything has a luxurious feel to it (my one friend loved the kitchen so much she said she wanted to recreate it in her house at home). The only thing to be aware of is that while the master bedroom is huge, the second bedroom is pretty small. However, the living areas (living room, kitchen, even the patio) are also huge , so if you're not worried about spending a lot of time in the second bedroom, then it's not a big deal.

The pool is awesome, with a great view of the beach, and concrete stools in the water next to the pool bar. The lighthouse structure at the pool houses the bar and two restrooms (so you don't have to run back up to your room).

The beach is quiet and serene, with white sand and crystal blue water. There is a lot of sea grass in the water, so we didn't do much wading out into it. But the sea grass does also mean that there's a lot of life in the water (hermit crabs and fish).

The pier next to Athen's Gate has a platform on the end with lounge chairs. There are also steps down to the water so you can easily get in and swim or snorkel. We snorkeled under the pier and saw a huge school of fish, two angel fish, and a ray.

Athen's Gate has free bikes, kayaks, and a small catamaran that you can check out whenever you'd like. We biked into town a few times and also took out the kayaks.

I would absolutely recommend Athen's Gate to any of my friends, and we'd definitely consider returning. We had a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachFanLis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Athens Gate is only a couple of years old so practically brand new and luxuriously appointed with a high degree of craftsmanship in the tile, granite and woodwork. Both the two and three bedroom units are very spacious with kitchens ready to prepare any type of meal if you don’t want to take advantage of the great restaurants nearby that provide free transportation (Victoria House and Hidden Treasures). The second bedroom in the two bedroom condos is a bit small but if you’re a family traveling with children or willing to trade off bedrooms if traveling with another couple, this layout works out just fine. The master suite is decadently spacious. There is a multitude of lighting options such as recessed ceiling lights which can be tuned for any occasion. The pool and lighthouse bar area are nicely set with swim up seating. Eliazar “E” manages the bar and just about everything else you might need. No item’s too small and all you need to do is ask. Fish fry on the beach, no problem…He makes you feel like you have a personal friend on the island and takes all the stress out of figuring out how to do or arrange something. There is a small Tex-Mex restaurant across the street run by Mr. Joe who also is the developer of both Pelican Reef (2 blocks South) and Athens Gate. Lori, his daughter, takes care of Pelican Reef and manages reservations. Athens Gate is about 2.5 miles south from the center of San Pedro so is quiet and pleasant at night as you sit at the bar and enjoy a good Cuban cigar. But if you want the downtown bar scene, you will need to cab or rent a golf cart.

Room Tip: Three bedroom 1st floor is better kitchen equiped.
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave57966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Our group of 15 friends & family had a wonderful week at Athens Gate. This is a new condo resort next door to and owned by Pelicans Reef, The units, both two & three bedrooms, are all very spacious with fully equipped kitchens. The location is 2.5 miles south of San Pedro in a very quiet area. During our stay, Mr. Joe ( the Texan owner/builder of both resorts), opened a small, casual, eponymous restaurant across the street. All of our activities from scuba-diving to dining to yoga, were arranged by Eliazar know as "E". Eliazar is the heart & soul of Athens Gate. So friendly, pleasant and helpful, he epitomizes what is best about the people of Belize. Thanks, "E"!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caryl1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews