We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UnBELIZEABLE at Athens Gate!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

If your dream vacation is luxury, unparalleled views, comfort, superb and friendly staff, friendly locals, safety, then Athens Gate in San Pedro is your answer!

We spent five glorious, sun-filled, breezy, fun-filled days in San Pedro at Athens Gate. We stayed in a two bedroom condo (me, my husband, my sister and her boyfriend). When we got out of our taxi, E was there to greet us. He let us know that unfortunately, we had overpaid for our taxi ride from the water taxi to Athens Gate. E was honest regarding what we should be paying regarding taxi rides to and from the water taxi ports, so be sure to consult with him. He’ll steer you in the right direction.

Once we arrived, E had our luggage delivered to our room. He gave us a brief tour of the condo. Please be advised, the condo looks EXACTLY like the pictures on Athens Gate’s website: A pristine, beautiful, luxurious interior, HUGE patio, state of the art kitchen, and magnificent views.
We then went down to the bar to fill out paperwork and have our complimentary drink. E is the main man when it comes to bartending. He makes a fantastic rum punch. Just thinking about it brings me back on vacation.

The staff (E, Jonathan, and Mr. Joe (the developer)), are so attentive and friendly. Jonathan, was ready, willing and able to help us with whatever we needed. Whether it be a cushion for the beach chairs, getting us an umbrella for the beach or getting you a coconut drink (he got us a coconut and made us a drink with an umbrella), Jonathan is ready to help!

E was great. He booked our excursion (scuba diving) and beach massage (you must try this. The massage therapist comes to Athens Gate and you can get a massage right on the beach. Truly a relaxing experience), got the kayaks out for us, bartended, offered us restaurant recommendations (which were great), and even jumped right into help when my sister and her boyfriend came back from a kayak trip to find that they stepped on sea urchins. E was there helping taking sea urchin spikes out of their feet (above and beyond the scope of his job). Based on his assessment, he recommended that they go to the nearby clinic, just to make sure they didn’t get infections.

Just an FYI, if you ever need to go to the clinic in San Pedro, don’t fear. It was a very clean clinic. The nurses and doctors speak English and they treat their patients with care and concern. The staff spent several hours helping my sister and boyfriend.

Just a recommendation, if you do take the kayaks to the reef (which we did), be sure to wear water shoes AND make sure someone is steering the kayak as you’re catching a wave in.
E’s taste in beer is little to be desired (Light House), but we were more than happy to treat him to a drink when we saw him when we were out to dinner.

The private beach at Athens Gate is immaculately clean and the views are breathtaking. The turquoise water is so beautiful and you feel like you’re on a private island. The water is crystal clear.

The weather is beautiful here. One of the best parts about staying in Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, is the breeze. Being from Florida, I’m used to hot, humid weather, and barely any breeze. Not in AC. There was always a breeze, which makes it great to lie out in the sun at the beach.
Mr. Joe, the developer of Athens Gate was great to talk to. He also owns the restaurant across the street, which was very convenient (since you can have E order you lunch and they’ll deliver it to Athens Gate) and delicious. Their gorditas are fantastic!

Helpful hints: Be sure to bring some bug spray. The no-see-ums are bad when the sun goes down. Go to the Chicken Drop in town on Thursday. A hilarious and fun event to attend! Try E’s famous rum punch, you won’t be disappointed! Bring water shoes! Go Scuba Diving, an AMAZING underwater world to discover in Belize's reefs!

I’d give my stay at Athens Gate a 10 out of 10, and hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CostaRicaChica75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

We just got back from an amazing trip to Belize. My boyfriend and I stayed at Athens Gate in Ambergris Caye with my sister and brother-in-law for 5 days at the end of April. The property is beautiful and very well kept (looks just like the pictures on the website). The staff is friendly and accommodating. When we arrived, "E" was there to great us. He is the "go to" man for anything you need. He made a great rum punch and recommended we try his favorite beer (which was good). He took care of everything we needed from dinner reservations to scuba diving. Jonathan was also very helpful and he even made us a drink in a coconut!

The rooms were amazing. The balcony was large with a view of the pool and ocean. The rooms were a good size, very clean, furniture was nice, a tv in every room. The master bathroom was huge with a jetted tub. It has a full size kitchen that looks brand new (it's nice to have a full kitchen and the option to cook). It was quiet, peaceful and safe at night (they have a security guard). This place had everything you needed and more!

Be sure to rent a golf cart during your stay. We had one waiting for us at the hotel when we arrived (you can set that up when you make reservations) The property is on the south side of the island so you will need the cart to get into town. We all had a blast driving them around.

The owner, Mr. Joe, has a restaurant right across the street. We ate lunch there almost every single day. It was convenient and the food was great!

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at Athens Gate and would recommend this place to our friends and family. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed for one week in April for our honeymoon and I almost cried when the taxi picked us up to take us back to the airport. You will meet the family who owns the condos. They're a great couple who will bend over backwards for you. When you check in at the poolside bar, you will meet E. He will make all arrangements for you whether you want to rent a golf cart or plan a snorkeling trip. He knows the right people! He also makes a great drink! We absolutely lived our stay and plan to come back as soon as possible. The staff at Athens Gate take care of everything from cleaning your suite daily to pointing out the best restaurants. Choose Athens Gate if you are taking a trip to San Pedro! It's amazing and the view is perfect....postcard perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissayork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We traveled to Belize and stayed at Athens Gate. Very good choice. The property is beautiful, the staff is very friendly and "E" is the man. He helped make reservations for outings and made pretty amazing drinks at the bar...make us feel very welcomed. Athens gate is in a good location for getting around to other places and close to Lone Star, which is a really good place to have any meal of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissapryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had a fantastic time at Athens Gate. It met our expectations for a family vacation (2 adults, 1 6 year old). The place was not busy so only 1 day did we not have the pool to ourselves. Typically it was 1 other couple strolling by....

Highlights:
-"E". He's the man, and knows it all. He made our dinner and fishing reservations, and made us feel very welcome and comfortable...and he makes some very nice drinks as well. He made the stay at this condo most enjoyable. It would not have been the same vacation without him. We relied on him for info, and food recommendations etc.
-beautiful rooms, with huge balconies. The rooms were very nice. The kitchen was gorgeous. The fridge was nicer than mine at home:)
-beautiful view
-great pier to walk out on
-nice spot to walk the beach (although only a little bit)
-3 tvs with tons of channels (my son enjoyed having his own in his room)
-very clean
-great staff!

Lowlights (this is me being VERY picky...remember: I loved this place!):
-internet!! you could get some internet if you sat on the edge of your balcony, but it was spotty and seemed to cut out (when the bar opened?). Reliable internet could only be received at the bar. This was tough, as I had to work some while away.
-a few miles from town, although we loved our golf cart trips in
-no full length mirror in the room (and I'm a woman who cares about this type of thing:))
-thought the second bedroom was a queen size bed but it was 2 doubles, quite small and a bit dark.
-bed spreads were tired looking and sheets wrinkled
_too many light switches, tough to figure out
-balcony outlets did not work
-seagrass prevents swimming on the beach...too bad:(
-prices are expensive in Belize in general...food, restaurants, drinks, etc.

Loved it! I would go here again in a heart beat!! My husband would like a little more business and "resort" feel...but not me. Loved it and Ambergris!!!! Beautiful!

Room Tip: 3rd floor...great view. Would not want to climb the stairs to a 4th floor...as no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean and well kept. One of the most beautiful places to visit. We will definitely be back for one of E's specialties at the bar!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcolby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The people at Athens Gate were wonderful. They were very helpful in making reservations for all activities on the island. It didn't matter if it was dinner, diving, snorkel trips, golf carts, cabs they would do it. E, the concierge, was awesome and helpful.

The property itself is beautiful. The rooms are very spacious and nice, clean, and decorated tastefully. The kitchens are nice with brand new appliances and full refrigerators, granite counters and plenty of seating. The televisions are a little small, okay a lot small, but I can give that up for a week when you think of all the other things you can do here. The pool is nice and the common areas are very welcoming.

My only complaint is that the wireless internet would not work in our room. I had to go down by the pool to log into the internet, which isn't all bad but we thought the internet would be accesible in our condo and it was not.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone going to San Pedro for vacation. They also have a restaurant next to the property which was very good also.

They are located south of town so you will either need to rent a golf cart or pay a small fee for taxis everytime you want to go in and out of town. We did the golf cart and were glad because we had freedom of movement. There are many good restaurants in close proximity to Athens Gate and would take 10-15 minutes in the golf cart to reach. They are actually closer than you think its just that roads are pretty bad and you cannot drive as fast as you would in the states.

We liked going into town and we used the golf cart to go to a local grocery store for supplies for our kitchen.

Room Tip: Prepare yourself for very bumpy roads. Take twice the sunscreen you thought you needed. Dive the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yourluckyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.7 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 54 in San Pedro
1,232 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Gate Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Gate Beach Resort

Address: 2.5 Mls South | Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £208 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Athens Gate Resort. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Athens Gate blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Athens Gate Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing