We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, clean, and great people!!!”
Review of Athens Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athens Gate
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Good service, clean, and great people!!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Everything about this place was great, my family and I loved it!!! Bartender/ Concierge E and James are lifesavers and work their butts off to make your stay at Athens Gate a great one, just as mine was!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erod97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
145
114
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were staying at the sister resort Pelican Reef, and walked down the beach to Athens Gate for lunch and a drink. The pool area is gorgeous with an infinity pool and swim up bar, and the bar itself is also right at the beach and has a nice observation deck above it where the bathrooms are located. We ordered lunch which was from Lone Star/ Mr. Joes across the street and it was delicious and very convenient. E was very friendly and makes some delicious mixed drinks. Each condo unit seemed to have huge patios overlooking the pool - very nice!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammerc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Our family of 5 spent a week here and absolutely loved it. Our second floor unit was beautiful and spacious and the grounds were beautiful and very well tended. The property Manager, E and his young helper Jonathan are happy to help with anything. E arranged golf cart rental and a snorkelling tour and Jonathan even helped my kids open up a coconut that fell from a tree on the beach. The bar at the pool serves up tasty drinks and is a great place to meet others or have a chat with E or the owner, Mr. Joe. This spot is located just south of San Pedro however we didn't find the distance to be a problem. We rented a golf cart for most of our stay but the grocery store is only a bike ride away and there is a restaurant right across the street so this isn't a necessity. And lastly, the beach here is outstanding by San Pedro standards. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packed_bags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los alamos new mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Returning to our villa after a day out on the island or scuba was divine. The immaculate beauty and centrally air conditioned space made rejuvenating ultra-enjoyable! The designers and builders went the extra mile with architectural detail, making Athens exquisitely beautiful! The owners and staff are simply the best, true genuine. Our third time to San Pedro and have always stayed in very nice places but Athens is our new destination.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubadiva25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Our second trip to Ambergris Caye and our first time at Athens Gate. Both will not be our last. We stayed at the resort in March for a week on the third floor ocean front condo. Loved it. The property manager, E, his sidekick, Jonathan are a joy. They go above and beyond expectations. The condo, the grounds, and the beach are cleaned daily. We rented a golf cart from the resort for the week we were there and that was even cleaned daily! You will NOT be disappointed, Belize me!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatetopackme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

If your dream vacation is luxury, unparalleled views, comfort, superb and friendly staff, friendly locals, safety, then Athens Gate in San Pedro is your answer!

We spent five glorious, sun-filled, breezy, fun-filled days in San Pedro at Athens Gate. We stayed in a two bedroom condo (me, my husband, my sister and her boyfriend). When we got out of our taxi, E was there to greet us. He let us know that unfortunately, we had overpaid for our taxi ride from the water taxi to Athens Gate. E was honest regarding what we should be paying regarding taxi rides to and from the water taxi ports, so be sure to consult with him. He’ll steer you in the right direction.

Once we arrived, E had our luggage delivered to our room. He gave us a brief tour of the condo. Please be advised, the condo looks EXACTLY like the pictures on Athens Gate’s website: A pristine, beautiful, luxurious interior, HUGE patio, state of the art kitchen, and magnificent views.
We then went down to the bar to fill out paperwork and have our complimentary drink. E is the main man when it comes to bartending. He makes a fantastic rum punch. Just thinking about it brings me back on vacation.

The staff (E, Jonathan, and Mr. Joe (the developer)), are so attentive and friendly. Jonathan, was ready, willing and able to help us with whatever we needed. Whether it be a cushion for the beach chairs, getting us an umbrella for the beach or getting you a coconut drink (he got us a coconut and made us a drink with an umbrella), Jonathan is ready to help!

E was great. He booked our excursion (scuba diving) and beach massage (you must try this. The massage therapist comes to Athens Gate and you can get a massage right on the beach. Truly a relaxing experience), got the kayaks out for us, bartended, offered us restaurant recommendations (which were great), and even jumped right into help when my sister and her boyfriend came back from a kayak trip to find that they stepped on sea urchins. E was there helping taking sea urchin spikes out of their feet (above and beyond the scope of his job). Based on his assessment, he recommended that they go to the nearby clinic, just to make sure they didn’t get infections.

Just an FYI, if you ever need to go to the clinic in San Pedro, don’t fear. It was a very clean clinic. The nurses and doctors speak English and they treat their patients with care and concern. The staff spent several hours helping my sister and boyfriend.

Just a recommendation, if you do take the kayaks to the reef (which we did), be sure to wear water shoes AND make sure someone is steering the kayak as you’re catching a wave in.
E’s taste in beer is little to be desired (Light House), but we were more than happy to treat him to a drink when we saw him when we were out to dinner.

The private beach at Athens Gate is immaculately clean and the views are breathtaking. The turquoise water is so beautiful and you feel like you’re on a private island. The water is crystal clear.

The weather is beautiful here. One of the best parts about staying in Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, is the breeze. Being from Florida, I’m used to hot, humid weather, and barely any breeze. Not in AC. There was always a breeze, which makes it great to lie out in the sun at the beach.
Mr. Joe, the developer of Athens Gate was great to talk to. He also owns the restaurant across the street, which was very convenient (since you can have E order you lunch and they’ll deliver it to Athens Gate) and delicious. Their gorditas are fantastic!

Helpful hints: Be sure to bring some bug spray. The no-see-ums are bad when the sun goes down. Go to the Chicken Drop in town on Thursday. A hilarious and fun event to attend! Try E’s famous rum punch, you won’t be disappointed! Bring water shoes! Go Scuba Diving, an AMAZING underwater world to discover in Belize's reefs!

I’d give my stay at Athens Gate a 10 out of 10, and hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CostaRicaChica75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We just got back from an amazing trip to Belize. My boyfriend and I stayed at Athens Gate in Ambergris Caye with my sister and brother-in-law for 5 days at the end of April. The property is beautiful and very well kept (looks just like the pictures on the website). The staff is friendly and accommodating. When we arrived, "E" was there to great us. He is the "go to" man for anything you need. He made a great rum punch and recommended we try his favorite beer (which was good). He took care of everything we needed from dinner reservations to scuba diving. Jonathan was also very helpful and he even made us a drink in a coconut!

The rooms were amazing. The balcony was large with a view of the pool and ocean. The rooms were a good size, very clean, furniture was nice, a tv in every room. The master bathroom was huge with a jetted tub. It has a full size kitchen that looks brand new (it's nice to have a full kitchen and the option to cook). It was quiet, peaceful and safe at night (they have a security guard). This place had everything you needed and more!

Be sure to rent a golf cart during your stay. We had one waiting for us at the hotel when we arrived (you can set that up when you make reservations) The property is on the south side of the island so you will need the cart to get into town. We all had a blast driving them around.

The owner, Mr. Joe, has a restaurant right across the street. We ate lunch there almost every single day. It was convenient and the food was great!

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at Athens Gate and would recommend this place to our friends and family. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.7 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.8 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
5.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.4 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#4 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Gate

Property: Athens Gate
Address: Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Athens Gate Resort. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Athens Gate blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Athens Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing