We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feb 2013- Belize trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Athens Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athens Gate
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feb 2013- Belize trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

A great place to stay while in Belize. Beautiful place, quiet, on the beach, great place to take walks along the beach, sunrise and sunsets are gorgeous!
Had a great time with friends, and met some new ones!
Stayed in a 3 bedroom, 2 bath condo, was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasBeach13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
144
110
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We recently spent a week at Athens Gate with our good friends. The rooms were great, spacious and perfectly maintained. Gorgeous view of the turquoise blue ocean and white sand from the dining and living room. However, what really made our visit perfect was the wonderful service provided by "E" and James. There was nothing that they would not do for us. A heartfelt thank you for a great week.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SirJohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We spent 7 days at Athens Gate and it exceeded our expectations in every way. We are a family of 6. Children are 10-17 yrs old. The accommodations were wonderful. The staff was extremely helpful; setting up tours, recommending restaurants, taking care of our every need.
The island is wonderful and the people extremely friendly. We attended church with a local congregation and all made new friends.

The diving, snorkeling, fishing and sunsets were perfect.

Tuff e Nuff tours took us on our diving, snorkeling and beach adventures and they were all first rate.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I recently spent a week at Athens Gate and it was just about perfect. The accommodations are excellent with literally all the comforts of home( The A/C was a life saver). The grounds are well kept with a good amount of space around the beach and pool/bar area. It is on the quiet end of town but a short golf cart trip gets you right into the action. A big thank you to Joe & Rhonda for running a great resort and to E and James for always taking care of our large and sometimes rowdy crew!

**Joe's Restaurant is directly across the street and should not be missed. Laid back atmosphere, friendly owners, and good food across the board!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent a week at Athen's Gate and it was simply amazing. The two gentlemen who work there, E and James are amazing. They had such great detail to attention, remembered every one of our names in the group of 27 of us and planned absolutely anything you can think/dream of doing in Belize. there was never anything to worry about and we felt so safe at the resort as it is sort of tucked away from the crazy downtown area, but still a very short golf cart ride away. We had 6 people in our 3 bedroom condo and the maid service was top notch daily and our room always clean. The blacony was amazing, facing the ocean and beautiful. I am over all extremely impressed with our experience and plan to use them again in the future.

Room Tip: ask to face the pool area and you will see the ocean or all the 3 bedrooms face the ocean as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 300JenniferA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd trip to Athens Gate and I can say that it is always perfection. This place is truly our home away from home. Rhonda and Mr Joe are gracious hosts and will do anything to make you feel comfortable. The accommodations are nothing less than spectacular. If that we're not enough the rest of the staff is nothing less than wonderful.

Eliazar "E" is there to handle everything for you from excursions to drinks. He can get you a catamaran or search the island for cinnamon bread. Anything you need he is there. Plus he is one heck of a nice guy. He has become an honorary member of our family and we are glad to have him.

James is a newer addition to this group and he is pretty great as well and makes a mean dirty banana! John keeps the ground well maintained and provided my daughter with as many coconuts as her heart desired.

San Pedro is a special place and Athens Gate is no exception. Truly I don't understand why Athens gate is ranked any less than #1 EVER! We've been to the island 5 times in 5 years and the last 3 have been spent here (once at the sister property Pelican Reef). The other properties only try to duplicate the perfection that is Athen's Gate.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Island, SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Ditto to all of the comments about the excellent attentiveness and helpfulness of E, James, Joe and Rhonda. We always felt that they were available to help answer any question or solve any problem. Fishing guides were great. Loved being away from the hustle and bustle of the city center although there are numerous speed bumps on the roads - being in a peaceful place was worth it. Hidden Treasures is a great restaurant close to AG. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting the other guests at Athens Gate too.Condo was spacious and such a great value.

Room Tip: Condos behind the pool are 2 bedroom; condos beside the pool and closest to the water are 3 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsanadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.7 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.8 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
5.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#4 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Gate

Property: Athens Gate
Address: Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Athens Gate Resort. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Athens Gate blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Athens Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing