We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeliezeable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

All reviews are so true! Dad with two kids, 24 yr old son and 20 year old daughter on family vacation. We had the BEST time. We've traveled extensively in the past, and Athens Gate is the top of the top. Kudos to E and James. San Pedro, once you get acclimated, is great. Kids met lots of nice people in town at friendly bars. Contact Manny at Manuel's Bar on the Beach for personalized snorkeling, fishing or just to be on his boat to go across to Caye Caulker for the day or half day. A very nice guy. E recommended the Reef Restaurant, a "locals" place. Best fish, etc. Reasonably priced.
If you can't be happy on Ambergris Caye, you can't be happy. ... Especially at Athens Gate... it is a gem. We hope to be able to go back soon.

Room Tip: Chose a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Turns out in San Pedro that many facilities allow non residents to use their pools if you purchase drinks at their bar. This was greatly appreciated hear as we were really warm when we got there. Staff was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SantaRosaCAKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Athen's Gate is a hidden gem. We enjoyed the location and accommodations were top notch! E & James were very helpful and nice. Anything you need they were there to help. The view from our villa was incredible! They were very spacious and clean. Totally recommend this place without a doubt! Thanks Guys!

Room Tip: 3 bedroom villa was the bomb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria41067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Beautiful, well appointed condos that seem brand new with all the amenities of home. Pool, patio, bar, and beach areas are also spotless and perfect for lounging the day away. Pull up a stool at the bar, update your Facebook status with their WiFi, look out over the pristine sand and turquoise water, and get to know the staff and visitors over a cold drink. Elizar and James anticipated our every need and even made all our reservations from dinner to snorkeling. The owners were in residence during our visit and were very friendly and helpful. Upon meeting other island visitors, we were told over and over how lucky we were to be able to stay at Athens Gate (compared to their resorts). I couldn't agree more... I am so glad we stayed here - we left feeling like very treasured friends. Rent a golf cart from them to take easy trips into town. I can't say enough about the amazing week we spent at Athens Gate. When we return to San Pedro, we will never stay anywhere else.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rowex8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We live in San Diego. This is our return trip to Belize. We came a couple years ago (also during July) and stayed at Pelican Reef Villas, which was amazing; I have to say it is a hard choice between the 2 properties. Our stay at Pelican was our first experience, Lori the manager, gave me so much information from the first phone call and everything she said was dead on. The things that I think people do not realize looking at retouched pictures and clever angles are things like the beach. Most properties North of Pelican and Athens Gate have a seawall and although the sand is beautiful you cannot access the water by just walking into it. There is very little foot traffic on your beach compared to others, as it is not a thoroughfare like they are in the middle of San Pedro. When you sit on the beach with a cup of coffee early in the morning you really get to experience paradise, it is so quiet and peaceful. The staff checks on you literally every time you glance in their direction. The amazing part is that they treat you the same whether you walk up to the bar with a beer from your fridge or a beer from theirs. They just don't act like they are trying to sell you something they act like they are trying to fulfill your every need. They will help to book activities and although it is probably slightly more expensive than booking your own, they use top-notch tour operators and lets face it do you really want to take a chance that you picked the right one? "E" and James could both work at the Ritz Carlton and be customer service employees of the month, but I'm glad they work here. We stayed in a 2 bedroom ON the beach at Pelican and a 3 bedroom ON the beach at Athens Gate, Amazing rooms, very modern, very home-like. Here is some of my Belize advice...Spend at least one day in the pool swimming laps up to the swim-up bar. Jump off the pier and swim at night, Spend one day with Oliver for the beach BBQ (this is the absolute best day, and that includes ALL of the trips we did in 14 days of hard vacationing), Get up early even if you don't get up early, you are not invincible put on sunscreen and bug spray, Take a whole day and a golf cart and resort hop as far north as Portofino (make sure you stop at Palapa Bar). This time when we went we really paid attention to the top 20 properties on the island listed on Trip Advisor in case we found something better for next time; and hands down I don't think you will find a better location coupled with a better property and a better experience. My suggestion to you is stay at Athens Gate if this is you first trip, you definitely wont be disappointed and i doubt you will move for your second trip, you can't go wrong at Pelican Reef either. This will be a yearly destination for us and i have nothing but great memories.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seoul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We spent half of our trip at another property in Ambergris Caye. We are so happy we decided to spend the last half here at Athens Gate!
The property is located in a very quiet part of the island and offers the peaceful, beautiful atmosphere we were seeking.
E and James met us with a rum punch and were very attentive to our needs.
As we were lying by the pool, the owner, Joe and his wife stopped by and said hello.
They are fellow Texans and so very friendly.
The 2/2 rooms here are approx 1800 sqft and have everything you could ever need.
We left five beautiful (and noisy) kids at home and were looking for relaxation and we sure found it here! I'm lounging by the pool right now, posting this and recommending this property to friends :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4pamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I reviewed Athens Gate last year after our first stay here and our second visit was even better than the first. I'm a bit inclined not to write such a spectacular view because I'd hate for Athens Gate to become a huge tourist attraction, but that wouldn't be right. I like the fact that I feel like this is a hidden gem in San Pedro. I want to keep this piece of paradise a secret!

I'll keep this review as short and sweet as possible. We stayed at Athens Gate for 11 nights and had the pleasure to stay in both a two bedroom and a three bedroom condo. E greeted us when we arrived and had our luggage sent up to our room (top floor). Unit 12 (in my opinion) has the best view. You can see the beautiful ocean from the balcony and also when you're inside the condo.

Check-in was speedy. E promptly gave us our welcome beverage (rum punch or E and James' favorite: Light House). I've had a lot of rum punches in my time and Athens Gate's rum punch is a force to be reckoned with.

Four of us stayed in a two bedroom condo for five days, then switched over to a three bedroom when the rest of our group (12 people total) came in five days later. The two bedroom condo is really spacious and everything is top of the line.

E and James' attention to details is fantastic. Any time you needed a drink/wanted to book an excursion/needed a suggestion, they were here to help. E even went above and beyond when our friends who were staying at another hotel for a few days lost their luggage and E offered to help them track down their luggage.

The accommodations were fantastic. The pool is wonderful and the view from the condo, as well as from the pool and beach is unparalleled.

I do have to say that the two bedroom condos are much more spacious than the three bedroom. The three bedroom condos still have the top of the line appliances/granite countertops/etc., just seems smaller (since you don't have the third bedroom, you have more common area space).
The great thing about being on vacation is you don't really spend that much time in the room, especially with having such a wonderful beach and pool area right outside your door.

Without the personalized service from James and E, I don't think we would have had as wonderful time as we did. We had a group of 12 here at Athens Gate for the remaining five nights of our trip. E and James made the process of booking a catamaran for our group painless. They were always quick to help.

Pros: The view, accommodations, service (E and James), the list goes on and on.

Cons: We didn't get to spend enough time in Belize. It's so beautiful here.

Tips: Bring bug spray. It's not Athens Gate's fault, but the mosquitos are horrible here. Two bottles of bug spray for a 10 day trip didn't seem to be enough. Bring bug spray from the US, it's sure to be cheaper than bug spray on the island. If you're looking for a great place to eat, that's close by, be sure to try Lone Star Grill and Cantina. Food and service is wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostaRicaChica75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.7 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
1.5 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 53 in San Pedro
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Gate Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Gate Beach Resort

Address: 2.5 Mls South | Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £209 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Athens Gate Resort. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Athens Gate blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Athens Gate Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing