We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to vacation”
Review of Athens Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athens Gate
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to vacation”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We Loved Athens Gate , it's a wonderful boutique hotel, on the island. E is the go to person, he takes care of all your needs. He had our golf cart waiting for us. He booked all of our day trips. One day of snorkeling, zip line and cave tubing for us Incredible :-) this boutique hotels rooms , are so spacious, they are 2& 3 bedrooms condos. Very morden clean & beautiful.
We enjoyed our daily trips into town, on our golf cart. We leave Monday, we can't wait to return to Belize, and stay @ Athens Gate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
150
115
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

On the spur of the moment, my husband and I decided to go to Belize for our 34th wedding anniversary. We had only 4 days to find a place to stay and was blessed to make contact with Kim. She booked us immediately into a third floor apartment with baloney. Kim also took care of our flight from Belize City to San Pedro Island and our transportation by Carlos to Athans Gate. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by E with a wonderful rum punch. E made our stay exceptionally wonderful. E took care of tour and dinner reservations immediately and made sure we were always properly hydrated with a variety of wonderful drinks. Mornings on the balcony with a cup of coffee, turquoise water and palm trees was one of my favorite moments. My only negative remark is we had to leave. We will definatly be returning to be spoilt once again. Thank you E, Carlos and Kim!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiquita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bennington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week's vacation at Athens Gate. This boutique, condo experience was the epitome of a no-hassle getaway. Lori graciously made all the arrangements before we left, Carlos met us at the airport and "E" made every arrangement and anticipated every need for the entire week. For the most part, Athens Gate is "E."
We chose a condo on the fourth floor and hugely appreciated our "crow's nest" view (tho' all the condos face the water). The four flights of stairs meant no guilt eating or drinking. Our condo was spacious, well-equipped and clean. We were glad we rented a golf cart for the week and thought the dirt and cobble stone drive into town was a quaint part of the Belize experience. A wide range of restaurants was easily available for our evening fare but we chose to eat breakfast and lunch at the condo. There's a great grocery store right across the street from the airport in San Pedro and we did our grocery shopping while we were waiting for our luggage to arrive from the mainland. We took bug spray with us and used it as a precaution but really had no problems in this department. We chose a couple different day trips - our experience snorkeling far surpassed any other place we've snorkeled in the Caribbean.
Without reservation we recommend Ambergris Caye for your next vacation and without a doubt urge you to consider Athens Gate for a wonderful experience.

Side Bar: Apparently, J-Lo has a home in the neighborhood. We caught her lounging by the pool at Athens Gate a couple times last week!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Loved Athen's Gate. We stayed in a 3 bedroom on the first floor. Unit was well equipped, clean, modern and very nice. E is Fabulous. He will take care of all of your needs. The location is out of the middle of San Pedro but getting into town is about a 15 minute golf cart drive. There is a very nice restaurant located directly across the street (Lonestar Grill) that is very convenient for lunch and dinner. They have a big selection from Tex-Mex to American. Our only complaint (and this is NOT the fault of Athen's Gate) is that a large family was occupying the unit above us with a very loud baby! There was NO sleeping late for us this vacation. Just be aware if you stay in this type of hotel/condo you will probably be staying with large families and lots children.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjtedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Athens Gate was a great place to stay and great experience from initial booking to the time we left. All the employees do a great job of making our trip as enjoyable as possible. The onsite manager, "E", did an even exceptional job by running the entire place, booking all our excursions, making dinner recommendations, to hunting down luggage that our airline lost.

The grounds are nice with a great pool, swim up bar, and beach area.

The rooms are great and are a condo-style. It was probably about 1200 sq ft, has washer/dryer, a/c, two rooms, two full bathrooms, a large living room, large kitchen area with kitchen table. The decorations are nice and well furnished through out. The view from our condo was a million dollar view that overlooked the pool with the beach and beautiful water in the background. I think I took about 15 picture just from our balcony.


That being said, I will comment overall on the trip to Ambergris Caye in general, and a fore warning, that is NOT indicative of anything about Athens Gate.

The island is not what you would expect if you were to go to Cancun, Puerto Vallarta, or some of the Caribbean Islands where you stay at a mega resort with all visitors and you rarely leave the grounds. This is NOT that sort of trip. The beach area is not what you would expect on other sprawling beach places. There is sea grass that grows in the shallow water that makes it almost impossible to swim right from the beach. You can wade in about 10 inches before you hit the sea grass. One must head to a pier to get into the water. Additionally, there are cruise ships (cough, cough, Carnival) that like to dump their trash once they embark into sea. It ends up washing onto the shores. It is very sad to think that practice is done. The hard working staff at Athens Gate, had a morning daily duty, of cleaning up the junk that floats in each day. But its hard to keep up and walks down the beach are ensure to walk by it.

Also, the roads on Ambergris Caye are not always in the best shape. There are many road that are not paved, dirt roads, and quite bumpy. There are a few cars but most are taxis and the rest of the visitors use golf carts to get around. I would HIGHLY recommend renting a cart. Athens Gate is on the south side of the island about 2 miles sound of town center. You really need the golf cart.

The snorkeling was one of the best I have ever done. This is THE place to go diving or snorkel. The island is almost surrounded by the barrier reef that makes for some of the most amazing water you have seen.

San Pedro town is nice to look around with a fair amount of shops. The entire town has two parallel streets that run about half a mile that make up the main drag and town center. While the town still feels "local", you can tell the tourist industry is ramping up. There were a number of excellent restaurants that would do well even in the United States. I highly recommend the fish tacos at most any of the places you eat- I dont think I ate one bad meal!

I would highly recommend coming here to the island and especially Athens Gate. I would also keep in check your expectations and what sort of trip you are looking for.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We're a family of 7 - parents, adult children, spouses. It was our first time to Belize so we knew only a little before getting there. Overall, it was a great vacation and we'd highly recommend Athens Gate and Ambergris Caye but there are some things you should know.

PROS: Wonderful spacious, newer condos w/excellent amenities and fabulous views of the insanely beautiful ocean. We had a 3rd floor 3-bedroom and a 4th floor 2-bedroom condo. Maid service was included. Great service in general is one of Athens Gate's biggest strengths. Lori, one of the owners, was terrific helping us with reservations and answering all our many questions through emails in the months prior. We met Greg, her husband, at Pelican Reef during breakfast one day - it's their sister property just a short ways down the beach. He introduced himself and was very friendly and accommodating. E, the concierge at AG, is terrific at welcoming guests, answering questions, and then making arrangements for everything from dinner reservations to excursions. He's a wealth of information and we found out the locals respect him as well. Athens Gate is on a pretty stretch of beach and the grounds are well-taken care of. We used the pier quite a bit since the breezes blow so well out there and there's ocean life all around for gazing or snorkeling (it has a covered hut if you don't want sun). We rented 2 golf carts for going into town and we used them almost daily. We had a great day with Captain Oliver and his crew for a full day of snorkeling and fishing, etc., some of our group went to the Lamanai ruins and really enjoyed that, we rented jet skis for an afternoon, and we had a private charter boat to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley for an amazing snorkeling trip. We ended the private charter day at Palapa Bar which was a lot of fun. We were at Athens Gate for 6 nights and 5 full days. We made plans for three of those days and just lounged the other two which turned out to be a good idea. The weather was very changeable - it went from rain to sun to rain to sun quite often but it didn't ruin anything for us. We had a great time!

CONS: There aren't many and none are deal-breakers. WiFi service is only available around the pool area. If the weather is bad you can't hang out in your condo and check emails or surf the net or even do that right before you go to bed at night or when you get up. We liked the idea of being unplugged for the most part, but there are so many conveniences at Athens Gate that this missing one is a little glaring. The stretch of roads near Athens Gate is especially bumpy if you're coming/going to town for dinner, etc. AG is south of town by about 15-20 minutes on a golf cart depending on where you're going. The roads are paved for much of the way, but the dirt parts are extremely rocky and bumpy due to the island getting so much rain recently. There is no onsite restaurant at AG (but there is a nice pool bar and a friendly bartender named Dion). There are at least 3 good restaurants within walking distance but we found only one (Pelican Reef) is open for breakfast early. Black Orchid is a great choice for late breakfast, lunch, or dinner. If you're breakfast eaters, we'd suggest you get some groceries for your condo unless you want to walk to Pelican Reef every day. Their food is great, but there were a lot of flies around due to the weather during our stay so we preferred takeout. It was humid during our stay so we did have some various bug bites - we recommend bringing bug spray - but it wasn't a huge problem.

One last comment concerning holiday week travels. Athens Gate is a terrific pick for an Ambergris Caye vacation but it is a small boutique property. We had to deal with a loud family and their screaming kids taking over the pool area a couple times and some other adult guests who drank too much - none of which reflected on the quality of Athens Gate (and we didn't hear them inside our condos), but the reality is, it's harder to get away from annoying guests on a smaller property. Still, without hesitation we'd go back to the island and Athens Gate and we're confident we'd have a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Amazing views from 3rd and 4th floors but you'll have to climb stairs each time - no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mes09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I would highly recommend staying at Athens Gate. it is a picturesque as it looks on their website. Great amenities in the rooms because it's a new construction, nicer kitchen than what I have at home! E, the operations manager, personally gets to know all guests and helps coordinate activities - if you need or want something, just ask E!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brady b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.7 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
1,285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
791 reviews
5.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Gate

Property: Athens Gate
Address: Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Athens Gate Resort. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Athens Gate blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Athens Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing