We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great base camp for Ambergris Caye”
Coffee and sunrise at the end of the dock, paradise found
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coffee and sunrise at the end of the dock, paradise found
Private outdoor pool Private gardens, fully fenced yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Coffee and sunrise at the end of the dock, paradise found
Private outdoor pool
Private gardens, fully fenced yard
front of house viewed from beach
end of dock with hammocks and seating
view as you enter the back gate
dock viewed from the beach
private fire pit for evening smores
Outdoor shower
outside two piece bothroom
Amazing sunset from the dock
lower suite kitchen
Lower Level master bedroom with queen sized bed.
bath inside lower suite.
lower suite TV room with pool view.
Lower suite sunroom perfect for curling up with a great book.
second bedroom lower suite with a queen sized bed.
third bedroom lower suite with custom queen sized bed with twin upper bunk.
Master Bedroom upper suite with queen sized bed
sunroom attached to upper suite master bedroom
second bedroom upper suite with queen sized bed
Upper suite kitchen
SUPPER
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Razorsue
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great outdoors”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is an older, well maintained, waterfront but small property, about a 15-20 min golf cart ride to town. Manager Rosa met us at airport, assisted with golf cart rentals and stocked house with getting started provisions. The 3 bedroom, 1 bath downstairs (where we stayed) can be rented separately from the 2 bedroom, 1 bath upstairs. The outdoor poolside bath was an absolute necessity for our group of 3 couples, but night time use was uncomfortable due to Mosquitos and no light. Much construction around us made sleeping late or naps difficult. Staff of Marta (house) and Roberto (grounds) were wonderful. White sand yard was raked each day, lounge chairs with cushions poolside or under shady trees on beach or on palapa covered dock (hammock, too) guaranteed excellent views out to the barrier reef and comfortable reading locations. Marfa bought food and prepared several excellent meals in our own kitchen plus kept the house clean. Bug spray (necessary, left by previous guests?) books, TV, beach towels, were here for our use. A volleyball net and soccer goal are there for the more active guests. Incommunicado Tours docked their boat right next door. Lorenzo and Edgar were amazing guides to Hoi Chan Reserve, Shark Alley and Turtle reserve where we swam with 3 species of turtles, Sharks, and a plethora of fish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoors
Liked least: Bedrooms right off kitchen, little privacy
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2015
Thank you for the review. We always get a better idea what little things we can attend to with these. I agree the noise from the construction of the adjacent residence is at times a nuisance. You are in a residential area, there are excessive noise standards. If you feel at any time the noise is excessive or at an unreasonable hour please contact Rosa, she will ensure they abide by those standards or exceed them.

The mosquitos have a favorite hour of the day, near 5PM you will notice they concentrate, this hour is best avoided by going indoors as they dissipate after supper (your supper - not theirs). Robert sprays for them regularly. We have asked Rosa to ask him to stay atop this. A small layer of baby oil helps keep the sand flies from being able to bite if they are bothering anyone.

There are lights for the pool area for evenings, and even for the outdoor shower. The light switch for the outdoor shower is on the entryway to the outdoor washroom, it lights both the shower and the washroom. The pool deck lighting is a switch under the outdoor beer fridge (the left side)(round cover). This illuminates the pool itself and one light under the Palapa. There is also a switch just outside the entryway to the lower suite, this will illuminate the entire front of the house and pool deck. Rosa always tries to show these, we've learned that when people arrive in all the excitement of finally being there, these little things are easily missed.

Thanks again, enjoy the rest of your stay.

Brad Peake
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus M
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great base camp for Ambergris Caye”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The house is beautiful and Rosa is great helping you hook up things like golf carts and kayaks. Casa Amarilla is about 3 miles south of San Pedro proper close enough that you can go in to shop, eat or drink, but nice and quiet. There is excellent bird watching and wildlife viewing just yards from the house also easy access to the ruins. Dive and snorkleling boats will pick you up from Casa Amarilla own pier. If you need a large place this is the Villa for you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DannyNM
Albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Almost everything you need”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Very warm and comfortable house. Had everything we needed and really made our stay that much more enjoyable.
It was always clean and with our large group, we could all be together if wanted. But didn't have to be.
The pool is awesome, the dock and views are to die for. With that great Belizean breeze, it was hard to leave at the end of the stay.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Access to water/dock, the pool and comfortable rooms
Liked least: A long distance from town. Neighbors are close.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myflowerg...
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Our stay started great with Rosa meeting us at the airport & helping us get to our golf cart & getting our luggage to the house. Before the ride to the house Rosa drove us around San Pedro showing us the city & pointing out some good restaurants & shops that we could try.

The house is about 15 mins or so outside of town & our family loved that. Once we got to the house we were greeted by Marfa, Cruz, & Cookie the guard dog. Cruz helped bring our bags in as Rosa showed us the house & the grounds.

My families first reaction to the house & the location were smiles & a pat on my back with the words "job well done" in reference to finding Casa Amarillo as our "home" for the week in San Pedro.

The house was perfect for us & the kids really enjoyed the pool. My husband & I enjoyed the fact that we could do a little bit of snorkeling right off the end of the dock. My son & I saw a baby nurse shark while snorkeling within hours of arriving at the house. We saw so much sea life just from the dock it was amazing.

Marfa & Cruz were great. Cruz did a great job of keeping the grounds neat & clean & Marfa did a good job with keeping the house clean & she cooked for us twice & it was delicious. She did our laundry & was able to get out stains that the lodge we were at in the jungle could not. What a delight she was. We even had her share a few meals with us & got to know her and that was a highlight for us.

Cookie is the guard dog but we just loved her. By the end of the week we were sad to leave her & we hoped she was sad to see us go. If you give her a little love & attention you will have a sweet friend in her.

The house itself was great. We rented the bottom suite & it was plenty of room for our family of 5. Internet worked great & we enjoyed relaxing in the house.

We did not book snorkeling excursions with the neighbor (Incommunicado tours) & if we make it back we will. We used a great company in San Pedro but they were far from the house and we had 3 rainy days were it let up in the afternoon but by the time it did it was too late for them to get to us. Also it was very difficult for the company we went with to moor to the dock. The house is supper close to Hol Chan Marine Reserve & that was great & amazing experience.

Working with Paula and Rosa in the pre-planning was smooth and easy and every detail was taken care of.

Casa Amarillo is a great place to stay. I recommend it to anyone. You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location and the view was spectacular
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stettler AB
Reviewed 22 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AggieinAu...
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Casa Amarillo”
Reviewed 16 October 2010 for a stay in October 2010
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have been to San Pedro twice and took my parents this time. We have always stayed in town and walked everywhere. Casa Amarillo is about 3.5 miles south of town so you will need a golf cart. Having an hour plus commute at home, the 11 minute trip to town was a breeze and relaxing. Denise and Steve could not have been better hosts. They are a wealth of information. There are alot worse things than drinking your morning coffee and watching the sunrise on the dock. The grounds are impecable, thanks Roberto, and it's just a great place to get away and chill out. The dogs, Toby, Pippi, and boss Pickle, also helped us feel at home. You cannot go wrong staying here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Reviewed 21 July 2010 for a stay in December 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing